Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

TIBCO Jaspersoft Reporting and Analytics for AWS (BYOL)

TIBCO Software Inc. | 7.5.1

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2017.03.1 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

2 AWS reviews

External reviews

48 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Philip M.

Great BI and Reporting solution, especially for embedded BI

  • August 09, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Jaspersoft is great at being embedded. We have done this numerous times in various contexts. Visualize.js is a great step forward here. The license model has neither a user nor a report "tax". You can have as many users as required, which is great for embedded BI in the public space.
The domain designer makes it easy to provide access to even non-standard-SQL datasources such as Salesforce.
The Jaspersoft Studio report designer gives us the flexibility to create pixel-perfect reports (or as good as) when the Ad-hoc reporting isn't enough.
What do you dislike?
Ad-hoc Reports still lack visualize embedding functionality and the domain security files could do with an editor.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We create all sorts of reporting, dashboarding and self-service solutions for our customers. These range from standard document templates for invoices to automatically generated product sheets and complex domains in the automotive accessory industry. Having the ETL component, we can also create specific reporting databases when the operational data is unsuitable for direct reporting.


    Inge Rune T.

Extremely versatile product, ranging from invoice printing to Self service BI

  • August 04, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
This product has the best integration platform I have seen.
Include the jar files in your project and make the most sophisticated document with HTML5 og PDF output.
Use the javascript API library called visualize.js to embed your reports from the Jasperserver on your webpages in minutes.
Let your users make their own report in minutes with little or no training, via the self service BI portal.
What do you dislike?
The package is missing any prediction or forecast functionality, Also the dashboard need more animated widgets with conditional formatting, like stoplights.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Make beatifyl vizualiation of logistic performance directly on the webpage.
Swap old fashion paper output, with modern style colorful graphical printout on any device or platform.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are look for a product to embed in an web/cloud type application. This Jaspersoft is for you.

If you are looking for prediction type of analyze, you need to look elsewhere, or combine with for example R.


    Gero P.

Great solution for reporting, dashboards and Embedding

  • July 28, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
* embedding capabilities (based on visualize.js)
* pixel-perfect reporting, reporting engine
* customizability
* architecture
* stability
* licence model (no fee per user)
* great ETL tool (Talend, in fact)
What do you dislike?
* somehow strange perception in the market, reducing Jaspersoft to the reporting engine (probably, because it is particularly well-know for that feature)
* OLAP (however, no longer of particual interest, at least for us). It's existing and working - but not really key strength of Jaspersoft
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
* stand-alone reporting and dashboarding based on operational databases and/or data warehouses (data vault etc.)
* report integration into applications
* embedded business intelligence: integration of reports, dashboards and ad-hoc into existing applications
* product development based on Jaspersoft (our product Reports for Intrexx)


    Robb H.

A great platform for our users to access our data.

  • March 29, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
This product has made a big impact in helping out customer base to access data and manage it. What has really made the biggest impact with our use of the product is the ease of training customers to branch out and create their own custom reports. We generate custom queries on a frequent basis, and for those applications that we have integrated Jaspersoft, our workload has decreased. What this ultimately boils down to are customers feeling like they can access our dataset with much more freedom.
What do you dislike?
We have been happy with the response from the Jasper team in fixing bugs, but it can take some time to address them at times. We have encountered some difficult interface issues, and while esoteric and not affecting the bulk of our user-base, they have caused frustration with a few of our "power users".
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We don't have to run as many custom queries to provide data to our customer base. About half of our applications with Jaspersoft integration use direct links to canned queries, the remaining provide an ad-hoc environment for user-based custom queries. Surprisingly, we have seen more traffic via the ad-hoc queries, which we initially believed would account for 10 to 20% usage. This has helped us move away from static query links and provide users with a more open query environment. Trying to sustain static queries was a bit more time consuming so we have noticed less effort maintaining our domains necessary for our ad-hoc reports.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Plan your domains carefully! We have found Jaspersoft to be very robust assuming you take the time to plan out your implementation with your database.


    Efrain S.

Jaspersoft: Excellent BI Tool

  • November 24, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
We implemented Jaspersoft as an "add-on" to our BMC Remedy implementation. Our project consisted of providing invoicing and printout support in Remedy Mid-Tier and also developing operational reporting and metrics for IT Management across our institution.

Some of my favorite things about Jaspersoft include: Java function support, ease of use while setting up the ETL processes, Highcharts features and ease of integration with other tools.
What do you dislike?
One of my biggest gripes with Jaspersoft was the lack of a built in "Top N" feature. This is a standard feature in most, if not all other Reporting solutions so it baffled me that this wasn't available out of the box. Writing complex reports with multiple datasources was easy in the Dashboard tool but not in Jaspersoft Studio. A fair amount of trial and error and time spent on trying to get multiple datasources to work in a report. But Jaspersoft Support was there with us and helped us figure it out.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The main 2 benefits were the initial goals of this implementation. Providing invoicing to customers via a seamless integration with our Remedy Applications, and also offer an enterprise metrics solution for up to the minute IT support data.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If your organization is in need of an easy to setup reporting solution, then Jaspersoft will be worth a try. If you are interested in data science and predictive analysis, then I would recommend you go elsewhere.


    Atif R.

Integration of repors with Visualize.js

  • November 21, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The integration is very simple in terms of development cost and technology complexity and learning curve. If your development team has skills with javascript then its a piece of cake to integrate jaspersoft report in your application
What do you dislike?
The maturity of the API needs improvement. Documentation is not 100% accurate and up to date
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
we have integrated jasper reports and dashboard inside web application. In case of Dashboards we have provided access to our customers so they can design as per their need and it get reflected immediately in web application
Recommendations to others considering the product:
They are continuously developing and improving their products so you can expect it be more richer in terms of features


    Steve O.

We've been using Jasper for several years and are quite happy with the results.

  • November 19, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
JasperStudio. Actually I like iReport better, but it's being replaced by Studio, so I use that. With Studio I can create complex reports with the latest graphs and charts. Simply click a button and the report is imported to the Jasper server where my users have access and can run the report.

We use a multi-tenant environment. We have 35 companies/customers with hundreds of individual users using Jasper.
What do you dislike?
Ad Hoc reports. This is not a problem with Ad Hoc itself though. The problem is my management wants us to get out of the report writing business. To that end we push our users to create their own Ad Hoc reports. Ad Hoc is not as powerful and flexible as report creation using Studio.

On the plus side, with each new release of Jasper Server the built-in functionality improves.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Moving our customers to creating their own reports. Ease of report creation. Where we do create reports the process is easier and faster than our in-house legacy system.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's tough to give a reason for a blanket recommendation without knowing what someone needs. I think it's a great tool, has multi-tenancy, and great customer support. There is an open source version to try at no cost. There's no reason not to at least play with it.


    Gary S.

Easy to use, easy to configure, we use Jaspersoft as our dedicated reporting module.

  • November 19, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The ease of integration that Jasper offers our application, amplifies our customers experience!
What do you dislike?
Hmm, I think the biggest issue I see are the questions about Jasper that go unanswered, things that aren't important enough to open a ticket, so you just want to hop online and see it that same question has been asked. Most of the time the question has been asked, but not answered, so I guess lack of a better community is the big downside.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use Jasper as a nicely formatted reporting tool for our Cyber Security Application. Our Customer success team can do some amazing things with the output, and our Customers are happy with the results.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Definitely worth a trial, Its good to have your expectations right in the open, right up front.


    Professional Training & Coaching

Jaspersoft Community Edition

  • November 16, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
We use Community Edition. It's open source and full-featured. Best of all, it allows our small application development/consulting company to provide production-level reports and real-time analytics using data contained in our clients' databases. We rely heavily on the Jasper Studio as a report designer and use it to create everything from tabular reports and business forms to dashboards.
What do you dislike?
We wish the Community Edition provided some of the features in the commercial edition, specifically the advanced BI widgets.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We build web specialized web applications for SMBs. Jasper Reports is a handy, zero-cost reporting plug-in for our apps.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Take it for a test spin. Consider the hosted edition if you don't want to dive into the technical details of implementing on your server.


    Retail

Very comprehensive and easy to use tool

  • February 13, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is an easy to use and versatile product. The interface is very intuitive for users with different background and enables business teams to create their own reporting without having to always involve IT. Fast in crunching big amounts of data.
What do you dislike?
Training and support section is sometimes too generic and requires a lot of digging to find the solution. Customizing specific aspects of reports layout can sometimes be troublesome, but there usually is a workaround.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use this for campaign reporting, linking all promotional history to customer data and transactions. The main benefit to the business side of the organization is that in addition to having a pre-defined dashboard we can easily customize and build our own reports since every promotion may have different specifics.