Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Symantec Protection Engine for Cloud Services on Linux

Symantec | 8.2.2

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7.9 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

530 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Phyllisia T.

Amazon here I come!

  • June 15, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like best that the application is easy to install and configure.
What do you dislike?
I do not have enough experience with the application to confidently say I have any dislikes.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are solving the business problems of our network load.


    Information Technology and Services

SEP for PCI

  • June 12, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The SEP agent is flexible for a vast array of OS including functionality for embedded OS as well. Great for the PCI environment. The scope the agent covers is great for compliance if implemented correctly. Lightweight agent too!
What do you dislike?
Sometimes the updates don't cycle properly but a restart of services fixes that or when in doubt reboot. Every now an again there's inconsistency with policy and hte agent can be quirky like most agent based software. It would be nice if they moved this to a full SEP for cloud. The current cloud version is stripped down and doesn't offer the same functionality.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
SEP is assisting our company fill the needs of PCI compliance meeting IDS/IPS needs, AV, Tamper protection.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Do your due diligence and fully test the competitors on the market. SEP will undoubtedly meet or exceed those.


    Akash M.

My review for Symantec

  • June 12, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
we are using Symantec endpoint protection 12 server and 200 clients.
it gives us network and local servers adn system threat protection.
What do you dislike?
its not update on Linux systems automatically.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
clients not update automatically so we upgrade Symantec endpoint protection.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
i will give recommendation.


    Abel R.

A returned user

  • June 11, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The Manager console and the intuitive interface.
What do you dislike?
The Updated Communication Settings on Remote Computers, the client deployment packages can only be used on limited number of computers. If you selected more than 12 it will failed. (this is an issue that other users has been talking about it online) It makes this process harder because you will have to run it several times to cover just one ip address range.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Just one person can manage an antivirus solution for an organization with many computer devices.


    Mcneil F.

Great product does the Job

  • June 11, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of implementation, provides support for all threats
What do you dislike?
Support has to improve , difficult to find someone when neded
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Virus protection , spam


    Anthony P.

Good for what it is but should be better considering the cost associated.

  • June 11, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy deployment and management of clients
What do you dislike?
Misses a good amount of malicious items in malware and virus protection
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Management of devices across multiple locations


    Information Technology and Services

SEP Administrator review hands on experience

  • June 11, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
if and when SEP detects a virus is usually can remove it
What do you dislike?
the management system is a nightmare to navigate, migration from one version to another, the remote install of the client is just a shamble of a mess, virus detection is rudimentary at best, the client software is bolted, the SEP database is 29GB Symantec said its normal, no adware and spyware detection. only 10 viruses detected in 365 days almost not worth the money as free AV could to the same job
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
keeps the network free of viruses infections.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Stay away


    Carlton B.

My experience was helping to rid a nasty virus from a network that had over 3000 PC's connected.

  • June 10, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to configure and worked wonderfully. Working as a contractor for a university medical center that had contracted a really nasty virus which infected the network. There were 3000 workstations at this school and about 60 percent of them were infected. Some of the PC's were re-imaged, others cleaned up using antivirus software, and still others had to be replaced as they were not powerful enough to run SEP. SEP was used to protect the network and all PC's after this virus was eradicated. The school has not had another virus since that time. That lets me know that SEP is top of the line.
What do you dislike?
Not much to dislike with a product that works that good.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Less down time which means employee productivity is up.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would recommend Symantec Endpoint Protection to anyone who can't decide which product to use.


    Information Technology and Services

Be Careful Who You Ask For a Review

  • June 10, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Centralized Administration - I like being able to setup everything in 1 place and control all the nodes from there.
What do you dislike?
NO LICENSING FLEXIBILITY, ITS HORRENDOUS. I built a SEP Server VM in a Hyper-V environment thinking I would be able to P2V the VM to my production VMware environment after I got all of my clients migrated over......NOPE!! YOUR SOFTWARE IS SO IN-FLEXIBLE I HAVE TO BUILD A NEW SERVER AND DO ANOTHER MIGRATION. FORGET IT!! I'M LOOKING AT OTHER SOFTWARE PACKAGES.

The ONLY piece of Symantec Software left that I would recommend to anyone is Ghost.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Keeping a clean network. Benefits have been minimal since THERE IS NO FLEXIBILITY TO MOVE THE PRODUCT FROM ONE HOST TO ANOTHER BECAUSE YOUR LICENSING SCHEME IS BOVINE EXCREMENT.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
YOU HAVE NOT ADAPTED YOUR SOFTWARE TO VIRTUALIZED INFRASTRUCTURES WITH YOUR HORRENDOUS LICENSING SCHEME. IT RANKS RIGHT UP THERE WITH OBAMACARE FOR PETE'S SAKE. I SHOULD BE ABLE TO HAVE MY SEP SERVER BE MOBILE. I HAVE A DR/BACKUP SOLUTION THAT ALLOWS ME TO STAND UP MY VM'S INSIDE OF IT WHEN/IF MY PRODUCTION SERVERS GO DOWN. CAN I STAND YOUR'S UP??? HELLLLL NOOOOOO.....I HAVE TO BUILD A BRAND NEW SERVER AND MIGRATE ALL OF MY CLIENTS OVER. THAT IS POOR.


    Frank A.

SEP Admin

  • June 10, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It was easy to install the Manger and deploy clients
What do you dislike?
Nothing comes to mind... does its job effectively
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Maintaining a secure and virus free environment. The entire environment can be updated and maintained from one central location.