Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Sophos UTM 9 (Auto Scaling PAYG)

Sophos | 9.701

Linux/Unix, Other 9.701 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

13 AWS reviews

External reviews

70 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


5-star reviews ( Show all reviews )

    Computer & Network Security

Easy to sell security

  • July 12, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Devices are easy to switch out and copy over confit files when we have issues.
What do you dislike?
Our techs find the Sophos support not as helpful as they would kike
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We lease these to our clients aspect of an MSP offering. This helps us manage risk.


    Airlines/Aviation

Amazing firewall

  • July 06, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of use and how simple setting up everything is. How much simple customization you can do. The complete and active log that you can just watch if something is getting blocked its pretty simple to track down.
What do you dislike?
There is honestly nothing I don't like about this software. I will say that when you first start using it however
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Being able to fully work with customization of the computer/user level and how much of what they see on the internet. Also blocking ads from the firewall level is really nice.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Don't hesitate it's a really great firewall.


    Computer Software

Great device to protect your network from intrusion

  • June 29, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I would say that I like the easy to use interface the best
What do you dislike?
Some features are hidden and difficult to find.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The Sophos is a true unified threats management device that works great for point of sale networks to maintain PCI compliance.


    Adam R.

Sophos UTM

  • May 01, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Objects can be created and re-named on the fly. Firewall rules and policies are very easy to configure. The live log feature is very easy to navigate and see what is being blocked where.
What do you dislike?
I wish that the interface would not time out and have issues when first logging into the web interface.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We solved the problems of other firewall vendors going end of life with no replacements. The benefits of Sophos was the ease of use with a very responsive web interface.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The web interface takes a little bit of getting used to, but once you have learned how to get around, it makes a lot of sense and can be very easy to configure.


    Jeremiah H.

Sophos UTM - Powerful yet easy to use

  • April 24, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The ease of use. The Sophos interface is really clean and easy to understand. You don't need very much training to be able to use. It is almost like the Mac for UTMs (I know some may not like that, but I mean that it is less console/script based set-up/admin and more UI and friendly, yet still secure).
What do you dislike?
The method of opening ports is slightly different from most other 'firewalls' and takes some getting used to, but once you understand the process and how it works it is fine, you just have to re-train your brain a little. I prefer the interface for the current models compared to the UTM 9.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Protection of our systems. This is our firewall. It not only protects our network, but it acts as our content filter. We can warn users when they are about to download a filetype the could be dangerous, as well as limit or warn for certain website types that might be dangerous. We also use one for a remote office location so the VPN tunnel is of great benefit.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Give it time. Be prepared to learn the nuances. Find a good resource for if/when you need help. We rolled it out and I have added/turned on features in stages. Their customer service is good as well. I had a unit whose HD failed and they overnighted a new unit to me. Really appreciated that to get me back up and running.


    Information Technology and Services

Best Unified Threat Management

  • April 13, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Sophos UTM Appliances with Firewall Sandboxing Provides Maximum Network Protection at an Affordable Price.
What do you dislike?
Single Sign-On(SSO) user authentication is not possible prior to version 9.2
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Good threat protection


    Al W.

Sophos UTM - My Gatekeeper

  • March 28, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Our Sophos SG230 has provided as much bang for the buck as we could get when it comes to protecting and administering our network security. It has all of the baseline firewall functionality in the definitions and rules that are either automatically set up or added by the user. I love the additional security I see as it blocks traffic to known bad actors using the Sophos database which though not as extensive as Cisco's is still quite substantial. I've seen this thing alert and block the wrong thing enough times to know I don't want to live with anything less and am seriously considering an XG230 in the near term. It also does a great job with the Sophos Wireless Access points.
What do you dislike?
It is complicated at times and you have to manually perform firmware updates. I would love to see that scheduled from the dashboard. I would love to see more granularity on the monitoring and reporting of traffic.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Before Sophos we had an infection that would have been stopped by the Sophos SG230. The current situation is so bad it's depressing. The network is under constant attack and probing for absolutely the worst of reasons. There is an army arrayed against us and products such as the Sophos UTM are our early warning system, first line of defense and counter-intelligence agency.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Look at Sophos and keep in mind the companion products such as endpoint protection, WAPs, the variety of VPN flavors.


    Insurance

Sophos UTM

  • March 11, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?

Absolutely the best security software in the business with the VERY best customer service.
These folks go above and beyond to help you out of a jam or fix issues with security whether you are new and have viruses and holes in your security or if its just something simple they are the best of the best for security
What do you dislike?

Absolute do not dislike anything about
Sophos I was actually the one who recommended them from prior experience with them at my home. I had called them randomly with a problem with my home computer and they walked me through fixing it without me ever being a member or having their software.
Thjat is impressive!
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Well obviously security. There are multiple properties that we communicate with online and we had a lot of issues with hacking and it was getting really bad. Once this was in place life as a manager was much easier.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Do not hesitate to get this for your company they are the best in the business and I would recommend them to anyone who is looking for security services.


    Financial Services

Great mechanism for IPsec

  • February 08, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of use and overall security mechanism
What do you dislike?
Only 30 days trial period. Can be a bit more
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Internet security


    Hospital & Health Care

A great tool for enterprise security

  • January 26, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of use but also the capabilities to get granular with the setup. Administration is very clear cut as well.
What do you dislike?
Its on the high end on price. The original product was a little clunky but has been much more streamlined since using the sophos cloud to manage utm.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Prevention of ransomware or other malware activities.