Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Symantec Protection Engine for Cloud Services on Linux - BYOL

Symantec | 8.2.2

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7.9 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

530 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Events Services

A decent anti-virus solution

  • September 17, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like that Symantec is a solid solution to protect systems from viruses, malware, ransomware and spyware. The software is light on CPU and RAM and does not impact the overall performance of the system. The user interface is clear and easy to understand. I can see that the definitions database receives its updates every week and the software is up to date at all times.
What do you dislike?
I've never encountered any problems or received any false alerts about threats, which is a good thing.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Symantec can be trusted and is a well-known brand for computer protection. I can rely on this software and can stay focused on my other tasks.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would advice using Symantec as it is a security solution that you can rely on. The software is well maintained and stays up to date.


    katerina G.

It provides end-to-end security

  • September 16, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It provides end-to-end security for different devices and applications including desktop, mobiles, text messaging, servers and Web communications, etc. Works as a good protective wall against spams and protection for Web gateways. Efficient enough to protect against invisible threats (i.e. zero-day threats). Endpoint protection ensures the safety of delicate data and essential information at the messaging gateways with data loss prevention. It provides quick and consistent recovery for data.
What do you dislike?
It uses most of the system resources that affect system speed and efficiency. Some programs might not work properly or stop working. While deep scanning the whole system becomes extremely slow and sluggish. This issue can affect your business work and eat up your time. On the other hand, it is a bit more expensive in comparison with other software with high license fees and high pricing. These problems need to be worked with such great features.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It can help the computers that are used in business work to process data, retrieve and transmit all types of data in a matter of seconds that will give us relief for data processing without any blockage, and saving more of our priceless time. It is a protector that stops the outside threats as well as insider threats. It possesses a feature known as Insight that protects against anonymous threats that can lift unofficial business information.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It possesses a feature known as Insight that protects against anonymous threats that can lift unofficial business information.Highly recommended


    Events Services

Reliable software that provides good performance and the latest security features

  • September 15, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The best thing I like about Symantec Endpoint Protection is the good security it offers. I couldn't notice a single incident that happened while using the software. I can be assured with Symantec, that this software will be accurate and offers the latest security features. Symantec is amongst the leading antivirus software on the market. The initial installation is not complicated but straightforward.
What do you dislike?
Symantec is costlier than other vendors, but often the virus wasn't identified by other software.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It protects against all threats like antivirus, spam, ransomware, making us safer and more efficient.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you have a budget and if you need stability, go with Symantec. If you think your data is sensible, I would advice to use this software.


    Events Services

A comprehensive solution with strong security and encryption

  • September 14, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
This is a very secure solution. After installation you won't notice it's running. Upgrading the clients from the server is easy. In particular it sends packages to all clients very quickly to make sure they have the new update. It is crystal clear and easy to use.
What do you dislike?
There is certainly space for improvement to the reporting feature. In general the reporting feature must be less complicated to use.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
This solution protects us and we do not get any viruses, so the benefits can be considered as this.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is a fantastic tool at what it does, I would surely advice to use this solution.


    Events Services

Makes me feel safe and boosts productivity

  • September 10, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
As our primary security solution, we work with Symantec Endpoint Protection. We've implemented this software for a few clients and our own organization. Symantec is excellent. Antivirus solutions cover only a few basics but the next generation is Endpoint Protection. It includes anti-virus, anti-spam and ransomware protection; all of this is protected by this security solution.
What do you dislike?
I don't have anything to complain about.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It has increased our productivity and we feel protected from spam and other threats. We are not facing any problems now with this protection for endpoints.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would recommend that other users take this software from Symantec as their primary solution.


    Events Services

It provides secure and solid protection

  • September 09, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I used different kinds of anti-virus solutions but I prefer Symantec Endpoint Protection as it solved all the problems I used to have. It is now the only antivirus used by me and my colleagues, after careful consideration by our IT department. It provides computers and laptops with secure and solid protection.
What do you dislike?
It is only possible to use the software on computers with powerful resources.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The software's most amazing feature is that it provides a complete solution for all virus problems. Since I started using this software I have no more virus problems.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It was very good for what I was using the software for, I would recommend it.


    Chad G.

Recommended for any Windows based user workstation.

  • September 07, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Symantec has done a great job with their centralized management portal. The agent/client itself is easy to deploy once you understand Symantec's interface. Policy management could use some work, but given the class of software it covers the basics and then some. Email notifications are a must for me and this software does it well. It doesn't matter if the event was resolved automatically or not, admins always get notifications.
What do you dislike?
Technical support can be a little frustrating at times especially if the problem at hand is not directly related to the agent. Portal related issues can take a little time to solve and more so since Broadcom took them over.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
This software does add a layer of protection that is otherwise missing from native Windows. One of the best things about it is that end-users get a pop up for events and administrators are also notified via email, providing notifications are properly configured.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Like anything else, test drive everything including the management interface, reporting and alerting features.


    Events Services

Solid software for antivirus protection

  • September 06, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
There really is one single aspect that I think stands out, that is they have very good and strong protection. They are ahead other software on the market. Especially now when a lot of people are working remotely and with cloud products, the security is very complete. I think that Symantec is a solid product for antivirus protection.
What do you dislike?
We had some issues with Symantec. The biggest problem has been the whitelisting feature. Sometimes the threats it detects are not real issues, they are essentially false positives.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The software is used as an antivirus solution and our systems. It makes setting up and managing security very easy.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
So far I've been very happy with this software. I would advice to go with Symantec for the best protection.


    Yagiz B.

Security that your clients and servers need with SEP

  • September 05, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
SEP offers the best solution in endpoint protection. It is constantly up-to-date and provides effective protection against threats. The best part of the product is that it centralizes client management. In this way, we are able to manage clients' access such as USB and website from a single management interface.
What do you dislike?
I think the worst part of the product is that it causes some difficulties in computers with low configurations (insufficient CPU, RAM resources). In such PCs, SEP slows down the system a lot while running in the background.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The product is used in areas specific to our organization such as IT Security and IT Infrastructure, and is used as a protection tool in all clients and workstations.


    Ozkan Taylan H.

All My Experiences with SEP

  • September 05, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I think SEP is a real investment product. Because you can use the product easily even in old windows operating systems. I also see comments on some forums like it uses a lot of CPU and RAM resources. If the PC you are using is old, it is almost impossible to operate with this computer even with applications that use some RAM resources. So in summary, this is not the case with SEP. On Intel's 2nd or AMD's Ryzen 1st generation PCs, you never feel the product running in the background.
What do you dislike?
The worst part of the product in my opinion is that the license form and price is high. The fact that there is a lot of difference between competitors makes you think when choosing the product. Ben Symantec firm needs to show its pricing policy.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
With the product, we protect our company computers against viruses and threats from the internet.