Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

OpenVPN Access Server (100 Connected Devices)

OpenVPN Inc | 2.8.3

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Ubuntu 18 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

113 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Mattia D.

VPN everywhere with every device

  • March 29, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
You can access the company VPN using any device (laptop, smartphone, tablet, ...)
What do you dislike?
Easy to use but extremely poor in options
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
When I'm travelling for work, I can access the company VPN easily using the mobile connectivity. It makes my job easier!
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Remember to try this software with your mobile devices. You won't regret!


    John-Austin G.

OpenVPN

  • March 25, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
OpenVPN is a solution that I use in my office as well as at home. OpenVPN allows me to treat myself with my private VPN server from a device of my choice. Thanks to OpenVPN, I can safely use open hotspot networks and also use the safe Internet during my travels. An additional advantage is the fact that OpenVPN has a user-friendly web interface for managing the server.
What do you dislike?
The only thing I don't like is that the free license is only available for 2 devices.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
With OpenVPN, I can safely treat my company's server in the chosen location.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
OpenVPN is one of the best VPN protocols currently available on the market.


    Darren P.

OpenVPN

  • December 04, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I have been using this program for more than three years, although it has shown me to be incoherent on some occasions, I have to say that it has complied with everything set out, offers excellent servers to be free, with stable and excellent speed to navigate, protect your data and stay anonymous to prevent theft of information, an excellent program for anyone.
 
What do you dislike?
Connection weakness, it does not provide support, the program does not notice if it is disconnected from the server, it can connect to an unwanted server, the speed may decrease, it does not provide additional security.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I can have a secure connection to my server, so I'm no longer worried about using free WiFi in public areas.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Connectivity, server diversity in different countries, free, user-friendliness and installation, network security, identity protection, stable speed, anonymity guaranteed. 


    Carmelo B.

Spero ottenga la fama che merita e diventi sempre più uno standard tra i produttori

  • November 10, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
OpenVPN, inteso sia come il set di protocolli che come l'applicazione client/server cross-platform disponibile gratuitamente, merita il massimo successo nel mondo del networking e della security.
L'era delle configurazioni IKE, delle autenticazioni tramite complesse concatenazioni di certificati, l'era di settaggi e regole di nat e firewall lunghissime è terminata grazie proprio ad OpenVPN che in ambiente Linux mi ha consentito di mettere su diversi server VPN site to site per la comunicazione criptata tra alcuni endpoint VoIP con supporto ai file di configurazione OVPN, proprio questi file semplificano tantissimo la vita del team SecOps e degli amministratori di rete e di sistema che non devono più dedicare intere giornate, settimane o mesi alla configurazione manuale, client per client, dei parametri VPN corretti. Spero venga supportato di default da sempre più produttori di PC, router, firewall, telefoni e IoT devices
What do you dislike?
Il client Linux andrebbe rivisto perchè, nonostante GTK o il motore grafico sia installato, non ha nessuna opzione per poter essere eseguito in modalità GUI ma solo da linea di comando, il che rende l'uso ad utenti meno esperti che usano linux per le sole finalità di sicurezza e stabilità, molto più difficile per via della scarsa dimestichezza con la command line
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Ho creato circa 18 VPN site-to-site tra Azure e AWS, il mio HQ e AWS, il mio HQ e Azure ed il mio HQ verso gli HQs di altri clienti che ci hanno scelto per la fornitura di servizi importanti e/o business critical che necessitano quindi di totale privacy e riservatezza dei dati transitanti verso la WAN o da e verso la nostra sede. tempo risparmiato: circa 4 ore a server VPN, circa 80 ore totali


    Domenico A.

Protocollo pazzesco e performante ma client da rivedere assolutamente, sia su Windows che su Linux

  • November 09, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
OpenVPN server è uno stack performante e sicurissimo e costantemente aggiornato per eseguire il deployment di VPN di diverso tipo con pieno controllo e gestione di tutte le opzioni di sicurezza disponibili per passare agli utenti finali i soli file di configurazione, ciò che è da rivedere il prima possibile è il client Windows e la shell Linux che sono privi del minimo design grafico, privi di chiarezza sulle opzioni di sicurezza disponibili e poco sicuri sotto il profilo di gestione delle sessioni salvate, fin quando non verranno aggiornati OpenVPN sarà per metà zoppo e per metà un maratoneta
What do you dislike?
Come ho già detto, i client sono da rivedere totalmente perchè non consentono una facile identificazione delle opzioni da scegliere e considerando che spesso finiscono in mano su PC o laptop di utenti finali che hanno la sola necessità di collegarsi senza avere conoscenze informatiche e di networking, è necessario rendere le GUI molto più user friendly e meno complesse oltre che più sicure verso persone che potrebbero non aver ben chiaro con che tipo di file e di sessioni stanno operando dato che spesso dietro un VPN server gira la backbone ed i server di una intera organizzazione
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Fornire ed ottenere accesso a risorse Linux, prevalentemente Load balancer e relativi nodi Ubuntu Server in modo sicuro (i clienti chiedono sempre standard di sicurezza maggiori e allo stesso tempo affidabili, sopratutto dopo il bug VORACLE che ha portato l'exploit di migliaia di server VPN), performante e veloce tramite il tuning che consente di processare i pacchetti VPN tramite Hardware su custom firewall appliances come pfSense o similari


    Religious Institutions

Helped save my job!

  • October 18, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Because of using the openVpn, I am able to remotely access our company server from anywhere in the world. Since I have a primarily administrative job, but also do a bit of traveling, this has allowed me to stay connected. I also recently had to move out of state for family, but was able to keep my job since I had the access to files..
What do you dislike?
I sometimes miss updates and have to connect with a tech team to help fix that.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
This has allowed multiple staff to work from home (during acclimate weather) or on the road when needed. So nothing gets missed or delayed due to other circumstances. In my line of work, that's pretty important for our clients.


    Orlando B.

OpenVPN keeps me protected when I surf the internet

  • October 11, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
OpenVPN for me, is one of the most secure VPN protocols I have used. It keeps me in a private internet connection and without fear of hackers. It is excellent because the platform has a list of what users can do to secure the connection after having configured OpenVPN on the devices. I can run OpenVPN on all my devices either on my laptop or my cell phone and those of my family either Android or iOS.
What do you dislike?
Some disadvantages that OpenVPN has is that the configuration must be done manually and for many it can be quite difficult. Also, as encryption is very secure, sometimes I experience drops in connection speeds and that is certainly unpleasant.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have obtained many benefits, whenever I use OpenVPN I feel safe, I use it for anything I do online since it works great and is transparent (because it is open source). No hacker or any other person can detect or monitor our IP when we use the internet, OpenVPN always keeps our data and operations online very securely.

I use OpenVPN when I play online, when I'm going to download torrents and also to watch movies and series on Netflix from the United States without any inconvenience and from any of my electronic devices. No doubt that gives me peace of mind and I always sail without fear.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommend OpenVPN because it is economical, security encryption is really excellent and you can use the software on all your electronic devices. When you learn to use you get abundant benefits.


    Krishan R.

OpenVPN- simple VPN solution

  • September 22, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Open VPN is Free & Open Source
Easy to configure from both Server & client end.
Light weight client software available for most OSs.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes the connection gets slow due to openVPN
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We're hiding our Cloud Architecture from public. Was able to remove public IP addresses from our virtual machines in the cloud.


    Niklas S.

OpenVPN - My favorite VPN protocol

  • September 20, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to set up point-to-point tunnels from other OpenVPN routers to other OpenVPN routers, cross-platform compatibility with apples, windows, androids and Linux devices, lots of assistance and GUI is very easy for window users to use as long as they can remember to open it in the correct corner of the tray and click connect first before attempting to open other network resources such as remote desk.
What do you dislike?
The interface is easy without any actual use in addition to choosing a server and turning it on. Would you like to see a bandwidth monitor, server CPU use
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It was positive because it met the demands for which it was intended, is effective and of quality, and I suggest it because it is a helpful instrument in terms of the safety of private and business data.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommend using OpenVPN on the fact that it is a solution available for free on different platforms.


    Lisandro V.

OpenVPN Reliable Solid and Safe.

  • September 18, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
OpenVPN is a completely reliable software, I can make VPN connections in a simple and easy way. In addition, it is very profitable, it is very economical compared to other vpn solutions. I have used OpenVPN in our company and the result is always positive, the quality of security is very high and provides stability in all its connections. I can use OpenVPN even on my mobile device, that way I have access to the corporate network from any of my electronic devices.
What do you dislike?
I don't like its interface very much, since it is very simple. I wish it was a little more intuitive. The update process is very poor, it is difficult to determine the name of the version to use with wget when updates are available. Everything else is excellent and works very well.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
OpenVPN offers us access to most electronic devices, from laptops to phones, that's why we have access to our network no matter what electronic device we are using. We use OpenVPN to block unauthorized access to the company's database. Also, we can now access blocked websites in our country. In addition, it keeps our data and operations online completely safe.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The cost of OpenVPN is quite cheap, I recommend it to any company that has security problems. It also has a free license that allows you to connect to 2 devices at the same time.