Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Symantec Protection Engine for Cloud Services on Linux

Symantec | 8.2.2*

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7.9 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

482 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Higher Education

Symantec is a good system, although a little annoying

  • August 16, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the level of protection it provides and that it comes standard on most operating systems I have used
What do you dislike?
It can get a little annoying and can bog down your computer
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Use just for standard anti-virus protection. Benefits are as expected
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's a very good anti-virus system and will protect your system. Just become familiar with all the settings and if you actually need it. It comes with a lot of fluff that can bog down your computer.


    Lan L.

Symantec Endpoint Protect for antivirus and firewall solution

  • July 28, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
To central management: antivirus protection, live update, firewall and deploy policy to restrict unlicense software. All of features in one software. I love the policy to restrict the unlicense software and portable software which excute by user without permission by IT admin. Full protection for our business.
What do you dislike?
When deep scan all partitions, it consumes high CPU and RAM when full scanning, effect to productivity.
Must to change the scan schedule on day off.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
To protect my PC and LAN network without virus. Latest update pattern via live update from Symantec server which improve our internet bandwidth. To restrict the unlicense software and portable software which excute by user without permission by IT admin. Full protection for our business


    vignesh B.

Its a very good intelligence product to prevent risk and reality based attack

  • July 24, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Its is combo product which contains all related to endpoint, scanning malware like any thing, its a wonderful product,
What do you dislike?
Need to to be improve fetching real time reports and Dashboard customisation , need to extend embedded Database capacity , Need to improve client UI console
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We restricted Zero Day attacks by SEPM as well as ransomer attacks , agent server communication sensitive is higher. we are able to maintain good standard HIPA .
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Good


    Trang P.

Symantec Endpoint Protection with live update

  • July 10, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Live update feature in internal network, reduce the bandwith
What do you dislike?
High utilization CPU and RAM for PC slow spec.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Symantec Endpoint Protection, with live update feature. This is very usefull feature, same as WSUS windows. It can download from Symantec server and update the latest version, it reduces the internet network bandwith.


    David M.

Antivirus from a past generation

  • July 10, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Central management is nice. Deployment is quite easy through it (after you make firewall exceptions etc. Updating clients is easy as well
What do you dislike?
Not very user friendly. Making policies can be dangerous - you have to be VERY careful, as it's not very explicit on what devices are covered. We had a situation where we tried to disable USB storage, yet it disabled a LOT of USB keyboards/mouse other devices. No real setup support from the get-go. Capture rate wasn't great. We don't have a terrible infection rate, but ran across a few low impact problems that it didn't detect, or didn't detect originally, so once it found them it was a manual process to remove.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The need for antivirus protection. We were hoping to use this to fill a gap for both antivirus protection and some endpoint control. However the endpoint control component tends to be obtrusive and problematic, as it changes firewall settings and really just didn't live up to the need for comprehensive protection.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Look for something next gen. SEP is too old school, and without a complete re-write it's unsufficient to meet the current threat landscape.


    Vinh L.

Best software

  • July 04, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Best software for firewall and live update
What do you dislike?
difficult to configure and price very expensive.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Control the network and virus, protect USB and deploy program very usefull.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Good firewall


    SURYAKANT S.

Symantec Endpoint Protection Manager review

  • June 28, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
i would like more features in Symantec Endpoint Protection Manager 14 better than other products which i know about. we can find the endpoint protection complete details like operating system, storage and other availability. So i strongly recommend to use this antivirus to protect small and enterprise organisations. Sonar feature will detect as Zero-Day attacks by hackers.
What do you dislike?
i have not seen dislike features on Symantec product. Symantec needs to improve push deployment tool because when we deploying the agent need to check the operating system bits.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
i have facing in my organisation duplicate entries are created on Symantec Endpoint Protection Manager


    Karthik C.

Endpoint Security for Enterprise

  • June 22, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Insight lookup , Device Control and USB blocking,
What do you dislike?
URL and content filtering is not present.3rd party DB integration should be added.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are able track and quarantine the Viruses attacks which is efficient than other competitors.


    Computer & Network Security

SEP review

  • June 22, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The new version has a better performance and is more lighter.
Better communication with Symantec Endpoint Manager.
Symantec Endpoint Manager console most faster.
Better remote installation process.
What do you dislike?
many issues relative to installation process in the last version of Windows 10.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Protecting windows client computer with advanced antimalware
Establishing a better firewall rules to protect network endpoints.


    Information Technology and Services

Good endpoint protection

  • June 19, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
SEP 14 has a advanced machine learning ,insight, sonar and good firewall features and ids ips also there.A combined test of ordinary use cases found that a Norton installation causes a system slowdown of about four seconds, caused by the anti-virus program checking each file before running it.offer a wide range of customizable features, allowing you to change the depth and breadth of the virus scan's searches. Norton also includes a number of tools for protecting and recovering your computer, such as a bootable recovery tool for restoring your PCs in an emergency.
What do you dislike?
We have Endpoint and I have seen it block things and delete things, but if someone gets infected bad it can't handle it and we have to wipe the computer. The first coarse of action is to get it off the network.
As a company as a whole we have never had a bad intrusion company wide.
I can give my opinion as far as what we purchase but it is up to the security department what we end up with. If I could decide I think I would give Set a try.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
confidential data prevention. best security to the endpoint machines. and also provide security on network base. everyday new DAT update find out the new virus and remove from client machine