Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Symantec Protection Engine for Cloud Services on Linux

Symantec | 8.2.2

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7.9 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

530 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Financial Services

Symantec Endpoint Protection

  • December 11, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like that the product is easy to use and the virus definitions are updated often.
What do you dislike?
I cannot think of anything right now as I believe this product does what it is supposed to do very well.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Symantec Endpoint Protection is helping us protect our systems and network from frequent virus'.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Symantec is very good about updating the definitions in a timely manner. It is a very easy product to administer. When there are issues Support is very helpful and responds in a timely manner.


    Machinery

Quick Review of the Symantec Endpoint Protection

  • November 27, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I feel the enterprise management capabilities of the SEP Manager works well.
Allows the monitoring and distribution of definitions updates internally with their Group update Provider mechanism.
What do you dislike?
The definitions take up way too much space when deflated on the clients.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The security officers like the Insight Threat protection as well as the blocking of executables.


    Airlines/Aviation

Symantec Endpoint Protection & Manager (SEP & SEPM)

  • November 17, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Best protection against malware. Great Engine with decades of experience built into it.
What do you dislike?
Administration. SEPM java based management console is slow and often unresponsive and the inability to tie into Active Directory Sites and Services for subnet and location management makes it harder to manage remote sites.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
SEP provides our workstations with the last and trusted level of protection against virus.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
There are other choices out there that provide easier management. But when it comes to operating system protection against malware, SEP does what it does best, provides protection.


    Umar S.

Does the job while staying in the background - most of the times

  • October 15, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Fast scans and accurate analysis. Great feeling to have SEP installed in my PC
What do you dislike?
Sometimes, the background scan window would show up and there is no way to hide it. Even after the scan is done the window would still be there waiting for me to close it. This kind of defeats the purpose of background scan.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Virus protection, malware protection
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Take some time to understand all the features and how to configure them properly to get the most out of this product.


    Stephen S.

Symantec Endpoint Protection

  • October 08, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The management console is excellent. It provides more information than just current antivirus status. We are able to use this tool to determine additional computer information, which we use instead of looking in multiple other locations.

We also make use of the antivirus reports to determine problematic users and computers. This information has allowed us to address potential security vulnerabilities more quickly.
What do you dislike?
I do not have anything to list. Maybe the price, but as I have said elsewhere - you get what you pay for. There are less expensive alternatives but once you add the savings in technicians time this seems moot to me.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
This provides our primary AV protection. It is also a console for quickly gathering information about a system.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is worth the cost. Management alone makes the price much more reasonable. And support is phenomenal.


    Jared T.

A Hefty Security Program - The good, bad and ugly

  • October 06, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Symantec does a good job of offering many different security options and they all work well.
What do you dislike?
The size of the application. Symantec seems to be twice as big as most other security programs that do the same.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Symantec keeps us completely updated from all security risks. The product also work seamlessly with our firewall that we already have in place.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would recommend Symantec if the user is looking for a robust security program that offers them many admin abilities, unlike a lot of other smaller security programs.


    Zaki R.

Provides awesome protection and scanning

  • July 14, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Centrally managed business endpoint security
Useful deployment wizard.
Small install package.
Effective anti-malware.
What do you dislike?
it's performance in terms of the resource hit that it puts on the PC is terrible an it consumes an ABSURD amount of hard drive space on SBS 2008
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Used it as a gateway to internal infrastructure
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is practical for large enterprises but a bit of overkill for the average small business.


    Sunny L.

A Whole Company Protected

  • July 09, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The features that I like best about Symantec Endpoint Protection is that it offers relativity good protection without taking up too much memory. This virus protection software also runs in the background so you are always safe from potential online threats.
What do you dislike?
The features that I dislike about Symantec Endpoint Protection are that it requires you to restart your computer on every update. Occasionally, this virus software will focus me to stop my work just so it can update its protection software.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The business problems that I am solving are having a good security system to protect my company's data. The benefits that I have realized are the prevention of online theft.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would definitely recommend others to use Symantec Endpoint Proteciton.


    William S.

SEPM 12

  • July 08, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Offers good protection and is effective for viruses and malware protection..
What do you dislike?
Not the most intuitive interface. Search function needs improvement. I compare this to McAffee which I used for years as well. IPS seems to interfere w/a lot of out of the box Microsoft OS features.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Malware and AV protection
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make sure you test the configuration before deployment.


    Printing

Symantec Endpoint Protection review

  • June 30, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Simple, easy to use client. Deploying SEP either through an image or off of our network went without a hitch. Instructing users on how to run a scan, or how to check how recent their definitions are isn't difficult. Have not had issues deploying the client, or definitions to keep client up to date.
What do you dislike?
Exported information from the client is difficult to use in a report. I'd like to be able to do granular reports of what threats are found by department, down to the workstation. I wish there was an easy, consistent way to do an audit of how many agents have been deployed to keep track of licensing. Has missed some threats. Needed different software to detect and remove malware.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
My company uses a VPN solution that requires local admin access for laptop users, so it is essential for us to have software that effectively works against malicious downloads. SEP has kept the amount of busywork I've had to deal with when it comes to viruses, root kits, and malware down to a minimum.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Better reporting - hard to do licensing audits and quarterly threat assessments.