Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

OpenVPN Access Server (25 Connected Devices)

OpenVPN Inc. | 2.8.5

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Ubuntu 18 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1

External reviews

137 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Computer Software

Open VPN - Simple to Setup and use as Admin and End User

  • November 17, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The end user software is simple for non-tech team members to install and follow the guidance provided by the support team. So implementing a VPN of this type is made easier than with other softwares we've used before.
What do you dislike?
The application (on Mac) can disappear behind other windows, although the toolbar icon is helpful if you remember it's there, this means you can remain connected when you were finished using it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We've been able to connect the entire team to our office network. This has been vital during the pandemic to allow staff to connect to servers and files when not in the office. The security bulit into OpenVPN means these connections are secure, simple and safe.


    Computer Software

Easy to use and never any problems

  • November 16, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to open, sign-in, authenticate and move on!
What do you dislike?
Signing in every time - HOWEVER, I understand the principle of needing to do this.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Secure hosting and login to sensitive information for our business


    Computer & Network Security

OpenVPN is Super-Duper Flexible

  • November 11, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like having easy-to-read source code that I can modify at will, and all of it written in standard C, and something that I can tweak and modify as needed. It already comes with a ton of super useful options and features, but topping it off with well written source code is great
What do you dislike?
There's sort of too many options. It's both a strength and a liability. I both like and hate all those options. It makes it pretty difficult to create a comprehensive "config builder" because there's just so many inter-connection pieces and dependencies on the configs.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Openvpn is acting as a bridge between networks in different locations, bringing them together in a single extended-LAN type of situation.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Sincerely try it. Use the pre-fab configs in the example configs that are online, you will probably have success.


    Computer Software

Simple and Secure

  • November 03, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's easy to use, sits in my toolbar, and I click it when I need to connect securely to my workplace network.
What do you dislike?
Some of the more advanced features, such as being connected on two networks at once (via two tunnels), need a bit of effort to get set up and tested.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
How can I ensure the work I do remotely is secure when transferring data to and from my workplace?


    Entertainment

OpenVPN is a great tool to gain connection across multiple VPNs

  • October 27, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is easy to use OpenVPN to access various VPNs (if needed). The tool allows you to have a real-time pulse on the connection and can connect with Google Authenticator for verification purposes. It also allows you to add multiple profiles in case you need to toggle across different VPNs.
What do you dislike?
Often times OpenVPN can have zero activity across the connection stats portion of the tool, despite constant connection with the VPN source. This creates confusion on whether or not there are any Internet connectivity issues or blockers related to the VPN.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
OpenVPN helps users safely and securely connect to workplace servers via VPN. This has been crucial in the transition to remote work, to ensure everyone has the access they need without any security risks.


    Computer Software

Great VPN, easy set up, and administration!

  • October 19, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to set up and administer and very simple licensing!
What do you dislike?
There can be some confusion between the open source version and the paid subscription.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are allowing our clients access to a hosted application and we've seen increased security compliance.


    Jacintoh G.

Excellent Authentication System with Stable and Effective Servers.

  • October 14, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
OpenVPN is the most reliable VPN Application that offers a stable private browsing channels through effective connection to multiple servers across the whole World. Easy configuration and installation on different devices and get started with secure browsing and also secure data transfer across different webs and easy data access from different locations.
What do you dislike?
None from OpenVPN, the system has the most effective tools with easy configuration and in case the support is active and ready to provide help and support effectively.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Perfect secure browsing through various servers which are located on different countries from one location and easy moving of personal data of any type and securely.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Suitable VPN services provider with effective and simple features and easy installation across multiple devices and the services provided through any selected server is excellent.


    Vis S.

Best flexible VPN Solution

  • October 03, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The best about OpenVPN is the easiness to get the server up from the admin console. Also, the OpenVPN client is also very much easier to set up. The network traffic filtering is another cool feature it got. In a nutshell OpenVPN got decent features as well as the capability of customizing the server/client configs which is amazing.
What do you dislike?
Even though it got very good customization capability, it's not very straightforward to get connected for a non-technical person.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
As an organization, we are having a lot of sensitive servers where we need VPN tunneling to take the data out of the internet also, we need the Virtual Private Network to get all our team network traffic connected via a server during the work from the home period. So the OpenVpn helps us in all of these scenarios.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If your organization involves in the area of server administration/VPN tunnels. it's 100% recommended to try OpenVPN


    Marketing and Advertising

Cloud VPN Solution

  • September 27, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Simply helps us to connect any Servers which hosted in the Amazon Cloud Platform
What do you dislike?
Automatic Notification required when the License get expired
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is a simple Cloud Connect VPN which we can use to connect the Cloud Applications from our Local Machines
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Those who are looking for a simple Cloud connect Virtual Private Network Application can actually start using this Application


    Rajesh D.

OpenVPN for Secure Connection

  • September 17, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
We are using OpenVPN for Secure connection to our remote branches & Applications. It provides advance features such as Two-Factor Authentication that we can integrate with Google Authenticator as well. It also provides Options such as route the traffic via internet as well. It provides certificate authentication that helps us to encrypt & Secure the enviorment. We can also configure & Manage the same with Openvpn admin GUI as well. It provides DNS Options & user management as well.
What do you dislike?
The only issue with Openvpn we found when we try to connect or configure the client environment, it doesn't accept the certificate sometimes.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
OpenVPN resolved our Secure connection environment issues & helped us to connect with our remote branches securely & also allowed us to encrypt the data over the public network.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are looking for a Secure VPN Connection & data encryption as well, then OpenVPN is one of the best solutions.