Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

OpenVPN Access Server (10 Connected Devices)

OpenVPN Inc | 2.7.5

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Ubuntu 18 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

3 AWS reviews

External reviews

111 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Information Technology and Services

Nice and secured VPN

  • December 22, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Strong security and very reliable VPN tool
What do you dislike?
At times it looks like very complicated tool to use and also have proxy issues some times
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Connecting with our secured stage and prod servers.


    Plastics

Getting connected with Open VPN.

  • November 28, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The fact of being able to be used for free and the easy steps to configure.
What do you dislike?
The availability of only two clients accepting connections.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Security issues, ethic hacking testing.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
There are a few settings in OpenVPN that I found useful. In Windows, it can be launch when booting. You can "silent" the incoming notifications. For even greater security and privacy you can add a proxy too. On the advanced settings for Windows, you can change the folder of the configuration files, setting the script timeout settings, and running the program as a service.


    Consumer Goods

OpenVpn Review

  • October 17, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to use, simple configuration, like it very much. Highly suggest for everybody to use. One of the best VPN Client I have tried in enterprise environment
What do you dislike?
Nothing found so far. The software is pretty good and I cannot complain. It working the way it should.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am trying to connect to business network when I am outside of my company network, as well as I have configured it for some other frequently travelling users. It works pretty good with my Firewall.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Easy to use. Simple to configure. Program perform the way you expect it to do.


    Computer Software

Open Vpn review

  • October 15, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
gives extremely secure connections between private networks, Almost impossible for someone to tap or interfere with data in the VPN tunnel
What do you dislike?
to follow the company's own policies on your home computers
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
you can connect to your company from anywhere in the world.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Allows you to be at home and access your company's computers in the same way, as if you were sitting at work


    Neeraj Kumar N.

Highly Reliable and Worldwide support

  • October 11, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
When OpenVPN goes down the network is paused for repairing which really ensures no data loss or data corruption.This acts as another layer of security.This has also got world wide support community.
What do you dislike?
Setting up OpenVPN is really hard for a beginner.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
we try to connect to the US servers from India because client's URL's are only accessible from the US servers.


    Medical Practice

good vibes with openvpn

  • October 11, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
this works well with my linux based database server, the vendor can get right in and fix things with out my intervention
What do you dislike?
there is nothing that I do not like.
it works
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
easier access for support to fix db problems
Recommendations to others considering the product:
can't show a screenshot as it is used on a linux server


    Computer Software

Significantly decreases performance of my laptop when in use

  • October 11, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Not many popups and no additional software that I'm forced to download, doesn't have tons of patches or updates which prevent usage for periods of time.
What do you dislike?
When Open VPN is running, my laptop's performance is drastically reduced and I can't seem to figure out why.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
This product allows team members to work from home without disrupting normal workflow.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
See if you can find any alternatives that don't tax performance quite so much. I used it as little as possible.


    Information Technology and Services

Clunky, but works

  • October 06, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Works well and it’s free. Clients for all major OS’ and even mobile devices. Server built into both Synology and QNAP NAS boxes.
What do you dislike?
Server is only available for Linux and can be cumbersome to setup. Client setup can be clunky as a result having to use config files.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Remote access to office LAN resources. Once properly setup, works exactly as designed.


    Information Technology and Services

VPN that is reliable and fast.

  • October 06, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like that this product can be used with multiple diffrent venders verses just one. Can be used on any operating system and is mobile. Keeps password so you don't have to login every time. Works with iOS even when apple breaks things on each update with Wi-Fi
What do you dislike?
The setup isn't easy and must use the application on all devices. iOS and Android devices must open app to start and end VPN connection.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Making sure that when on a public connection that our data stays safe.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make sure you make nots if the setup information on this product. It's a bit difficult to setup on mobile devices and needs a separate app to use.


    Sam S.

Very Secure, excellent Value!!!

  • October 05, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
That it's free, and more secure than older Cisco products using a <2048-bit key. Don't need any special hardware, and old server will do with a few NIC cards. I highly recommend from an admin/power user perspective, as you have an extremely secure & reliable VPN tool here that is self-healing and can work well in production environments on a shoe-string budget.
What do you dislike?
User interface is very minimal, the Windows client has been improved but is a little confusing for some users since it resides in the system tray and relies on alt-clicking to connect, etc.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Network security and remote access. Site-Site VPN with no specialized hardware or monthly fees. Works well across multiple platforms, allows me to connect remote Mac clients, Windows 10, and even Linux all through one piece of software.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's not super user friendly but it works very well and is completely free. Hard to beat in the VPN segment, given cost/security/reliability.