Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Symantec Protection Engine for Cloud Services on Linux

Symantec | 8.2.2*

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7.9 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

483 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Orhun K.

Successful Solution in Symantec Endpoint Protection

  • September 08, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Thanks to the Admin interface of the product, you can keep track of which client is old and needs to be updated. This way, you can keep all clients updated against new threats.
What do you dislike?
I think the license fees are very expensive. Renewing existing licenses alone is both complicated and expensive.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Symantec EndPoint Protection is an Antivirus solution that we use on our company computers and some servers. We protect all our endpoint client devices against threats with this product. In addition, by turning off the USB ports of PCs with SEP, we can prevent threats that may come with USB sticks.


    Ozkan Taylan H.

All My Experiences with SEP

  • September 08, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I think SEP is a real investment product. Because you can use the product easily even in old windows operating systems. I also see comments on some forums like it uses a lot of CPU and RAM resources. If the PC you are using is old, it is almost impossible to operate with this computer even with applications that use some RAM resources. So in summary, this is not the case with SEP. On Intel's 2nd or AMD's Ryzen 1st generation PCs, you never feel the product running in the background.
What do you dislike?
The worst part of the product in my opinion is that the license form and price is high. The fact that there is a lot of difference between competitors makes you think when choosing the product. Ben Symantec firm needs to show its pricing policy.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
With the product, we protect our company computers against viruses and threats from the internet.


    Bilge A.

Reliable Protection and Rapid Threat Detection

  • September 08, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
What the product does best is that it can quickly detect and block malware and virus threats. It can prevents infection of such threats, especially through e-mail and USB flash drives. It is really very successful to be able to do this job without any damage to the file, especially while preventing these threats.
What do you dislike?
The worst thing about SEP is that it uses a lot of system memory. This negatively affects the performance of your computer. Using too many resources makes some programs very slow to open and use. This is a situation that negatively affects our business. I think Symentec should find a solution to this problem soon.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
This product of Symentec is used as an endpoint solution in all our company's computers. Especially due to the pandemic period, almost all of our employees connect with VPN from home to the company. This forces them to access the internet from an unsecured home network. With the SEP, we have brought an important solution to this problem. In addition, this product is used in our company's servers on the DMZ side. This provides important protection against malicious threats coming from the internet.


    Yagiz B.

Security that your clients and servers need with SEP

  • September 08, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
SEP offers the best solution in endpoint protection. It is constantly up-to-date and provides effective protection against threats. The best part of the product is that it centralizes client management. In this way, we are able to manage clients' access such as USB and website from a single management interface.
What do you dislike?
I think the worst part of the product is that it causes some difficulties in computers with low configurations (insufficient CPU, RAM resources). In such PCs, SEP slows down the system a lot while running in the background.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The product is used in areas specific to our organization such as IT Security and IT Infrastructure, and is used as a protection tool in all clients and workstations.


    Birol S.

Safe Front Line Protection with SEP

  • September 08, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
In addition to providing ease of use in managing security warnings, the product contains the least downloaded false positives. However, the product provides a very good endpoint protection with fast malware and virus detection. In addition, continuous updates provide effective protection for endpoint PCs against new threats.
What do you dislike?
The product uses too many PC resources. Therefore, while SEP is running in the background, the performance of the PC decreases. Also, the management consul is a bit complicated. Therefore, it is not that easy to use. Especially in these two areas, the product should be developed further.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
With the product, we made our company's end-user computers more secure against threats from the internet and other media. In addition, we can detect malicious behavior by reporting users' traffic on the web.


    Hasret H.

Symantec EP: Safe, Fast and Always Up-to-Date

  • September 08, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The product is easy to use, maintain and easy to install. I think the best thing about SEP is the configuration management of all clients from the central server. This way, you can easily configure endpoint clients from the central server.
What do you dislike?
Migrating or upgrading to a new server is very difficult in SEP. Another disadvantage of the product is that it uses a lot of resources (CPU and RAM). Sometimes I think it slows down the computer .
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use the product to prevent unauthorized persons' USB flash memory connection on our company's computers and to protect them against threats from the internet. In this way, we have secured our endpoint devices.


    Events Services

Really good and decent protection software

  • September 04, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I started using Symantec Endpoint Protection a few years ago. The software is very effective and it has kept me safe until now. The functionality is simple, just install and follow the steps indicated. The software shows its efficiency and protects in a decent way.
What do you dislike?
Symantec Endpoint Protection doesn't have any issues. The software is effective.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
My experience with this product from the user's perspective is really good. It is really safe and runs without any problems.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Very good software and easy to install and use.


    Events Services

Best professional solution for endpoint protection

  • September 02, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like that Symantec performs very well in protecting against viruses and other threats. The user dashboard is very clean and provides an excellent overview of the current protection status. The installation and configuration went quickly and the process was very intuitive. The software runs invisibly in the taskbar and it doesn’t use too many system resources.
What do you dislike?
The renewal process can be a bit complicated. Fortunately the support team helped me a out in the renewal process.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We tried several other software solutions but Symantec is one of the best protection software on the market and it isn't costly.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I can highly recommend Symantec because of its excellent protection and reputation.


    Neeraj K.

Deliver peer to peer security of the network.

  • August 31, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best part about Symantec Endpoint protection software is that it includes intrusion prevention, anti-malware, and firewall features, all in one. Compatible across all computers and servers. It is pretty fast and also, runs in the background, which indeed is a great factor to consider. The software doesn’t need downloaded system resources to run. Also, it provides central management which is easy to use. Granular control for each and every sector is great indeed. The software is customizable which makes it ideal for a wide range of devices.
What do you dislike?
The implementation of the software is pretty complex, unlike the usage of it. Threat solution for mobile devices can be pretty confusing. Having an individual solutions for individual problems will be pretty helpful.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The software indeed is a one-step solution when security is concerned. Easy to use and compatible with the majority of servers and devices that make it ideal for most of the organizations. Therefore, solving the few bugs will surely make it a forerunner. Symantec Endpoint Protection ensures complete security. However, the implementation of the software is pretty confusing and difficult. It will be great to have a few bugs fixed. It is a reliable software and provides complete protection against cyber threats. Provides accurate reports and analytics.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The security of the network is a highly concerned matter for all the organizations. We have been using Symantec Endpoint Protection for a long time in our organization. I would agree to recommend it to others.


    Muge A.

The best protection of users and servers within the company

  • August 18, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
With device control, we can turn off our users' usb ports. Thus, we control data breaches.
What do you dislike?
Firewall feature on SEP does not work, it is useless.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We install it as a signature-based antivirus system on the PCs of all our users. We use it to prevent malicious software that can infect our users.