Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

RancherOS - HVM

Rancher Labs | v1.1.0

Linux/Unix, Other RancherOS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

33 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Yiorgos [George] A.

The Royal Road to Kubernetes

  • June 24, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Rancher2 is many things. It is a GUI that can sit in front of your Kubernetes cluster, regardless if it was created by Rancher, RKE, kubeadm or whatever. It offers a curated lists of k8s, which allows for smooth upgrades in-place (if you've done it with kubeadm, you get what I mean). It allows for RBAC without needing to read a lot about it when you begin your k8s journey. It makes your life easier.
What do you dislike?
I do not like it that the non-HA solution runs a k3s inside a container. It is essentially a black-box that if things go wrong, you cannot easily decide what to do next to salvage it.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Fast deployment of bare-metal k8s clusters


    👾 Victor E.

A great tool to manage your k8s envs

  • June 14, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The ability to manage multiple kubernetes clusters with one interface
What do you dislike?
Nothing so far, I haven't found any real thing yet
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
To have different kubernetes providers. Rancher provides me with the same UX for all my k8s envs


    Sayanta B.

A great product

  • March 24, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Rancher is the best when it comes to automatic scaling and an interactive GUI to get started with your Kubernetes clusters. It helps to get started with Kubernetes even if you don't have a large IT department.
What do you dislike?
There is nothing to dislike as it is getting better
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I can now have a better deployment with my Kubernetes. The visibility alongside productivity of our department increased greatly after using Rancher.


    Michael H.

If you want to start with Kubernetes, use Rancher

  • March 21, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
A good GUI to show what's going on. It helps you get started with Kubernetes, even when you don't have a large IT department.
What do you dislike?
Not much. It's getting better every iteration.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We can do deployments much faster now. Also, the visibility of our deployments for (non-techie) teammates is much better.


    Information Technology and Services

Contain your containers with Rancher

  • March 18, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
* 100% open source
* Easy to install and use
* Not tied to any particular Kubernetes platform
* There seems to be a good community around Rancher offering support and training

I can see why SUSE bought the company and I'm looking forward to seeing how things develop, particularly with their Harvester product.
What do you dislike?
It's still early days but nothing so far - hopefully that will continue.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I'm trying Rancher to help with running and managing a Kubernetes cluster.


    Information Technology and Services

Kubernetes Cluster Management

  • March 15, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Cluster Management at your fingertips. Deploy to the cloud or bare metal, import your clusters as well.
What do you dislike?
To date in my use case, I've not come across any major issues.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Single management interface to my clusters.


    Binoy G.

Rancher - Manage Multiple Kubernetes Clusters with Ease

  • January 26, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Multiple set up channels (bare metal, in a k8s cluster, or even as a standalone Docker container)
Can provision new clusters in most cloud providers, or bare metal (with k3s and RKE), or even just manage already provisioned clusters
Comes integrated with monitoring tools to help better visualise clusters
Easily deploy helm charts
Integrates very nicely with a git-ops tool - Fleet (https://fleet.rancher.io/ - another rancher project)
Lowers the barrier to entry for new users adopting Kubernetes and having to manage clusters
Full fledge unrestricted software features and use. Support can be purchased additionally
Thriving community, documentation, videos, master-classes available to all. Paid administration courses are available also.
Continuous releases and improvements. Stable releases are prod ready and work very well and well documented.
Excellent backup and restore ability.
What do you dislike?
The SSO is limited, could do with generic / more providers like Auth0
At times, updates on the webpage go stale and require a hard refresh
If set up in HA mode in a K8s cluster, restart times can be a little slow (room to improve)
Higher cost of managing infrastructure if managing only a single cluster
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Managing multiple clusters in multiple environments
Junior tech staff can monitor and escalate issues
Quick and easily identify issues in cluster and adjust scale with a click of a button
kubernetes native management without any kubectl commands
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Easy to set up and use, with the docker setup. It's free and full-featured. Test it out, works as advertised with constant feature improvements.


    Jason F.

Great tool for large infrastructure and multi-cluster setup

  • November 18, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's a perfect tool for multi-cluster deployment management and monitoring.
What do you dislike?
Documentation is lacking for integration cases, would love to see more of it published
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
K8s cluster deployment, management and monitoring . We use it for 3 separate data centers; our DevOps team reduced the amount of manual work they do by half in just a few months.


    Higher Education

A good management tool for Kubernete's complexities

  • November 04, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Rancher greatly simplifies management of Kubernetes for our multi-tenant cluster. It comes with a built-in user management system, and can isolate teams by using Projects. All of this is very difficult to do with Kubernetes by itself.

The Kubernetes ecosystem is immense-- too large really, and each layer of the Kubernetes stack requires you to evaluate different products for every single layer-- the decision paralysis is real! Rancher simplifies this by providing some good choices out of the box-- Canal for the network driver, Prometheus/Grafana/Rancher Alerts for monitoring & alerting, a Rancher Logging front-end to configure your Network driver. Their choices save me time and let me focus on the needs of my users, not the needs of Kubernetes.
What do you dislike?
Rancher before 2.4 was not quite ready for production-- crashes and instability were common. This has improved in Rancher 2.4+.

The documentation is split between Rancher Server and RKE, which are two different products, and you need to read both to understand some configuration options.

Rancher's support for bare metal environments is a little bare-- there is no built-in Layer-4 loadbalancer like you would have with AWS ELB or other clouds. This is a critical, missing component.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Kubernetes is for a small group, but for a larger installation, Kubernete's complexity becomes difficult to manage. You need to think about user-RBAC, which isn't built into Kubernetes, integrating with a monitoring program such as Prometheus & Grafana-- all of that becomes a burden. Every level of the stack comes with an ecosystem full of choices, and you end up spending your entire time *evaluating* Kubernetes instead of *using* Kubernetes.

Rancher makes many of those choices for you, and saves time so you can focus on the real goal-- allowing the team to use the product.


    Computer Software

Good kubernetes management system

  • August 31, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Provides a good UI wrapper around Kubernetes and makes easy to use. Has a good layer of access management.
What do you dislike?
Needs access to the internet. Cost it a little high.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It was complicated to run Kubernetes by itself. With the wrapper is visually appealing and makes it easier to maintain.