Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Teradata Viewpoint with Data Lab (DIY)

Teradata | 16.50.04.00-2

Linux/Unix, SUSE SLES 12 SP3 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

20 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Siddhant J.

A great tool for Analytics

  • December 31, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of use. Very detailed information available.
What do you dislike?
Nothing that i can think of but can introduce various options for account login
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
A product support tool for monitoring and troubleshooting batch processing


    Mohd Danish S.

Great monitoring platform the Teradata Vantage. Great tool for the Teradata vantage community.

  • December 21, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It gives one-stop web-based access to all the monitoring portlets required to monitor the Teradata vantage parameters and configuration.

It gives the good control to the administrators over the user and role management for the portal.

It also provides the portlets which helps in identifying queries that needs optmisation/tuning.
What do you dislike?
The DSA backup portlet do not have scheduling the jobs feature from the Viewpoint portal itself. I hope to see this feature in future releases.
Other than that, everything looks good and provide a good interface for the Teradata user and admin community.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It gives a quick view of all the sessions on the Teradata database. It helps in real-time monitoring. We immediately can catch any expensive queries in terms of resouce consumption on the system.
We can also find reasons behind various major issues like system slowness from this portal.

TASM is one of the great features allowing the administrators to design the workload management as per their organisations requirement. This helps in great way to make use of the available resources in most efficient manner and allowing all users to take advantage of system in most efficient manner.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is an excellent tool not just for the Teradata administrators but also for the Teradata end-users. It provides a good interface and understanding for Teradata users regarding how their queries are performing. Viewpoint leads to administrators saving a considerable amount for their organization by saving resources by query tunings. Also end-users can have read-only access to a few good portlets, which can help them see the performance and progress of their queries in real-time.


    Praveen A.

Simple informative interface

  • December 20, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Lots of options to do many admin tasks. Assigning roles and accesses is much better now.
What do you dislike?
Good improvements. More portlets options can be given.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Managing and viewing day to day jobs, providing access, Data labs area are awesome. Providing user and access and user management is much easier now.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Good monitoring tool for a database. Very informative. Make various admin related activities very simple.


    Deepak M.

Good Application for Monitoring and Performance Tuning

  • December 02, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
We can monitor the entire Teradata DB via the viewpoint

It enables users and Database Admin to monitor and manage the DB from anywhere using the web browser and also via Mobile web browser.

Since we can monitor via mobile it's not mandatory to carry the laptop and can simply login and monitor while travelling.
What do you dislike?
I am satisfied with the Viewpoint as of now. Teradata keeps adding new features so that should be good. Till now I have liked everything. Looks good to me from all perspectives.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Mainly Real-time monitoring helps to balance workload and query execution and manage system performance, also it provides real-time system health, graphs, bar setup, stats manager setup, workload management Viewpoint plays a vital role in Teradata tuning. Helps in Monitoring the DB and Queries. Also reviewing the CPU utilization of the queries, other batch ETL queries that are running on the Teradata System.
We have the entire monitoring system at a single place
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you want to monitor your Teradata DB, Users Query, Batch Jos, and BAR Jobs this is something you need to explore. This makes the Admin jobs much easier in terms of planning, monitoring, and Tuning.


    Telecommunications

Overall experience in Teradata

  • December 02, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Teradata utilities such as Bteq,fastload,MLoad.
Ability to handle disastrous events through RAID mechanism
Easy connection with ETL tools
Scalability
Comparing to some other DBs' it is faster.
What do you dislike?
Nothing much to dislike, just that it requires a DBA to setup since it is quite complicated and constant support from them in case of any issues. So dependency exists
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have built a warehouse wherein we use Teradata as our DB to query the records. For us, millions of records are processed within a fraction of minute , that helps processing huge data hasslefree
Recommendations to others considering the product:
One of best tools in the market


    Satya P.

Teradata Viewpoint Review

  • December 01, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is easy to track and analyze Teradata SQL queries performance, Nodes performance, and set throttles using Teradata Viewpoint.
What do you dislike?
It would be good if Viewpoint could suggest/recommend optimal throttles, proactively find skewed nodes
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Skewing queries and tables. Viewpoint plays a vital role in Teradata tuning
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Definitely I would recommend it to others


    Manish D.

I would say its way more than a normal sql engine with MPP and dozens of other functionalities

  • November 30, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Introduced massively parallel processing and other data loading utilities way ahead of time. Functionalities to manage data and applications in a smooth and efficient way with better performance tuning algorithms.Excillent option for processing large amount of data.
What do you dislike?
Interface or UI is quite outdated. Moving Teradata to other RDBMS is quite a lengthy process. Quite expensive.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
There could be better sql privileges on viewpoint. Sometimes its quite difficult establish a secure connection to other softwares.


    Zahir u.

I have two years experience on Viewpoint and has found it quite managementarial browser tool

  • November 29, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Most of the things are quite simple and lots of things can be performed within the Viewpoint.
What do you dislike?
I think as part of improvment, there should be a better SQL privilege on viewpoint. i think a dialog must be there which helps to query system related selects
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
i have found quite a better tool in terms of viewship


    Kubendra Reddy M.

Much helpful while doing performance tuning

  • November 28, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Since Teradata is MPP database, while doing query tuning we need to know CPU ,I/o , Spool resource usages and Data Skwe on AMPs to optimize the query and viewpoint is the place where you can find all these information. It helped to analyse the queries in DEV , QA and Prod servers and when is the best time to run the queries.
It has many more options like how many users are using the server, how much disk used by CPU, how much CPU is getting used by user.
What do you dislike?
Nothing for now. I am impressed with the information that viewpoint is providing.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am a Data Engineer mainly working with tearadata and used viewpoint mostly for query optimisation and to check the system health. I wrote complex queries by joining big tables with millions of data and I used viewpoint to check explain plan , daa skev on AMPs , CPU resource usage, I/O usage to optimise my queries and improved my jobs performance.


    Telecommunications

It was a great experience helping in re structuring and optimizing queries.

  • November 26, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best part is it give single view for multiple products.
What do you dislike?
Not much but interface looks outdated to me.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Query optimization mainly. It was helpful to identify any logic errors.