Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

RancherOS - HVM

Rancher Labs | v1.1.0

Linux/Unix, Other RancherOS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

36 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Mohit V.

Rancher

  • September 26, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Rancher is the leader in the market leader in open source cloud native Kubernetes management and allows users to manage and scale workloads, cluster in any environment and support any certified Kubernetes distribution
What do you dislike?
The Rancher is best tool available in the market however in the Rancher user cannot deatach the Kubernetes cluster which is created by Rancher from Rancher management.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
If a user wants to create a new cluster, believe me, or not, it will create a new cluster quickly and can extend the existing one with the Rancher. The rancher didn't need any maintenance


    Ardhiya C.

Helpful in managing Kubernetes clusters

  • September 19, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Rancher is a place where we can manage our Kubernetes clusters. It provides one platform where we can see all the clusters, nodes and their configurations and navigate through various namespaces.
What do you dislike?
Nothing. It is a useful platform that our team uses everyday.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Anytime that one of our applications is down, we can directly go to the rancher and troubleshoot it. We can scale up or down manually without using commands and view configurations such as the node scheduling, scaling policy and the YAML of the manifest files.


    Edgars V.

Rancher is all you need to run Kubernetes

  • July 20, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Rancher makes it possible for one person to successfully install and run Kubernetes. Besides that, you get good user access management and security defaults.
Some of the features I like about Rancher:
+) There are multiple user providers available, including LDAP.
+) Projects. You create a project, give developers access to a project and they can create namespaces, workloads etc. without interfering with other projects. You can completely isolate network communication between projects to be sure containers from different projects don't directly communicate with each other.
+) Built-in cluster snapshots.
+) Kubernetes versions can be upgraded with a few mouse clicks.
+) You don't need to know what "kubectl" is to start playing with Kubernetes.
What do you dislike?
Although Rancher is a superior tool in creating and managing Kubernetes clusters, it has some space for improvements.
Some of the things I would like to be improved in Rancher:
-) No possibility to snapshot Projects. You can snapshot and restore the whole Kubernetes cluster, but not a Project or Namespace. For this, you have to use external tools.
-) You cannot detach the Rancher-created Kubernetes clusters from Rancher management.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
+) We can quickly create new clusters or extend existing ones with Rancher.
+) Developers don't need to be familiar with "kubectl" and YAML to start deploying containers in Kubernetes.
+) Rancher doesn't take a lot of maintenance.


    Sayanta B.

A great product

  • March 24, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Rancher is the best when it comes to automatic scaling and an interactive GUI to get started with your Kubernetes clusters. It helps to get started with Kubernetes even if you don't have a large IT department.
What do you dislike?
There is nothing to dislike as it is getting better
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I can now have a better deployment with my Kubernetes. The visibility alongside productivity of our department increased greatly after using Rancher.


    Michael H.

If you want to start with Kubernetes, use Rancher

  • March 21, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
A good GUI to show what's going on. It helps you get started with Kubernetes, even when you don't have a large IT department.
What do you dislike?
Not much. It's getting better every iteration.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We can do deployments much faster now. Also, the visibility of our deployments for (non-techie) teammates is much better.


    Information Technology and Services

Contain your containers with Rancher

  • March 20, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
* 100% open source
* Easy to install and use
* Not tied to any particular Kubernetes platform
* There seems to be a good community around Rancher offering support and training

I can see why SUSE bought the company and I'm looking forward to seeing how things develop, particularly with their Harvester product.
What do you dislike?
It's still early days but nothing so far - hopefully that will continue.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I'm trying Rancher to help with running and managing a Kubernetes cluster.


    Information Technology and Services

Kubernetes Cluster Management

  • March 16, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Cluster Management at your fingertips. Deploy to the cloud or bare metal, import your clusters as well.
What do you dislike?
To date in my use case, I've not come across any major issues.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Single management interface to my clusters.


    Binoy G.

Rancher - Manage Multiple Kubernetes Clusters with Ease

  • January 27, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Multiple set up channels (bare metal, in a k8s cluster, or even as a standalone Docker container)
Can provision new clusters in most cloud providers, or bare metal (with k3s and RKE), or even just manage already provisioned clusters
Comes integrated with monitoring tools to help better visualise clusters
Easily deploy helm charts
Integrates very nicely with a git-ops tool - Fleet (https://fleet.rancher.io/ - another rancher project)
Lowers the barrier to entry for new users adopting Kubernetes and having to manage clusters
Full fledge unrestricted software features and use. Support can be purchased additionally
Thriving community, documentation, videos, master-classes available to all. Paid administration courses are available also.
Continuous releases and improvements. Stable releases are prod ready and work very well and well documented.
Excellent backup and restore ability.
What do you dislike?
The SSO is limited, could do with generic / more providers like Auth0
At times, updates on the webpage go stale and require a hard refresh
If set up in HA mode in a K8s cluster, restart times can be a little slow (room to improve)
Higher cost of managing infrastructure if managing only a single cluster
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Managing multiple clusters in multiple environments
Junior tech staff can monitor and escalate issues
Quick and easily identify issues in cluster and adjust scale with a click of a button
kubernetes native management without any kubectl commands
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Easy to set up and use, with the docker setup. It's free and full-featured. Test it out, works as advertised with constant feature improvements.


    Jason F.

Great tool for large infrastructure and multi-cluster setup

  • November 18, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's a perfect tool for multi-cluster deployment management and monitoring.
What do you dislike?
Documentation is lacking for integration cases, would love to see more of it published
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
K8s cluster deployment, management and monitoring . We use it for 3 separate data centers; our DevOps team reduced the amount of manual work they do by half in just a few months.


    Computer Software

Good kubernetes management system

  • September 01, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Provides a good UI wrapper around Kubernetes and makes easy to use. Has a good layer of access management.
What do you dislike?
Needs access to the internet. Cost it a little high.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It was complicated to run Kubernetes by itself. With the wrapper is visually appealing and makes it easier to maintain.