Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

TIBCO Jaspersoft Reporting and Analytics for AWS (BYOL)

TIBCO Software Inc. | 7.5.1

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2017.03.1 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

2 AWS reviews

External reviews

48 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Xing C.

Great BI tool with easy implementation

  • September 18, 2014
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
We like that JasperSoft offers a variety of implementation methods for different needs. We used Jasper reports in many different ways. Our internal users can view dashboard and reports directly through Japser Server. We can set up regular report delivery through their scheduler. We also have the JRXML files embedded directly in our other applications.
What do you dislike?

One issue I have is the limitation of columns in table elements. I sometimes have a report with 20+ columns that I have no way to set up in the template. Other than that, I am pretty satisfied with the tool overall.

Also, I really dislike their support portal which requires a total different login credential.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We used Jaspersoft to create a much more sophisticated template for one of our reports, our clients and we are both very happy with the results.

We were also able to create a tracking dashboard for the Exec team to view workload stats. Very helpful.


    Information Technology and Services

Jasper Review

  • September 11, 2014
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Pagination in the reports. Highly readable layout. Plenty of configuration and tuning options from the Jasper Server GUI. Ability to log debug information useful for troubleshooting. Highly presentable and useful dashboards buildable from the front end.
What do you dislike?
Only one SQL query per report.

Nothing seems automatic with Jasper iReport Designer: settings in the main report do not flow into table datasets. I have not tried the iReport replacement, Jasper Studio.

Workspace handling of temporary files in iReport, using long numeric names, makes is easy to overwrite the wrong report, and tricky recovering an overwritten report.

Debug logs are accessible only via the backend, using WinSCP or similar software. It would be nice having a front-end solution to view such information.

Only 2 execution threads in the base Jasper Server.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Building reports for tolling operations/finances. Clients are pleased with the layout of reports. They also are using those reports to make key decisions.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Jasper Server and its report designer software have proven to be a useful tool for providing reports and dashboards helping clients analyze and make decisions on their enterprise operations and finances. If Jasper can surmount the shortcomings cited in this review, the future is bright for them and their clients! Features cited currently not used on the BI tab of this review are slated to be deployed in the future.


    Mike O.

Japsersoft an excellent BI tool and great value

  • September 10, 2014
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
High end BI tool features at a very reasonable price. The software was easy to install, learn and use. My engineer was able to be productive in a couple hours.
What do you dislike?
The multi-tenancy solution was a effective but a bit clunky
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Provide real time graphical performance analytics to internal team members and external customers. This has dramatically reduced the amount of ad hoc report my data services team had to do.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Understand the problem your trying to solve and have well defined business & tool requirements. This will allow you to evaluate the software and set reasonable goals to your first project.


    Non-Profit Organization Management

Dummied down version of Cognos

  • September 04, 2014
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Nothing - it is very cumbersome to use and a big waste of money and time
What do you dislike?
domains have to be built from scratch - so much room for errors
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
nothing now - I left the company using this product

cannot validate this review because I don't use Jaspersoft anymore - moved on to a much better company that uses a real BI tool
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Hope the new company taking over this is ready to lose a lot of money


    Robert M.

Offers an excellent visible layer into our data

  • August 04, 2014
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Our implementation of Jasper is rather complex, being embedded into our platform software. We require SSO, multi-tenancy and a complete set of roles and permissions for our users. Jaspersoft fits the bill perfectly. Everything in our requirements for a business intelligence platform was filled by Jaspersoft without the need to look elsewhere for additional functionality.
What do you dislike?
We had a pretty high learning curve. We previously used Microsoft Reporting Services. Our business analysts were well versed in .NET. Getting everyone moved to a Java-based solution was a bit of a hurdle.

In addition, our pricing has gone up substantially over the last few years. Jaspersoft was recently purchased by Tibco, and that may be playing a part in the increased costs of operation.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Jaspersoft has empowered us to create more dynamic and interactive reports. Prior, our reports were pretty static and one-dimensional.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Jaspersoft is a great tool. Pricing can be a bit variable, based on needs. In our experiences, the license prices have gone up substantially over the last few years.


    Internet

Used this product for reporting feature for various projects

  • July 19, 2014
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Attach various data store at a time.
It has good GUI.
What do you dislike?
Timezone conversions are sometimes complicated
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Reporting on dad to day basis. Easy to export csv data and email it to clients
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Give good customer support atleast to paid versions.


    Krunal R.

Good reporting product with enhanced features

  • July 16, 2014
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Jaspersoft's architecture is very easy to blend in with your organization's structure.
1. It is Economical - Being an open source product, its pricing is unbeatable.
2. Ease of installation. Jaspersoft provides clear details on how to install the commercial, trial and open source versions of the product
3.Great functionality and efficiency. Forrester Research chief analyst has singled out Jaspersoft enterprise as being able to compete with some of the leading commercial market leaders when it comes to features and functionality.
What do you dislike?
Jaspersoft does not own or control these key BI components, or their roadmap or integration.

Once an organization extends the suite’s functionality to suit their needs, they will no longer be able to fully rely on Jaspersoft customer support since that would be a different product altogether.
Some of the Jaspersoft’s support documents have been reported to contain errors.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Jaspersoft suite's open source codebase also enables it to support third-party commercial and open source BI tools, which gives it its broad range of capabilities.
Benefits -
Great functionality and efficiency
Easy to installation
Leads the pack because of richness because of its reporting functionality
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Excellent tool that covers Business Warehouse/Intelligence suite for reporting, analytical data processing - online and offline, great integration tool, easily graspable, custom and interactive web based reports for your organization, dashboard with drill down capability.
It is a strong competitor in the open source BI market, with its main rivals being Actuate BIRT, SpagoBI, and Pentaho Enterprise.


    Internet

Great tool. Gives ability to download report in multiple formats.

  • June 06, 2014
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Gives the ability to hook up to multiple data sources.
What do you dislike?
Great tool. Gives ability to download report in multiple formats. Minimal tech support found.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Use to reporting on daily basis.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
We have paid version for our company. But number of questions we ask jasper soft is very limited.


    Heather R.

Jaspersoft Review

  • May 28, 2014
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Prior to Jaspersoft we utilized a tool that was very in house driven, I love the fact that Jasper is an easy to use tool that allows our customers to run and save there own reports. The flexibility with Roles and Jaspersoft itself is the reason I would recommend this product to others.
What do you dislike?
We originally used iReport as our in house customized reports tool and have since switched over to Studio, ideally Studio would be easier to use as we have a turn over of developers there is a higher training ramp up then other tools.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have less of adhoc requests directly from our customers which allows for better user experience since then end product is so easy to use. The benefits of Jaspersoft I feel are endless, we have just starched the surface of what we intend to use it for and its exciting to see where we will head.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Get it! Overall I am extremely impressed by Jasper's tool but more importantly with the support and staff that we have come in contact with.


    Information Technology and Services

Great BI Product with Self Service

  • May 15, 2014
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of setup. Especially with Jaspersoft's new AWS Marketplace offering. Very affordable to POC the product.
What do you dislike?
NO IMPALA CONNECTIVITY!!! Really wanted to see Impala connectivity to bypass the map reduce phase of Hive. This would have really increased the speed of report/dashboard generation.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Dashboards for high level executives, self-service reporting and canned reports. Coming from an SSRS background with some crystal report experience, we were able to get reports and dashboards up and running very quickly.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Evaluate all other reporting possibilities, but if integrating with big data this is your tool.