Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Sophos UTM 9 (Auto Scaling PAYG)

Sophos | 9.605

Linux/Unix, Other 9.605 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

13 AWS reviews

External reviews

70 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Wireless

Sophos Security

  • September 24, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The company chose Sophos for our systems and it gives us the security of allowing employees to have their company email on their personal devices.
What do you dislike?
To this point, I have not encountered a problem.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The program is available to be downloaded on our mobile devices, which allows employees the ability to have the company email on their private devices. They can review and respond to their email regardless of where they are.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would highly recomend this program to other companies. This has brought a secure feeling to allowing employees to use their personal devices to monitor their company email.


    Graphic Design

Sophos UTm review

  • September 21, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Solid security, ease of setup, great looking GUI and customer support is helpful
What do you dislike?
The fact that port forwards have to be done with werid source ports.

Also don't like how network ports can't be bridged and Vlan'd .
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Security, endpoint protection. Very easy deployment and central is awesome
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Solid UTM but do your homework. Port forwarding has caveats like source port has to be 1:63365 or something like that.


    Frederic L.

Very nice entry level / SMB firewall appliance

  • September 17, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The ease of setup and the feature provided with this little appliance is absolutely amazing. I was quite impressed by the feature for price. I like the fact that it runs Linux in the background.
What do you dislike?
Support is not reachable easily and eventually, you get somebody over the phone.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The lack of security in a SMB (a customer of mine) who wanted to have more visibility and enforce some security rules inside the teams
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Sophos UTM is a great entry level firewall who provided access to enterprise features/protections and the entry ticket is low. I really think it worth the investment for SMBs or branch offices.


    Higher Education

excellent computer security

  • September 04, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Very easy platform to use, easy to run updates on any operating system and provides security for all applications in use where confidential information is used.
What do you dislike?
No problems with this software. It does its job, and there have been no outstanding complaints in my department (IT) on campus or any other.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Able to ensure security over all computers/laptops at the university I am employed with (Southwestern University). There are no issues with security at this institution, (meaning no viruses or scam-like entities have been encountered) because of our use of Sophos UTM.


    Education Management

Sophos is easy to manage and does the job.

  • August 23, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Sophos basically runs itself, so any kind of update just happens in the background, and we don't have to interrupt class time to make changes.
What do you dislike?
Can't say there's a lot I dislike, except it's not the most extensive anti-virus.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Sophos is automatically dealing with threats we likely couldn't catch in time on our own.


    Computer & Network Security

My experience

  • August 13, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I think that the best quality is the support
What do you dislike?
In my opinion, it is a bit too much expensive
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Virus scanning. Good protection.


    Victor C.

Great perimetral solution

  • August 03, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
-It offers great possibilities
-Vpn site to site
-Openssl vpn
-Restriction perimeter
-Protect your business network in many areas
-Web filter and email filter
-High redundancy
What do you dislike?
-The configuration is not saved in plain text, making it impossible to configure X configuration lines
-Does not allow the configuration of different ranges in OpenVPN for clients, all clients fall within the same range
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
-Safety in the network
-Perimeter security
-Remote access
-Conexion with other venues
-Routing
-Many other things
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's more stable


    Machinery

Sophos Firewalls Rock

  • July 31, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The Sophos firewalls are are full of features to protect the corporate network. Everything from IPS, to Reverse Proxy Services, to SSL VPN, and more. You can even do deep packet and application aware scanning and control.
What do you dislike?
When purchasing, there is a kind of black magic to choosing the right hardware level. The firewall must be sized just just depending on how much bandwidth you have and how many services you want to turn on.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Full integrated security management for the corporate network. The firewall will integrate with the Sophos antivirus and antiransomware software give you a wholistic approach to network security.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Dont skimp when sizing the hardware. The more you spend today, the better the solution will fit for the duration of its life.


    Information Technology and Services

Good reliable brand for UTM

  • July 31, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
- Powerful engine
- Sophos is a well known reliable brand for UTM firewalls, it will prevents against malwares and other threats such as crypto viruses
What do you dislike?
- Not really easy to use at first, you may need some tutorials or KBs to help you with the set up
- Need to make sure you often update with the last firmwares
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
- With Sophos UTM you can sleep each night since it will protects and secure your clients network or your own office network if you are in charge of the network and security
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Sophos is a reliable brand you can count on it


    Mike R.

Sophos UTM

  • July 30, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
XG units are easy to manage thanks to their cloud console and have very powerful features. The "security heartbeat" that syncs endpoint antivirus/antimalware/anticrypto with the firewall is a no brainer. Combined with the ability to manage FDE and see which users pose the highest risk based on behavior has made the entire stack invaluable to our clients.
What do you dislike?
SG units are solid but take too many steps to create and apply new policies. Some of the documentation is not entirely clear at first, but they seem to be improving it. Support can be hit or miss, depends on who picks up the phone. We've never had a problem not fixed before we ended the conversation, but sometimes the call went longer than it should have.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The ability to manage all of our clients in one dashboard has greatly streamlined our processes, saving us time and leading to faster service times.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
XG units are the way to go. We always recommend one model up from what the current client needs are to allow for growth and new features.