Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Become a Channel Partner Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Jaspersoft Reporting and Analytics for AWS (Hourly)

TIBCO Software Inc. | 8.2.0

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux Amazon Linux 2 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

33 AWS reviews

External reviews

55 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Information Technology and Services

Great Report Writer

  • August 01, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Very easy to use for how powerful it is and the resulting reports can be.
What do you dislike about the product?
The user's guide / help / documentation could be a little more thorough.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Our business relies on being able to provide our clients with reports showing meaningful data, and Jaspersoft's software allows us to provide those reports in a user friendly and professional manner.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I am not familiar with Crystal Reports, so I cannot offer a comparison there. But Jaspersoft has fulfilled all of our reporting needs beautifully over the past year.


    Information Technology and Services

Jaspersoft's iReport User

  • July 30, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
For the most part, and for what I usually use it for- formatting, adding static text, etc.- the 'dashboard' is fairly easy and straightforward.
What do you dislike about the product?
I lack in xml and coding and so I know I'm missing out because of this. I feel like there are endless possibilities with this program! The platform can be overwhelming but once you use it a few times, you get the hang of it.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Needing to change and create reports that our SIS database spits out. It has saved my butt numerous times so I don't have to call our SIS database's technical support.


    Matt

No Support for AWS Version

  • February 06, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

We have been using JasperSoft for more than a year and have just entered our second full year. There are serious issues with v6.4.2 and there is a hot fix available that appears to fix many of the issues. However, as AWS users you cannot access this Hot Fix or apply it. What's worse is that the AWS install instance does not have these fixes applied, virtually making this update worthless. And, who knows when this will be updated.

Overall, we like the product, but we are not ready to take the plunge into purchasing the license directly, for BYOL. This seems to be the primary way to get support and what they push you to get. Just to get standard support with 12 use cases, will run you at least $6,000 a year.

Why can't the hot fix be made available or at least the AWS install for 6.4.2 be updated to include the fixes?

Our only option is to bring back up our v6.3 server!


    Cameron F.

Jaspersoft meets, but doesn't exceed, any expectations

  • January 29, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Jaspersoft is useful in creating custom reports, as it is integrated into our Transportation Management System
What do you dislike about the product?
Jaspersoft can be extremely taxing to our system and network, causing painful slowdowns and laboriously long reports to generate and populate
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
If we need to pull existing data in new or different ways, Jaspersoft is the way to go. It allows user to create reports and schedules, fully customizable
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Be sure that your network and servers are capable of the bandwidth that Jaspersoft requires


    Qian Qian Z.

Excellent software but aging and not innovating compared to more recent products

  • January 25, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Open source, enterprise grade software that has a long history and is very well documented. Has large amount of user following.
What do you dislike about the product?
Software technology is aging, even though efforts have been made to modernize stack and software, there are better options currently out there.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
customized reporting solutions and advanced visualizations


    Information Technology and Services

Fast reliable reporting

  • January 03, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I love that I can search for a report and the software has a fast response rate.
What do you dislike about the product?
There are limitations for reporting and what Jaspersoft can provide when it comes to drilling down to analytics from other sources like email marketing.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Reearching markeitng trends from email marketing.


    Csongor Gyuricza

CloudFormation template has wrong version in description fields

  • November 20, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The AMI ids are correct, but the description fields for the security group and the EC2 instance still say the old version:

Resources:
JRSecurityGroup:
Type: AWS::EC2::SecurityGroup
Properties:
GroupDescription: for Jaspersoft BI v6.3 <=== wrong
....
JRSEC2Instance:
Type: AWS::EC2::Instance
Version: 6.3-2016-07-06 <=== wrong ?


    Computer Software

Good and solid reporting software

  • November 19, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I think the Jaspersoft Studio product does a lot. I'm very impressed with the ability to create a wide variety of different types of reports/graphs/charts. Once you get the hang of it, really the sky is the limit. It has enabled me to produce some really polished and effective reports.
What do you dislike about the product?
The Jaspersoft Studio application isn't my favorite. I preferred using their iReport Designer product a few years ago. It seemed simpler and more straightforward. Functionality-wise, they are similar but I was really used to iReport and how it worked. Setting up workspaces and whatnot wasn't really useful for me.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Data is really important to customers, so Jaspersoft allows us to take that data, analyze it, and put it into a presentable format that really helps customers understand what they have. It's pretty powerful.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I'm not really familiar with other reporting software so if it were up to me to find a reporting solution for a company, I would certainly do my research and compare to other products out there. I can tell you it serves our business needs though.


    Islam M.

a productive yet little annoying experience !

  • November 15, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
- simple design and strait forward UI/UX
- lot of tools and controls to use in the report
What do you dislike about the product?
-testing the report in the productive or development environment specially will with costume expressions
-memory consumption and performance some times are very unpleasant
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
-designing complex reports for management.
-reports based on different data sources


    Computer Software

Good but Complex

  • October 25, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
There's a lot of functionality! I like the fact that there are a lot of resources available online and I'm often able to learn more and answer my questions without having to contact their Support team.
What do you dislike about the product?
The Jaspersoft Online reporting software is very complex. Sometimes it's hard to figure out what to do in order to get started.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are reporting on customers' data and using Jaspersoft to create easy to understand visualizations (charts, graphs, tables).
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I'm still getting to know the Jaspersoft Online product but I think there could be improvements or simplifications made in the first-time user experience and how to get users started.