Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Mendix Pro Edition - Linux based Runtime - 50 users

Mendix | v1.1

Linux/Unix, Debian 8.3 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

118 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Jeffrey K.

Mendix - The Platform for success!

  • February 28, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I've been working with the Mendix platform for 6 years now, and still find its easy to learn, hard to master developers user interface great. The built-in real-time model checking features are top notch, omnichannel development (develop functionality once, create a desktop/tablet/mobile app in a snap), ease of setting up integrations with other systems are great. The Mendix community, with its active developers and knowledge meetups is fantastic, anyone can learn almost an infinite amount of things in no time.
What do you dislike?
What could be improved upon is Mendix' document generation mechanism. It turns a graphical template into XSL-FO, which outputs PDFs, Docx, etc, but a simple change in the template requires an entire restart of your application. A 'generate preview document' button would be much better.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Creating business value for our customers. Helping them work better, faster, more efficient. Putting smiles on the faces of our end users and wowing them with fantastic looking apps, developed in days instead of weeks. Being able to change the application on the fly, stunning customers who have bad experiences with traditional development methods.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Complete development platform for both Business and Developers. Easy to learn, free to learn and use for the first time. Connects with any database and most other (legacy) systems. Active community with lots of developer support, new ways of creating functionality and a top-grade User Interface (Atlas UI) framework, which makes it easy to create beautiful, user friendly apps on the fly!


    Marius v.

Rapid application development makes developing less tedious

  • February 28, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like how little effort is needed for seeing your first results. You can have a working application with a data view and some buttons within minutes - much less time-consuming than writing from scratch!
What do you dislike?
Because of the nature of a platform like this, the software sometimes pushes you in a certain direction. Sometimes I wish for more flexibility.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Lower cost for developing, quicker stakeholder reviews


    Albert L.

Mendix, for fast implementing and conitnuous improvement

  • February 28, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
With the easy to understand user interface that you can create with Mendix, you can easily discuss with end-users what they want to see in Mendix. Then the change is rapidly implemented which contributes greatly to the continuous improvement of your apps and your user satisfaction.
What do you dislike?
I'm missing the functionality to add security on a developer level. It would be nice to see developer security roles that lock certain module such that junior developers can be locked out of some modules or end-users can be allowed in the model.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
A great part our consultancy company works with Mendix and we've used it for several clients. The great power of Mendix is that it can be used for a great variety of business problems. We've used it to create guided questionnaires, but also to create an integration layer between all various kinds of services. So from a business perspective it is an easy to use tool. Also from a developer perspective it is a great tool. The way of modeling is easy to understand and proper documentation while modeling is also possible. There are great learning paths to follow for new developers as well. Projects can grow quite big very soon, however, in Mendix you can easily separate the modelling into modules, but also in microflows that preserve the readability for new developers that join the project after a few years. For myself, I'm working with Mendix for about 1.5 years and I already became an advanced developer. As I mentioned, it is an easy learning modeling tool.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Just start with a simple app for your own test purposes. After seeing how easy it is to use, you will be convinced.


    Werner G.

Getting started

  • February 28, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I am coming form a business (Accounting) background and could easily understand the coding logic. It really makes it simple to understand and to implement solutions.
What do you dislike?
It takes some time understading what Mendix does and what is does not. you as a developer must know where to take over.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Using Mendix we can rapidly deploy systems and therefore, minimizing time to market.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Great platform


    Wouter v.

Hyperfast development with out of the box components

  • February 27, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I love the extensive possibilities that Mendix provides out of the box by the provided building blocks.
What do you dislike?
I do not like to use the webmodeller. It does not have all the options that the desktop modeler does have.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Creating workflow applications in order to streamline the business processes via the Mendix applications.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You can easily sign up to Mendix and try it out for free. You can create an application and deploy it in a free sandbox environment. This way you can get to know the software and find out whether it suits your needs!


    Tom v.

Rapid Development Tool that suits my needs

  • February 27, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The flexibility and fastness of the developing a new or existing app. The easy re-usability of created logic. The fast deployment to the cloud. The version control with multiple developers on the same project. I also like quickness in response when I have an issue with the software.
What do you dislike?
I don't use the web-modeler, why should I bother with an incomplete version of the software?
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The problems that I am solving are mostly related to workflow processes. Most of my applications are replacements for old forms on either printed paper, word or excel.


    Larn v.

RAD platform of my choice

  • February 27, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The Mendix platform enables me to quickly and efficiently provide solutions to business requirements in an agile way.
What do you dislike?
Some functionality is still lacking. With some of the more complex issues you'll need to know about the 'quirks' of Mendix to work around them.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The power of Mendix is not just faster development. But the fact that it enables a fully agile way of working together with the business. The Sprintr environment and the up and coming webmodeler functionality add ways of cooperation between the business and the developers. And the powerful desktop modeler enables me to quickly work through requirements and deploy them to the cloud of my choice.


    Andreas B.

Powerful development tool

  • February 26, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like the speed of the whole system. With Mendix, you are able to deliver prototypes in a very short time.
I also like the integration of webservices like soap and rest.
Data modeling is well structured in Mendix.
Last but not least, I like the online tutorials, webinars, forum,...
What do you dislike?
Sometimes, Ui development is not as intuitive as it seems at first sight. Especially if you are a backend developer that is not very familiar with frontend web development. Sometimes.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Mendix is great to build a custom application that just fits the business needs. Instead of paying for standard software and changing your business to work with the software you build your application to work with/for your business. Also, the software is growing with your business and can be constantly changing to always fit your requirements. The users can (and should be) involved in the development process.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Just give it a try. The online tutorial is a great starting point.


    Insurance

Mendix platform

  • February 26, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Mendix offers a great platform, not only for developing, but also hosting, deploying and maintaining your applications, facilitating the entire development cycle of an application.

Applications can be made really fast, and with the help of the Mendix Modeler, almost without any coding. Changes in your app can be done very easily, because Mendix handles everything in the background for you. Great when a customer wants a change, and you can do it while the customer is sitting next to you and can immediately see the changes.

Integrations are also really using. Using Mendix, you can consume or publish SOAP or Rest services very easily.

Using the Sprintr platform, deploying your app in the Mendix cloud is very easy and user friendly.
What do you dislike?
Mendix offers a lot of standard tools/widget to use in your applications, which make developing your apps really fast, but when you want something different from the standard, you have to reside to custom coding. It is possible within the platform, but may require some more time.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Development speed, being able to quickly respond to changes.

For customers, we have used Mendix to create custom apps with integrations quickly, where standard off the shelf products do not suffice.


    Milan M.

My go-to rapid development tool

  • February 23, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The rapidness of deploying a new app or implementing changes.
What do you dislike?
The web modeler's current functionality is too low key at the moment.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Mendix is the perfect tool for both agile and devops projects. I've worked with Mendix on both entirely new projects as projects that are on the go for a few years. The fact that it's so easy to just dig in and getting up to speed in very short notice makes Mendix feasible for basically any type of project. Of course it's better to be part of a project from the very first start, as you have an influence on the creation of the data model. But I think one of the biggest advantages of Mendix is that when it's being used in projects, and new developers need to put on, you can bring them up to speed very easily. This is due to the ease of use of both data modelling and microflows and the way you can document your progress. As I'm writing this review I've been working with Mendix for 3,5 years, without any form of IT/technical background. But I'm still astonished by the speed of which I've been able to master the tool and putting it to good use for all projects I have done so far. Conclusion, I would recommend Mendix to basically everyone who would like to build their own app.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try to stay up to date with the modeler version!