Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Become a Channel Partner Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Jaspersoft Reporting and Analytics for AWS (Hourly)

Cloud Software Group | 9.0.0

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux Amazon Linux 2 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

33 AWS reviews

External reviews

57 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Efrain S.

Jaspersoft: Excellent BI Tool

  • November 24, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
We implemented Jaspersoft as an "add-on" to our BMC Remedy implementation. Our project consisted of providing invoicing and printout support in Remedy Mid-Tier and also developing operational reporting and metrics for IT Management across our institution.

Some of my favorite things about Jaspersoft include: Java function support, ease of use while setting up the ETL processes, Highcharts features and ease of integration with other tools.
What do you dislike about the product?
One of my biggest gripes with Jaspersoft was the lack of a built in "Top N" feature. This is a standard feature in most, if not all other Reporting solutions so it baffled me that this wasn't available out of the box. Writing complex reports with multiple datasources was easy in the Dashboard tool but not in Jaspersoft Studio. A fair amount of trial and error and time spent on trying to get multiple datasources to work in a report. But Jaspersoft Support was there with us and helped us figure it out.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The main 2 benefits were the initial goals of this implementation. Providing invoicing to customers via a seamless integration with our Remedy Applications, and also offer an enterprise metrics solution for up to the minute IT support data.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If your organization is in need of an easy to setup reporting solution, then Jaspersoft will be worth a try. If you are interested in data science and predictive analysis, then I would recommend you go elsewhere.


    Steve O.

We've been using Jasper for several years and are quite happy with the results.

  • November 19, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
JasperStudio. Actually I like iReport better, but it's being replaced by Studio, so I use that. With Studio I can create complex reports with the latest graphs and charts. Simply click a button and the report is imported to the Jasper server where my users have access and can run the report.

We use a multi-tenant environment. We have 35 companies/customers with hundreds of individual users using Jasper.
What do you dislike about the product?
Ad Hoc reports. This is not a problem with Ad Hoc itself though. The problem is my management wants us to get out of the report writing business. To that end we push our users to create their own Ad Hoc reports. Ad Hoc is not as powerful and flexible as report creation using Studio.

On the plus side, with each new release of Jasper Server the built-in functionality improves.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Moving our customers to creating their own reports. Ease of report creation. Where we do create reports the process is easier and faster than our in-house legacy system.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's tough to give a reason for a blanket recommendation without knowing what someone needs. I think it's a great tool, has multi-tenancy, and great customer support. There is an open source version to try at no cost. There's no reason not to at least play with it.


    Robb H.

A great platform for our users to access our data.

  • November 19, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
This product has made a big impact in helping out customer base to access data and manage it. What has really made the biggest impact with our use of the product is the ease of training customers to branch out and create their own custom reports. We generate custom queries on a frequent basis, and for those applications that we have integrated Jaspersoft, our workload has decreased. What this ultimately boils down to are customers feeling like they can access our dataset with much more freedom.
What do you dislike about the product?
We have been happy with the response from the Jasper team in fixing bugs, but it can take some time to address them at times. We have encountered some difficult interface issues, and while esoteric and not affecting the bulk of our user-base, they have caused frustration with a few of our "power users".
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We don't have to run as many custom queries to provide data to our customer base. About half of our applications with Jaspersoft integration use direct links to canned queries, the remaining provide an ad-hoc environment for user-based custom queries. Surprisingly, we have seen more traffic via the ad-hoc queries, which we initially believed would account for 10 to 20% usage. This has helped us move away from static query links and provide users with a more open query environment. Trying to sustain static queries was a bit more time consuming so we have noticed less effort maintaining our domains necessary for our ad-hoc reports.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Plan your domains carefully! We have found Jaspersoft to be very robust assuming you take the time to plan out your implementation with your database.


    FutureWaves "FutureWaves"

Great tool

  • November 11, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

and easy to deploy.
Upgrades are a bit of a hassle though as you have to export your existing data, buy the new version, install a new instance, import your data, change your IP and shot down the old instance.


    yrg

Real reports in minutes!

  • October 29, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

This product is great. I watched the getting started videos on the community site and in less than 10 minutes, I was connected to my RDS instance and creating reports. And, it only cost a couple of bucks. Amazing!


    anonymous

Very little support for AWS hourly

  • April 13, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Installed an instance to test drive the product. Tried to connect it to our production database (which uses a forced SSL connection) and was unable to configure. Tried contacting support, and they informed me that they don't offer support with the AWS hourly product. After emailing twice and chatting with a sales rep, a support rep pointed me to the community forums and gave me a few things to try. Was not able to ever connect to the database, although I am sure it is possible. Was not able to actually evaluate the product due to configuration problems.

The long and the short of it is, if you need help getting up and running, they won't help you unless you have purchased a support contract.


    reza

my app

  • December 21, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

my program cant use multi core .i need a cpu with maximum frequency to process my data for hours . please help me


    Grant Peterson

Excellent intro BI software

  • November 14, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

We selected JasperSoft as an introductory BI platform for our company. Easy to setup, maintain, and far less expensive than the competition, JasperSoft for AWS has helped us set the stage for BI initiatives in our organization without breaking the bank or landing in expensive long-term contracts.


    Amazon Customer "Nitin Sinha"

Great Software

  • September 25, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I love creating reports on Jaspersoft. I have used both the community and AWS version. It has quite a few options to configure the report and if the server could take in CSV files as inputs then I would have given it 5 stars. Currently you need to load that data into a database (one of the options I am sure there are others) to make it work. Love the app interface and the ease of transferring reports from desktop to server


    Vince

Helped us assess the JasperSoft Reporting

  • September 05, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

In our case, we used the JasperSoft AWS Hourly offering to help better assess the software to see if it fit our needs. It served that purpose well. We have since gone with the non-hourly variation.