Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Symantec Protection Engine for Cloud Services on Linux

Symantec | 8.2.2

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7.9 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

530 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    kishorilal S.

One of the best Antivirus with advance technology for threat detection like SONAR

  • April 06, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Symantec Endpoint Protection is User friendly, and having very good log collection method, centralized administration and virus reporting.. Also Symantec has very nice log collection utility like Symhelp and Norton Power Eraser tool to clean Root kits. Symantec is one of the best tool that i have worked so far and I appreciate the function of it which helps us to fix the virus issue quickly.
What do you dislike?
Report needs to be more flexible like getting non compliant machine reports, running automatic scripts for non complaint . It also affect the performance of machine hence many user dont like this.. There is reporting and automatic remediation of non complaint machine needs to be taken care.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We have proactively collected critical virus outbreaks like Ransomeware - W32.Ransome.Q and remdiated before it could complete infection and encrypt the disc,
Recommendations to others considering the product:
They should have better virus signatures and advanced features like NTP and SONAR


    Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Protects my Computer

  • February 11, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Sits in the background and only pops up when needed.
What do you dislike?
Not as user friendly as other antivirus software. New users aren't able to decipher alert messages.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Keeps computers safe.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Stay away from weird sites.


    Matthew G.

Capable and Customizable Enterprise Anti-Virus Solution

  • January 21, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Server centric model that allows quick and easy deployments to any computer within our company's network. Active Directory integration that allows you to use OUs for the grouping and customization of end-user security needs. Ability to create deployment packages easily through the Management Console for off site and remote users.
What do you dislike?
The actual Management Console application is a little slow and clunky. The back end uses a fairly poor DB system that also decreases performance and makes navigation within the console a little slow.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use SEP within our organization as a anti virus solution and also for the management of the end-user Firewall rules by Active Directory OUs.

We have found that using SEP for our firewall management takes that step out of the equation and lets us avoid using Windows Firewall and managing that through an additional step. We can easily create groups from the Active Directory integration and customize the Firewall through each OU. This could be done with Windows Firewall and Group Policy, but SEP helped eliminate that additional procedure.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Go through CDW or another retail for better volume pricing on licensing. Buying direct from Symantec does not yield good discounts.


    Joey T.

SEP12

  • January 14, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
This is pretty much a requirement at out site in order to allow our PC to be on the network. It allow security protection to our network and it is easy to update patches. Simply to use and it does not slow down our PCs.
What do you dislike?
Not much. This product has done everything we have ask. It is transparent to us as it is updated and runs in the background.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Network security has been an issue, with this product, it provide a level of protection that is transparent to the users. It don't slow down the PC.


    Management Consulting

Symantec has been a great antivirus software for our business

  • January 07, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Symantec has been an intuitive protection software that solves our business needs. We've been very satisfied with the anti-virus portions of the software and feel confident that our machines are well protected. One of the great features is that it isn't an overbearing program, so it works mostly in the background and you only really notice it when there is a direct threat. Other programs I've worked with in the past seem to always have pop-ups which can be very distracting and give a less sophisticated appearance.
What do you dislike?
I have yet to encounter any problems with the software as of yet in my experience.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
This software has solved our security issues related to malware and virus issues, which has saved us an incredibly amount of time and resources.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would highly recommend this software to companies looking for security protection, as well as to personal users looking for a good anti-virus software.


    Information Technology and Services

Technology Engineer III

  • January 06, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The pricing worked well for us given the number of clients we need. It wasn't a huge challenge to set up the infrastructure and we had a lot of technical help.
What do you dislike?
I do not like the console and the need for JAVA.
I would like to see more interactive analytical reporting tools built in to the base console design.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Symantec Endpoint is one of the many layers we use for security in our environment. It has a very well rounded set of solutions. Many times SEP has been the tool that has found the problem when the others passed over it.


    Bryan S.

Seriously stops hackers

  • January 04, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Symantec Endpoint Protection seemed to be the only product out there that actually defends against non-signature based attacks. It has a layered protection which keeps endpoints safe from malware, targeted attacks, and APT
What do you dislike?
It did seem a bit buggy at first on the client. In fact it slowed down the server pretty good. Fortunately it seems like the updates have included performance upgrades that made vast improvements on the UI and services.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The problem is that signature based protection alone is dead. As hackers become more sophisticated, the defenses must also become more sophisticated. Classical AV is not enough and this has been solved by using the Symantec Endpoint Protection product.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you want to stop hackers, then you might want to schedule a webex to learn more about this product.


    Information Technology and Services

User Of Symantec

  • December 27, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Find Unmanaged Computers--You can scan a whole range of IP address..which will find your computers..no need to specify any name leave that blank..You can deploy as many clients you want.
Migration and Deployment wiz--Click ok Domain click Add--Supply Domain admin credentials--s,-Skip the offline client it will add all your machines ( except the ones which cannot be contacted ) then you can start the deployment on all of them at once.
Can do GPO deployment
What do you dislike?
Database size
Replication intervals are huge
More resources are required like Additional OS with minimum system requirements etc
SQL database may required additional license.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Easy Management of clients As PCs are joined to the domain, they *should* automatically move to the correct group.
Easy to know if any clients have SEP client installed or not.


    Jake G.

Virus protection Review

  • December 17, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The level of protection and real time scanning without slowing down my computer
What do you dislike?
I dislike virus protection software being able to prevent me from installing anything else if it is running in real time protection.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are solving the problem of accidentally downloading viruses. I haven't seen any benefits per se, but i know without it we could have some issues within our organization.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would say that this is definitely one of the better virus protection software options available. If you are unsure of which product to use, this is always a good choice. It does everything you need to be proactive about accidental downloads and spam emails. It does the job very well.


    Tyler D.

Overall Good Antivirus and Spyware Protection

  • December 17, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I really like that Symantec is easy to setup and manage. Does not require much to get ready for use. It has been very reliable for me and the people I work with. Cant really say anything bad about it at this time.
What do you dislike?
There is noting I really do not like about Symantec.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Our organization primarily uses it for antivirus, web, network, and spyware protection. Every company computer has it installed during the imaging process
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I hear a lot of mixed reviews about Symantec vs other antivirus programs. Our company does not experience a lot of virus or malware problems so it fits our needs. My only suggestion would be to do the research before settling on a system as this may not fit your needs entirely.