Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

OpenVPN Access Server (10 Connected Devices)

OpenVPN Inc | 2.7.5

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Ubuntu 18 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

3 AWS reviews

External reviews

111 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Marketing and Advertising

OpenVPN, a wonderful service that has details to repair.

  • September 04, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
OpenVPN allows you to surf the internet as if you were located at a specific geographical point, allowing you to enjoy the freedoms offered by this place. A particularity of OpenVPN is that it offers its service to companies so that its workers can work as if they were in the preferred site of this company. It is a service with an affordable price for anyone who wants to use it.
What do you dislike?
Occasionally, OpenVPN has sudden disconnections, which, in many cases, suddenly expels its users from the website they are working on. Sometimes I have had to test websites that can only be opened by residents of the UK, and when disconnecting OpenVPN I have been expelled from them, interrupting my work and sometimes preventing me from re-entering the site. It was these disconnections for no apparent reason that made us switch to Open VPN for Amazon Web Services, the latter offers a VPS service that is much more stable.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
At the time, OpenVPN helped us to perform tests and any other kind of work on web pages that required an IP address that did not belong to the United States. However, due to its multiple disconnections we had to replace this with Amazon Web Services.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommend that anyone who wants to use OpenVPN is to prepare to experience occasional disconnections from the service which could interfere with their work. If you don't mind this detail then this VPN is for you.


    Telecommunications

Never thought it was so easy to setup open vpn. The best

  • August 29, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's easy to install and to use. Setup is a hassle though
What do you dislike?
To setup process was cumbersome. A lot of trial and error to make it work, but once setup it works like a charm.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Secure connection to work pc
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I can't upload a screenshot of my openVPN because my company doesn't allow screenshots of work PC


    Emily Valentina S.

A tool that can be setted up easily.

  • August 15, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's very easy to set up when you get used to it. The option to save credentials is great, because I don't have to write them every time that I want to connect the VPN.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes it gets disconnected by itself and it's a bit annoying, because it seems that the server is down and it takes some time to connect it again when you restart it. Also, when you are logged with the same user in 2 devices at same time, the connection speed is slower in one of the two devices.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It's possible to set one IP provided by the company, so the clients can filter that IP from the rest of traffic on their pages.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
When you're configuring the VPN, you should save logs in a different folder that it's not in the program archive and then change the route from OpenVPN options.


    Kristian T.

OpenVPN - Free VPN solution available for everyone.

  • August 04, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
OpenVPN is a multi-platform solution (compatible with most popular systems and mobile devices), valued by users around the world, VPN server, which allows you to set up a connection between the host and a local computer encrypted with the use of OpenSSL library, supporting authentication with keys, as well as certificates, username and password, and, in a version for Windows, additional cards. Additional advantages of the application are support for NAT machines, dynamic IP addresses, high scalability, and load balancing mechanism.
What do you dislike?
- A free license allows you to connect a limited number of devices.

- Setting up a private server can be difficult for new users.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Thanks to OpenVPN, I can safely use public networks in a chosen place in the world and bypass the regional blockade.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
OpenVPN, I recommend a user who is planning to create a private VPN.


    Sarah H.

OpenVPN - Robust VPN protocol with many possibilities

  • July 31, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
OpenVPN is primarily a free solution for creating an open source virtual private network. This allows you to create encrypted "point-to-point" or "server-client"; channels between devices. With it, you can establish a connection for non-NATO devices or a firewall that does not require changing settings. Securing data streams is guaranteed by the OpenSSL library, which enables all available encryption algorithms. Another significant advantage of OpenVPN is that it is compatible with most of the operating systems and devices used.
What do you dislike?
Creating your own server can be problematic for users who have no experience with server management.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
OpenVPN allows me to connect to my private server, so I can securely access the network anywhere.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommend using OpenVPN to all users looking for a secure VPN protocol.


    Alex M.

Great for Work!

  • June 29, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
OpenVPN is very to use for our staff. Our staff uses this specifically to access sites that are inaccessible by the public without having a VPN account on our enterprise OpenVPN account. This is an amazing service to have. It really helps with security flaws and breaches since almost any backend only works locally. The cost of use is also very effective for our company and totally worth it and cheap!
What do you dislike?
To be completely HONEST, I don't really dislike anything about OpenVPN. If anything, although this is a very small complaint, the price can be a little high? That's just being picky I suppose.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We're able to finally have a secure network for our staff to connect to without the fear of being vulnerable to attacks or even worse, BEING hacked.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
OpenVPN is a very good way to secure your unsecured network if needed. I would recommend this to a company who is having security problems with people attempting to breach your system or if you want to have it as a safety precaution before it happens. It's a very smart thing to do either way!


    David J.

NEVER RECEIVED COMPENSATION - MISLEADING

  • June 06, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
When it comes to VPNs, simplicity is king. I downloaded the client, entered the VPN url, and hit connect! After entering my username/password, I was in and that was it. You can't get any simpler than that.

NEVER RECEIVED COMPENSATION - MISLEADING
What do you dislike?
While simplicity is definitely king, sometimes there are a few options you wish you would have! Because I can't let local traffic stay local, I ended up having to remote to servers that I could normally access directly.

NEVER RECEIVED COMPENSATION - MISLEADING
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
This allowed me to connect to work and an institution from home so I had access to a variety of useful literature and documents.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Great enterprise class VPN that keeps it simple for end users, but a little lacking for power users that want to get their hands dirty.


    Андрей .

An interesting solution with a large user base

  • June 04, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I really like that the system is open. There are also clients for different operating systems. This is a professional solution and you can choose the server where it will be convenient for you (from Microsoft, Amazon or, for example, Google). Support works well. They told me how to more deeply customize connections to different servers, which allowed me to get the best VPN among competitors.
What do you dislike?
Initial difficult setup. I had to communicate with support several times and then read many articles on the subject forums to get the best result.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Our connection is always secure. We are also anonymous on the Internet.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Spend time on the forums or contact support for more flexible configuration.


    Matthew H.

Easy to use secure VPN solution

  • June 03, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I use VPN to access my network from a range of different client platforms. The ability to also host the access server from any number of platforms gives me resilience in my setup.
What do you dislike?
Open VPN is not natively supported on certain clients and on others such as Mac you have to install a third party client. The logging mechanism also sometime does not help in debugging failed connections.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have the ability to work remotely and access resources on the main network when out and about as well as secure my communications channels when on third party Wi-fi etc which gives me security and protection.


    Florence R.

A Grеаt VPN for mаny usеs

  • June 02, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I lovе thаt OреnVPN tаkеs thе сomрlехіty out of еstаblіshіng rеmotе сonnесtіons аnd mаkеs thіngs suреr-еаsy, rеlіаblе, аnd а brееzе to troublеshoot. I like that now it is not necessary to run complex programs in order to connect to a remote computer via an encrypted connection.
What do you dislike?
Not аll my ехреrіеnсеs аrе swееt or grаtе. Thе fіrst сonnесtіon I mаdе wаs not rеасhаblе аnd hаvе to try othеr рoрulаtеd сonnесtіons for slow sрееd. But most likely it was set up in my company. So, in general, the service is very simple and works without failures.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Whеn I nееd to work out of thе offісе аnd stіll ассеss thе dаtа wаrеhousе I usе thіs tool. It аllows mе to bе morе flехіblе іn my work loсаtіon.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Bеіng oреn sourсе, іt’s сonstаntly bеіng іmрrovеd, рlus іt’s сomраtіblе wіth most рlаtforms аnd vеry аdарtіvе to VPN softwаrе сlіеnts.