Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Symantec Protection Engine for Cloud Services on Linux

Symantec | 8.2.2

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7.9 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

530 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Kevin M.

Good enough. Wish it was better.

  • June 09, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Symantec Endpoint Protection seems to work most of the time.
What do you dislike?
We image/redeploy computers all the time and I find it difficult/confusing to know how many licenses I actually have deployed.

The installation/deployment process is confusing/obtuse, also.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Providing acceptable endpoint protection. No major failure - yet.


    Information Technology and Services

A solid Mid Tier Product for small to medium size enterprises

  • June 09, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Intuitive and easy to use from an end user perspective. Definitions were released and updated without issues.
What do you dislike?
Seemed to use a lot of resources at times. Doesn't seem ideal for large corporation. Seems better suited for small companies. IT Management seems less than ideal. Detection seemed to miss some threats. Products such as Malware Bytes would detect threats that SEP had missed.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Creating and maintaining a secure environment. Easy of administration, cost and overall security are the main goals that were trying to be achieved.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Good product for the right sized environment. Products such as McAfee ePO Seem a better fit for large enterprises.


    Robert P.

Symantec Suite

  • June 09, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
In the Suite I like the Brightmail Virtual Email Appliance.
What do you dislike?
Creating new installs for my clients after SEP manager is updated.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The Symantec suites has provided me a versatile way to manage many clients in many different departments all from the management server. Not to mention a highly effective spam and virus email filter that runs in ESXi. The Suite literally gives you an entire suite of enterprise security features that no business should go without.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Definitely invest in the suite to take advantage of all of the different features at one low rate.


    Dave B.

Solid encryption product with a decent admin UI

  • June 09, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to use and deploy. Simply administrative UI.
What do you dislike?
Lack of reporting for compliance. Finding users based on groups can be a bit annoying.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Compliance requirements. We are now much less concerned with general equipment loss not that it's unbreakable but it would take a much more focused effort to steal data from any lost equipment.


    James K.

Opinion of SEP from the eyes of a small business IT Consultant

  • June 09, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Management Console is one of the best in the business. It is very easy to get access to things you need to see quickly, like endpoint health and licensing details.

Deployment tools make applying client software to endpoints out in the network very easy.

SEP has great support. You will be talking to a knowledgeable tech very quickly. And, if you are patient, they will teach you something!
What do you dislike?
On the SEPM server, the definitions directory can take up a significant amount of space when they are not truncating properly. This is a common occurrence with 12.1.4, but 12.1.5 and 12.1.6 may have improved on this flaw.

Sometimes, it really seems like it doesn't always catch things. Sometimes I have a workstation flaking out, I run a Malwarebytes and SuperAntiSpyware scan, and it finds nasty stuff. Why SEP missed it is anyone's guess.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I am an IT consultant for numerous clients. Most clients are small businesses. SEP is the recommended antivirus solution for my clients that are in need of a managed AV solution.

Benefits realized (for my clients):
1. Centralized, managed control over AV health
2. Easy deployment tools
3. Great support
4. Free product updates with a current license
5. Cleaner, safer network


    Sameer M.

Symantec is the best in the buisness

  • June 08, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of use, Threat con, policies that can go granular, command status monitoring, push deployments, app and device control, centralized management
What do you dislike?
I believe Symantec should work on a tool that can be used from a central location to un install 3rd party Antivirus software's and uninstall its own older versions, so clean installations using the push deployments can be performed, I work for many large environments and upgrades some times does not go well, so the way we push deploy the client component there should be a way to un install any 3rd party antivirus software's or Symantec's own pervious versions.

and exporting of reports to excel spreadsheets such as inventory reports must be improvised.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I work for a an IT service provider, and deal with multiple customers, where requirements are different, implementations, but regardless of requirements SEP is a solution I find can be moulded as per the requirements and to the customers satisfaction.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
My personal experience with SEP is very very good, if any one remembers back in 2012-2013 we had an outbreak of a Virus named NIMDA, back then no other software was able to eliminate it, except Symantec corporate edition, it actually saved my job, it was a better product back then and Symantec continues to make it better, I truly have fully confidence in Symantec. makes my job easier and worry free even today.


    Akshat K.

It's a great experience to work on Symantec Endpoint Protection Server

  • June 06, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Configuration, deployment & management is user friendly and easy.
What do you dislike?
One thing I would like Symantec to work on is the licensing issue, whenever there is a need to reinstall any machine and when Symantec is reinstalled then it counts that machine as an extra license whereas it should detect the hostname and activate the client under same license.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
As we are aware that users do not know how a website or an application will act on their machine as there is no test environment available to them. And we are aware that internet is full of threats, malwares, malicious applications which gets auto downloaded on user machines.

We find Symantec Endpoint Protection as an efficient protector for these situations and alerts the administrator too about the client end.


    Richard M.

Try out free anti virus programs before you get sucked into Symantec.

  • June 05, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Nothing really. I guess it looks pretty.
What do you dislike?
Where do I start. It doesn't do what it is supposed to do: Stop viruses. An enterprise software solution should be able to at least detect a virus, any virus running on a computer.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I work in IT. I ve worked with Symantec virus protection for close to 10 years. SEP is a resource hog, is a crappy virus scanner / removal tool. There are free tools that work much better.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
From buying it, to installing the full server install, workstations and renewals is a pain in the ass.


    Denny S.

STAY FAR AWAY

  • June 04, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Absolutely nothing about this product is likeable.
What do you dislike?
Everything. The bloated installer. The ridiculous amounts of RAM needed to run the server. The databases that grow and grow and grow without any regard for size constraints. The licensing (difficult to understand). Lack of a cloud option. Lack of other options found in other vendors (like web filtering). Clients that don't always respond to server commands. Basically, the last "good" version of this program was version 10. Ever since they went to this cartoony interface it's been *horrid*.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I've solved the problem of using this software by switching to a cloud-based product. This new product works *wonderfully* and does not require that I house my own servers. As such, I've seen the issues I faced with symantec dissappear overnight (databases that would grow and fill up the server for no reason, antivirus definitions that were waaaaay out of data but still being stored on the server, reports that not only make sense but are much easier to generate).
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Don't. Just don't. Go find another vendor. Look for ones that offer the option to use a cloud based control panel.


    Information Technology and Services

Quiet but effective

  • June 04, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Takes very few system resources. It doesn't noticeably affect system performance.
What do you dislike?
I haven't seen a single incident of virus or other affection though.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
End point protection-namely workstations and laptops.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I think it's effective.