Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Teradata Viewpoint with Data Lab (DIY)

Teradata | 16.50.04.00-1

Linux/Unix, SUSE SLES 12 SP3 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

16 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Deepak M.

Good Application for Monitoring and Performance Tuning

  • December 02, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
We can monitor the entire Teradata DB via the viewpoint

It enables users and Database Admin to monitor and manage the DB from anywhere using the web browser and also via Mobile web browser.

Since we can monitor via mobile it's not mandatory to carry the laptop and can simply login and monitor while travelling.
What do you dislike?
I am satisfied with the Viewpoint as of now. Teradata keeps adding new features so that should be good. Till now I have liked everything. Looks good to me from all perspectives.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Mainly Real-time monitoring helps to balance workload and query execution and manage system performance, also it provides real-time system health, graphs, bar setup, stats manager setup, workload management Viewpoint plays a vital role in Teradata tuning. Helps in Monitoring the DB and Queries. Also reviewing the CPU utilization of the queries, other batch ETL queries that are running on the Teradata System.
We have the entire monitoring system at a single place
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you want to monitor your Teradata DB, Users Query, Batch Jos, and BAR Jobs this is something you need to explore. This makes the Admin jobs much easier in terms of planning, monitoring, and Tuning.


    Satya Prasad P.

Teradata Viewpoint Review

  • December 01, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is easy to track and analyze Teradata SQL queries performance, Nodes performance, and set throttles using Teradata Viewpoint.
What do you dislike?
It would be good if Viewpoint could suggest/recommend optimal throttles, proactively find skewed nodes
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Skewing queries and tables. Viewpoint plays a vital role in Teradata tuning
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Definitely I would recommend it to others


    Manish D.

I would say its way more than a normal sql engine with MPP and dozens of other functionalities

  • November 30, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Introduced massively parallel processing and other data loading utilities way ahead of time. Functionalities to manage data and applications in a smooth and efficient way with better performance tuning algorithms.Excillent option for processing large amount of data.
What do you dislike?
Interface or UI is quite outdated. Moving Teradata to other RDBMS is quite a lengthy process. Quite expensive.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
There could be better sql privileges on viewpoint. Sometimes its quite difficult establish a secure connection to other softwares.


    Zahir u.

I have two years experience on Viewpoint and has found it quite managementarial browser tool

  • November 29, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Most of the things are quite simple and lots of things can be performed within the Viewpoint.
What do you dislike?
I think as part of improvment, there should be a better SQL privilege on viewpoint. i think a dialog must be there which helps to query system related selects
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
i have found quite a better tool in terms of viewship


    Kubendra Reddy M.

Much helpful while doing performance tuning

  • November 28, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Since Teradata is MPP database, while doing query tuning we need to know CPU ,I/o , Spool resource usages and Data Skwe on AMPs to optimize the query and viewpoint is the place where you can find all these information. It helped to analyse the queries in DEV , QA and Prod servers and when is the best time to run the queries.
It has many more options like how many users are using the server, how much disk used by CPU, how much CPU is getting used by user.
What do you dislike?
Nothing for now. I am impressed with the information that viewpoint is providing.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am a Data Engineer mainly working with tearadata and used viewpoint mostly for query optimisation and to check the system health. I wrote complex queries by joining big tables with millions of data and I used viewpoint to check explain plan , daa skev on AMPs , CPU resource usage, I/O usage to optimise my queries and improved my jobs performance.


    Telecommunications

It was a great experience helping in re structuring and optimizing queries.

  • November 26, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best part is it give single view for multiple products.
What do you dislike?
Not much but interface looks outdated to me.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Query optimization mainly. It was helpful to identify any logic errors.


    Telecommunications

its GUI for monitoring Teradata systems

  • November 25, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is a GUI for monitoring Teradata systems and setting up and monitoring alerts for space, node down, CPU/IO usage, etc, also can set up backup and restore jobs on DSA and create users and roles to monitor their own queries.
What do you dislike?
Server management and data collectors .data collectors wil not work due to invalid credentials andneed to look into this nothing much to improve. all ok as of now
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
This is very helpful when I used this and mainly for Blocking issues and backup-related stuff and CPU/IO usage monitoring .yes, user's performance was improved.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Yes, I recommend those who want to use Teradata DWH for their business.


    Arnon Eiji F.

Excellent tool for monitoring Teradata environment

  • October 05, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Teradata Viewpoint is very easy to be used and have plenty of features that allows users to check if Teradata environment is healthy. You can check every process running, how much CPU is being used, I/Os, how much of spool is available, check execution plan of any instruction being executed etc
There are some data in Teradata's metadata tables that can be difficult to be analyzed so it's already prompt to be presented visually and used on Teradata Viewpoint. It is very convenient to be used as it runs on browser and usually run smooth.
What do you dislike?
There are some "analyzes" which aren't available through Teradata Viewpoint, so you just need to create your own query to do so. If you don't understand very well how Teradata works and what are the rules defined into your system some of data showed on Teradata viewpoint may guide you to the wrong direction that's something you need to be cautious.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It's an amazing tool because it's very convenient since it's just point and click. You can diagnostic most of the problems in your Teradata environment using Teradata Viewpoint. You don't have to be a database administrator to use Teradata Viewpoint since all permission rules by user are well defined, so anyone on the team could use this tool to investigate and monitor what is running in your system and make sure it is healthy and safe to put more process to run altogether.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you work with Teradata it's more than need to use Teradata Viewpoint as well to manage and monitor properly your environment.


    Soumyadip R.

Effective DBMS tool for any organization

  • July 02, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The editor window is very user friendly and you can edit in multiple tabs, language is also little different rather than normal SQL, which is shorter and efficient than normal SQL, which reduces some workload
What do you dislike?
Sometimes, there may be issues while connecting with other software, like it is sometimes difficult to establish a secure connection with other software, but with the help of the service team, it may be done easily.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It helps in writing queries in SQL which is necessary for the database management systems. So it is really important software.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is recommended as DBMS software


    Information Technology and Services

Powerful tool for Teradata DBAs

  • October 20, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
being teradata DBA and a production team member i have to constantly monitor teradata server performance . teradata view point provides health status and usernames of resources currently utilizing most CPUs. this is very handy in my day to day work
What do you dislike?
explain plan shown in the viewpoint website is very useful but it takes a lot of time to refresh and its not accurate,
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
production monitoring and DBA team responsibilities