Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Barracuda Email Security Gateway - PAYG

Barracuda Networks | 8.2.0.004-20201028

Linux/Unix, Other 2.4.9 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1

External reviews

68 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Gambling & Casinos

Good as a basic mail filtering solution

  • August 31, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is a good basic mail security gateway, able to detect and block malicious mail, but it is not updated to new technologies.
What do you dislike?
It doesn't include a deep sandoxing and/or AI applied to the detection, it is based on old detection methods.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It allows us to block incoming malicious mail, detecting and blocking most of the threat coming via phishing
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I suggest to consider its own context and express the requirements for a solution of anti-spam, if it is needed a basic solution, you can start considering a PoC with Barracuda, otherwise, for a more advanced one, consider other vendor.


    Primary/Secondary Education

Filter to Decipher Between Spam / Clutter

  • June 02, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like that my inbox is not inundated with emails. Especially since every store and business asks for your email these days, those emails can be filtered.
What do you dislike?
As a teacher, often parent emails are sent to Barracuda. Parents will ask why they did not receive a response, and the teacher will find it in Barracuda. Unless the teacher checks this regularly, it will go unnoticed.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The benefit of Barracuda is that teachers can avoid spam emails. When companies nag for fundraisers, fake products or businesses reach out, it is nice not to even see it in the inbox. It is nice to be able to have access to Barracuda at any time.


    Tirus M.

Best Email Security Gateway

  • March 31, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
This tool comes at an affordable price, and deployment and customizing the software to meet our business needs is easy. I like that it comes with great security features, and it makes detecting and screening malware and viruses seamless. In addition, this tool is very effective when it comes to prevent spamming. It is generally a must-have tool when it comes to securing a business email gateway.
What do you dislike?
Without a doubt, Barracuda Email Security Gateway has been very helpful, and I have not experienced difficulties using the tool - not even a single day.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
To keep our email system clean, we needed an email security solution, and Barracuda Email Security Gateway has been very instrumental to our business. We no longer worry about spam, viruses, and malware.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
When it comes to email security, there is no better tool than Barracuda Email Security Gateway. I have used it, tested it, and it has proved to work. Go for it.


    OPN

Ongoing intermittent outages

  • January 21, 2021
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

We have been using the Barracuda Email Security Gateway for several years.

We are using the lowest tier of the appliance since we don't have many email accounts. The appliance is regularly running out of memory (according to the support team) and their proposed solution is to throw more money at the problem by upgrading to the next higher tier. We are already paying thousands of dollars per year so this is not an acceptable solution. Unfortunately the market is thinly spread at the moment but we'll try to find an alternative as soon as possible.


    Jack D.

Barracuda EMS

  • October 15, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Clean interface and management console. System is accurate in scanning email, false positives are quickly corrected by support.
What do you dislike?
Users need more control over some features - for example allowing relaying through on-premise servers requires support to activate feature for you.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Allows us to manage multiple client email systems from one console - adds control over off-site backups as well.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Take advantage of implementation team - their expertise is invaluable when rolling out the product.


    Rahim b.

A simple solution for your secure email

  • September 23, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's very simple to use. This appliance blocks about 90% of malicious emails out of the box.
What do you dislike?
It can't detect any regexp or wildcard character very well. If we configure with some wildcard character to be searched and discarded it failed to do sometime.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The default mail scanner of the postfix is pretty bad. It has zero visibility over the advanced phishing emails. This is where barracuda ESG comes in. It's very effective compared to the legacy postfix or Zimbra mail scanner.


    Jeremy H.

Great product, robust features and easy setup

  • September 18, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Feature rich with easy web based interface
What do you dislike?
Almost too simplified, need support for advanced scripting and she’ll access
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Malware / content scanning definitions can cause issues with content delivery latency


    muhammad k.

Frendly interface, intelligent threat-filtering solution

  • September 13, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
This is a plug and play device. We were really surprised to see how easy it was to deploy. This appliance works out of the box, After just few clicks, we got it running. Do not get that fooled you. Reading these you might think that the device may not work well. But it was brilliant! Most of the threats were scanned with the pre-configured settings.
What do you dislike?
It has no options to block the promotional messages; which is not a big deal, but it sometimes gets annoying. I would be great if we could have much more control over user preference. It's just too simple to manage. The machine learning part is also underdeveloped. One have to train the system with 200 valid mails and 200 unwanted message and need to keep training the system over the time. Which some times feels tiring.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have reduced the incoming spams by 80-85% which really helped us to focus on some other important things.


    Oil & Energy

I replaced a per-user email filtering service with a highly-available Barracuda solution

  • September 01, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Once an organization reaches a certain number of mailboxes, using a Barracuda spam filtering appliance is more cost-effective than paying a third party spam filtering service.
What do you dislike?
Configuring two appliances for high availability is more difficult than it needs to be.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
When running an on-premises email environment (Exchange in my case), you have to have a solution in place to quarantine potentially dangerous emails. and allow users to view the quarantine and release emails that are legitimate. For a small business it makes sense to pay a third party service at a per-user, per-month rate, but that becomes cost-prohibitive at scale. I moved a small oil-and-gas services company from third party spam filtering to a dual-Barracuda on-premises solution and recognized about $25,000 in annual cost savings.


    Rokebul I.

A game changer!

  • August 30, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Barracuda really helped us to reduce the number of spams to almost 90%. The GUI is very easy to manage. It felt like it is a plug and play device. Highly recommended.
What do you dislike?
Spoofing mails are not very easily detectable.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Spam mails are thing of a past now. The most satisfying part is, if barracuda is not sure about any mail, it sends the mail to quarantined mail box. Where I have the full privilege to mark the mail as a safe one and deliver it to the intended recipient.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's a plug and play device and very easy installation. Highly recommended.