Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Symantec Protection Engine for Cloud Services on Linux

Symantec | 8.2.2*

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7.9 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

483 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Information Technology and Services

Complete EndPoint Protection with SEP

  • January 25, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Antimalware protection, firewall, IPS, Device and application control, host integrity
What do you dislike?
nothing, I like everything, the solution is very complete
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Endpoint protection, host firewall, IPS and redirection of Navigation to Proxy Cloud and CASB
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Good Solution for End Point Protection


    Pablo A.

Symantec is a grate Security Solution

  • January 22, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
SES protect all clients in our organization from security attacks. It is a very easy product for installation, configuration, and cloud management. All Client Agent installations can be done simply without an additional software distribution tool. All SEP Clients can be easily monitored from the Reporting interface. So, If any client has the old version or old signature can be easily updated from the Console with a single click. Helps to reduce the client-based security vulnerabilities in the whole organization. I think Symantec has the best Global Antivirus database to avoid attacks including Zero-Day attacks
What do you dislike?
Endpoint interface aspect and small functionalities
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Manageability, SESE framework of all Home Office devices


    Bill T.

Solid Protection

  • January 11, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
SEP provides best in class protection for all endpoints. The enterprise management capabilities are superior to many other competing products.
What do you dislike?
Managing and maintaining deployments and definition packages can be challenging at times.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Enterprise class threat protection at the endpoint level.


    Computer & Network Security

They had a good product, but good luck trying to renew after Broadcom took over

  • January 07, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Good product, doesn't bog down the computer like other similar products. Have not have any issues with malware while running this software.
What do you dislike?
Like others, the license expired while Broadcom acquired Symantec. I have been trying to get a renewal license for this products for the past 2-3 months. Symantec (now Broadcom) is no longer selling the license, and every reseller I contacted is not responding to the emails regarding pricing information. I have contacted Broadcom directly, and they put me in contact with a vendor, which sent me a quote that was for more devices that I inquired about. Contacted the vendor back asking for a quote for just the number of devices I had, never heard back from them.

At this point I have stations for which the license has expired and do not have a way to renew them. I really hate to start looking for other products, but at the rate I am receiving responses from vendors, I have no choice.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Securing the devices against malware, virus.


    Information Technology and Services

A once popular software security product.

  • December 03, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Symantec continues to have a large customer base that adds unique value to their global threat intelligence network.
What do you dislike?
Symantec products can be difficult to deploy and manage. Symantec Endpoint Protection is also plagued with performance problems.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Symantec delivers good endpoint security.


    F R.

Good product - Awful support

  • November 18, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
This is a established product that does its job nicely. The centralized cloud console properly monitors clients and issues alerts as expected, interface is clean and easy to use albeit a bit too simple for the cloud version, compared to the on-prem Enterprise edition that presents clients in a tree structure and has the ability to create firewall and management policies and apply these to groups to control traffic at the port level, service level or source/destination level. A firewall at the perimeter will protect ports and services but many threats come now via http and https, so it's vital to have protection at the endpoint level.
What do you dislike?
Support after Broadcom acquisition is awful. Been using Symantec products since 2004 and never had an issue with support until Broadcom acquired it. I had a problem with my licensing (they offered a free upgrade from SBE to SES because they were discontinuing the former) and opened a support ticket in which I was told it would be upgraded before October 31st but that did not happen. On that day I opened another ticket (high priority this time) and they just tossed it around until for days until I call them and I was told that because my subscription had expired I needed to buy new licenses (my subscription does not show as expired in the console, because it had been extended to help with the transition to SES so that was inaccurate). All support calls went to India, the line quality was very poor and if you add that to a thick accent, it was very hard to understand the rep. Yet the bottom line is this: Regardless being a paying customer, with an active license, she was rude and could care less about loosing a client.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I use it for Endpoint protection, anitivirus and firewall. It is nice to have an extra layer of protection at the endpoint level as nowadays many threats pass through the perimeter firewall via a web browser, so it catch bugs that users may be unknowingly inviting via an embedded link in an email r an attachment. The console has the needed features to know the status of clients at a glance (all good, needs attention, at risk, needs restart, needs update) and you can create policies and assign to groups, similar to what you can do in the SEP Enterprise edition, though the interface for the latter is much nicer that the one for the SBE Cloud. In general, this is a good product as long as you don't need to call support.


    Telecommunications

Strong protection for powerful PCs

  • October 27, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I use Symantec Endpoint Protection integrated with Active Domain. It has caught all malicious files so far. Sometimes it also caught files that I thought were not harmful. I like the Network and Host Exploit Mitigation feature.
What do you dislike?
The computer is very slow, whenever it is scanning. It is necessary to use an SSD in the computer.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I can safely plug USB into my computer. It instantly detects sites that are running malicious exploits.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use the SSD disk


    Information Technology and Services

The solution offers protection from Network threats and is easy to use.

  • October 20, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The solution is easy to use and has the ability to integrate with the Symantec cloud. It is also easy to deploy and adequate support is available.

The Symantec solution is also able to replace any existing endpoint security solution during the installation process.

Useful product documentation is also available and relatively easy to find.
What do you dislike?
More training material and videos should be made available. Things got a little bit confusing after the Broadcom acquisition. The new website layout can be improved to make it easier to find resources.

Replication with Symantec replication partners at other locations fails sometimes. This appears to have improved greatly with software updates.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Endpoint security, Device Control, Intrusion Detection, Asset Management, and Network Security.

We now have improved visibility into endpoints on the network and better asset management.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I advise that you dedicate adequate time to planning your implementation to ensure the solution is deployed properly in your environment. This will lead to faster value realization from the solution.


    Serkan M.

A Successful Virus Protection Solution

  • October 12, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
SEP provides real-time protection, the central location helps to easily send updates to client workstations. SEP It is a very user friendly solution. The best part of the product is that it can detect threats quickly with its powerful scanning capabilities and is supported by multiple operating system platforms.
What do you dislike?
The downside of SEP is that it uses a lot of PC resources. So when SEP scans in the background or does some other action, the PC becomes very slow.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use SEP to defend against viruses and malware on our company's end user computers. SEP protects against virus attacks, ransomware, malware attacks, and unknown threats. Symantec Endpoint has fixed several layers of protection. Central management gives very detailed reports. It is an easy to understand and use product.


    Ali T.

Best Web and System Security Software and Endpoint Package

  • October 12, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It protects workstations and servers running on all platforms such as Windows, Linux or macOS. It includes immense internet security as well as intrusion prevention, firewall and anti-malware features. It is a reputation-based engine that monitors new files for malicious activity. Constant updates and automatic updating of clients, with the latest definitions always available on the client protects the client from the latest threats.
What do you dislike?
There is no side of the product that I do not like. We have provided high-level protection against viruses and malware on our workstation and client computers with SEP. Therefore, we are very satisfied with the product.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use the product to protect the workstations with many different operating systems in our company against threats such as viruses and ransomware, as well as to protect their PCs when they make VPN from unsecured networks to the company on client computers.