Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

NAKIVO Backup & Replication - Free Trial & BYOL

NAKIVO | 10.5.1u1

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 18.04 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 1
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

202 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Mike G.

Nakivo Backup & Replication Easy to use VM backup software

  • March 05, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
it was easy to setup and use. The tutorials walk you through pretty much everything you need to know.
What do you dislike?
There isn't much to dislike. The layout and menu aren't the best but the product works well.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We needed an offsite backup for our most mission critical servers. We can always buy equipment but not the data.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It was one of the easier network software implementations I've had.


    Simon G.

Great Tool for vmware backup

  • March 01, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
1. Installation and setup is super easy
2. Easy to use UI to setup and manage jobs
3. Works reliable
What do you dislike?
The reports send out by mail could be prettier.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Backup of VM's to offsite location.


    Information Technology and Services

Simple, Fast und cost-efficient, NAKIVO !

  • February 28, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The amazing backup performance and the simple configuration.
What do you dislike?
That there is no option to configure a shutdown before capture the snapshot.
(This would be very helpfull for VM´s with active PCI passtrough devices.)
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It reduces the downtime significantly in case of a desaster.


    Information Technology and Services

Awsome software for backing up your homelab

  • February 26, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
1) Ease of use
I installed Nakivo on my Synology NAS for backing up guest on my ESX host. Installation was super easy and the GUI is very easy to understand. CBT works great for incrementral backups and the backups/restores are very fast and reliable. I've used the NFR-licens for about a year so I have tried many of it's functions.

2) Support
I had some problems with Nakivo and vmfs6 and the support guys actually setup a conference call to help me solve it.
What do you dislike?
Nothing really. If there is something I don't understand I just have to ask the support team.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I have a small number of VM's that I need to protect. Nakivo makes it hassle-free and I don't have to worry about my data.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try it out, you'll be suprised


    James R.

NAKIVO Small Business Implementation

  • February 26, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Intuitive interface that runs within the web browser of your QNAP or on-premise storage solution. A calendar displays the backup schedule so that you can prioritize backups effectively. NAKIVO was fast and easy to install and deploy on both our QNAP and Synology storage devices.
What do you dislike?
It takes a bit of research to understand the transporters required for different applications. However, the default installation comes with a generic transporter for basic functionality.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
On premises backup and restoration of internal VM's. Restoration of VM's is very fast and can be managed within the GUI. There are multiple restoration points (depending on the quantity of backups you store) that can be used to restore a VM to a safe timestamp. Implementation was much faster for us than other product offerings like Veeam.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Excellent product if you're looking for fast implementation.


    Yuri T.

VMWare Expert in Cloud Hosting Provider

  • February 22, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Simple and powerful solution for VMWare Backup. Easy deploy, just work.
What do you dislike?
Need more modern user interface, no more dislike
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Backup solution for our clients (private cloud)
Recommendations to others considering the product:
yes


    Harry D.

Fast en simple

  • February 22, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The interface is good and very clean. Easy to use, and good for educational purposes.
What do you dislike?
Its is only for VM backup, there is no option for a file backup.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Backup from all the VMS that are in a cluster.


    Ryan M.

Works great for Hyper-V - Fast & Efficient

  • February 21, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Nakivo works cleanly and efficiently when backing up Hyper-V VMs. The software does well with a mixed environment of Linux and Windows VMs, and deduplication and compression make off-site backups viable. Restoring VMs from off-site or on-site storage was painless and easy.

Initially I was concerned that the several TB of VM data we had would be too much for off-site backups, but deduplication coupled with heavy compression brought this down to only a few hundred GB when uploading to Azure File Storage.

The software is quite flexible in that you can either use an SMB file store, or configure a light-weight VM in Azure with Nakivo's transporter installed for better security / more efficient transport when doing off-site backups. Using Backup Copy jobs allows you to keep nice and consistent backups.
What do you dislike?
There's not much to dislike. I have found the Linux transporter implementation to be a bit more robust than the Windows transporter in some scenarios, so I would recommend just setting up a Linux VM or using Nakivo's virtual appliance if you're running VMWare. It's very light on resources.

One thing I found is that if you trigger another job after successfully completing a job, the second job inherits the schedule of the first one (thus, if the first job executes every day of the week, so will the triggered job that follows it). You can't select that they only occur on certain days, so if you need to distribute off-site backups throughout a week, for example, this is a bit difficult. It may be possible to achieve this with Pre and Post job scripts, however I haven't looked into this. (You can execute scripts that run before and after a job).

Lastly, if I'm going to struggle to find other issues, I'd only suggest that they replace the background image in their web UI. Usually you'd just access it on a local browser, but if you view the window in Remote Desktop (for whatever reason - you really should just connect with your browser) the image doesn't compress well and it's not a great experience. Switching the image out to a solid color solves this.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
On-site and off-site backups. The data compression, deduplication and low resource usage is very nice.


    Kevin R.

NAKIVO Backup & Replication, quick & easy setup

  • February 19, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Purchased a Synology Diskstation and partnered it with NAKIVO Backup & Replication. Perfect combination. Integrated with the Synology, NAKIVO installation took just a few minutes. And it was super easy.
What do you dislike?
No dislikes at all. SUPER EASY! TRUELY SIMPLE
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
NAKIVO gives us peace of mind and data security. Anyone running a small business VMware vCenter should grab NAKIVO for a solid, quick and easy solution. Up and running in minutes.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Number 1 pick, search no further.


    Sylvain F.

Amazing backup solution

  • February 19, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like the simplicity of managing all the aspects of backup, restore and replications. Many amazing features such as Flash boot (booting a backup in 12 seconds) and individual file access. Backup to the cloud works like a charm and was setup without effort, as everything is handled within Nakivo. Incremental backup and use of VmWare CBT reduces backup time a LOT! Deduplication reduces storage space a LOT! Support is fantastic, prompt replies and relevant answers.
What do you dislike?
So far, not much. Maybe the fact that Transporters running on Synology cannot be used directly to Recover files individually. But work around exists.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Getting rid of tape backups infrastructure that is getting old. Having a backup solution that supports 3-2-1 backup startegy, where I have my backups locally, and a copy out in the cloud.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I found no pitfalls, so not recommandations at the moment....