Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

OpenVPN Access Server (50 Connected Devices)

OpenVPN Inc. | 2.8.5

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Ubuntu 18 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

144 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Computer & Network Security

quite easy setup and use

  • June 21, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy setup options. First time I used OpenVPN for TryHackMe to access the TryHackMe virtual device. It was quite easy to set up as a begineer. One can save multiple access key files for different purpose.
What do you dislike?
It keeps running in the background even if you are not accessing any VM right now. It drains the battery.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It creates a private tunnel to access the resources. Suppose I am working from home and I want to use my office PC that has more processing power. -- To access that pc privately I would connect it via VPN to maintain my privacy and prevent data leaks.


    Wyatt H.

OpenVPN works great

  • May 13, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
OpenVPN just works. The connection is always strong, great tunneling, easy to manage profiles and all-around ease of use with this product. I highly recommend it.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes client/employee profiles expire or stop working for no reason. It is very easy to fix but it still causes a minor annoyance from time to time. Other than that nothing stands out.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We solved the issue of company resources that need to be secured being accessed by the right people at the right time. OpenVPN lets us lock certain data behind the VPN and increase security.


    Nithin R.

Professional VPN tunnel

  • March 23, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The best and easy way to connect to your organization and get things going. We have been using the tool for the past 5 years and there have been zero issues faced. Seamless connection.
What do you dislike?
There is a limit to usability and very rarely the connection drops automatically. There has been no downside to the tool apart from this. Makes the speed slow sometimes.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Networking solution for the entire organization made simple with Open VPN. We were able to connect multiple users with a single set of credentials making it more economic.


    Rahul S.

One of the reliable one !!

  • January 27, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The efficiency and reliability of this software are excellent.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes the internet does not work if your connection disconnect.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I am accessing Analytics tools after connecting to this.


    Ashish A.

OpenVPN helps for remote workers to access the services outside the Network Coverage Zone.

  • January 18, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
This VPN is very much different from other VPN. Very easy to use, simple and efficient design, and we get an ads-free interface. Also, while using other VPN, you will get to see a decrease in speed than the actual speed, But while using this VPN, I didn't get to see much speed difference. I also like the cost being resonable and affordable. We can find the 2-factor authentication embedded here, making it more secure.
What do you dislike?
OpenVPN is a great tool and provides many features, but some features are still missing in the desktop version. We can't make many customizations and changes from the desktop version.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I am a new employee and work remotely at this time. Our company handles the data from different nations and collects it on a remote server, and as the data is confidential, we need to use the VPN to access those data. Our company uses OpenVPN for this purpose. Without using OpenVPN, it is impossible to access the data and work remotely.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If any company uses confidential data and works remotely on a highly secure server, then OpenVPN is for you. It is affordable, secure, and highly reliable, so go for it.


    Jennifer H.

A heavy duty VPN for experienced users

  • January 12, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Provides security that I don't have to worry about. It saves my log in information.
What do you dislike?
If there is an issue, it's not straightforward and I have to rely on IT staff to help me fix it. Not user-friendly.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It's extremely secure and we've experienced few security issues as a result. We work remotely so knowing that we all have the same security standard online is extremely important.


    Sean F.

OpenVPN is simple!

  • January 06, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of use and setup. The step by step guides walk you right through ever scenario
What do you dislike?
Nothing to dislike, its so easy to configure and implement.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Securing our unsecured internet traffic.


    Jose Q.

An all-round VPN solution for free, in your own Cloud!

  • January 06, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The best feature, of course, is that, as its name suggests, it is an Open Source solution (free), meaning that if you have a Cloud-based (or Cloud-capable) computer - NOT necessarily Server - you can just deploy your own OpenVPN server on it and you're ready to go. The features are pretty good for an OS solution, including tunneling, port forwarding, and certificate authority, among others.
What do you dislike?
There's little to not like about OpenVPN, given that it's very global and generic. Perhaps more compatibility with other non-PC devices, such as game consoles, TV streaming devices and such, could be very much appreciated. But in terms of corporate usage, it's a total all-around solution in itself.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Our main goal for using OpenVPN is for direct access to some servers on our premises overseas. We basically deployed the OpenVPN server on a Debian Linux VM server and left it running 24/7 there. Through tunneling, we can then access our hypervisor and guest VMs directly from any of our platforms (PC, Mac, mobile devices).


    Gazi Shakibul Islam .

" Best open source VPN - OpenVPN "

  • January 05, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The most amazing thing of this VPN is that this is so easy to use as well setup. And this is secure VPN platform as it provides two-factor authentication. Its DNS option is really awesome. Its open source service also impresses me very much.
What do you dislike?
There is nothing much to dislike but it sometimes disconnects from the server which is very much annoying. Its features also should have improved. I think the authority will fix those problems as soon as possible. And its splash screen takes so long.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I had to hide my real IP adress for some personal issue. Then this VPN service helped me a lot with its security, user friendly and open source service. Overall, I am very much pleased with this VPN service.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
This VPN service is highly recommended for anyone those need a secure and easy VPN service.


    Computer Software

Open VPN - Simple to Setup and use as Admin and End User

  • November 17, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The end user software is simple for non-tech team members to install and follow the guidance provided by the support team. So implementing a VPN of this type is made easier than with other softwares we've used before.
What do you dislike?
The application (on Mac) can disappear behind other windows, although the toolbar icon is helpful if you remember it's there, this means you can remain connected when you were finished using it.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We've been able to connect the entire team to our office network. This has been vital during the pandemic to allow staff to connect to servers and files when not in the office. The security bulit into OpenVPN means these connections are secure, simple and safe.