Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

NAKIVO Backup & Replication Free Edition

Nakivo | 10.0.1

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 18.04 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

201 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Information Technology and Services

Cost-efficient and reliable backups

  • July 23, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like Nakivo because it is very robust, we have never had an issues were our backups or replication has failed due Nakivo. So as long as the servers are running and are accessible Nakivo does his job.
What do you dislike?
Not a lot of support for physical Linux servers, sometimes you need the support to do backup VM but with no access to the host and that option is missing.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Helps us with all the DR scenarios we are implementing were we need backup and replicas of the existing servers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Great product, support and team behind it.


    Carlos Mauricio H.

Awsome Program

  • April 08, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Nakivo is a intuitive software,, faster and easly to use and backup vmware
What do you dislike?
The program is good at this time,, i recomended incluide a mobile app to manage control panel
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Backup virtual machines with excelente price
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Excelente performance and speed to backup and restore


    Yasas Sri S.

Configure VMware backup to your QNAP NAS with in minutes

  • March 12, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It took me only few minutes to configure my first VMware backup to QNAP 451+ NAS, even-though I have never used or never seen the product before.

NAKIVO support is really good, they reply back to you immediately if you have any issue with the product.

It is really worth the money we have spent for NAKIVO Backup licenses since it does the job perfectly and the licenses are really cheap.
What do you dislike?
At the time when I configured NAKIVO Backup for VMware 6.7 U3, it did not identified VMs on my VMware platform. So, I had to get a patch. But after a week NAKIVO team was able to release their latest permanent build with VMware 6.7 U3 support with it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Recently our Active Directory was crashed and stopped working, luckily with help of NAKIVO Backup I was able to recover the whole VM and start using the AD as it was before.

Report generation for auditing purpose is really easy. It takes me only few clicks to generate a report.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Go for it, It is really cheap and does the job perfectly.


    Levente T.

Excellent value for money

  • January 27, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The direct customer support is great. Many occasions got answers after hours. Product works as advertised. We are getting very good performance out of the system, and when we faced some misconfigurations , the support team was there to help us any time. Their support system is very transparent, integrated directly into the web interface. So far our tests only included vmware esxi vm backups and a few restores to test the system. There were no glitches with it. I particularly like that only the source is licensed, so we were able to roll out several off-site data backup locations to further protect the vital parts of our infrastructure.
What do you dislike?
There is no problems with Nakivo so far. I have only a minor grievance, that is in our scenario, we are running a second hypervisor just for the vcsa service, and in order to back that up I need to make manual clones to the main hypervisor, because it was only licensed to the 2 processors in the main system. It would be nice if all versions would include domain integration, so the deployment would be more secure than a single user/password pair. I wouldn't mind some sort of a feature that the transponders would not have to be offline for scubbing, because in some of our datastores it takes well over a half a day.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is a quite easy-to-manage, turnkey solution for our backups. Complexity in our backup systems reduced greatly by investing in the Nakivo solution. And now that the reports come daily it is a lot safer and more efficient to keep an eye on the backups.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Add maybe support for domain integration to all services. Consider a different approach for integrity check and cleanup that doesn't completely disable the transponder (or make the backup queued so that they would execute when scrubbing is done)


    Jacob G.

Amazing backup solution

  • October 23, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The ability to convert a standalone server to VM and the addition of tape and VTL support for backup was the only thing pending. Very simple and clean interface. Not many tabs to move around. Very easy to use.
What do you dislike?
Nothing as of now. With the introduction of 9.1 version, most of the inabilities have been rectified.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Low cost, easy of use and web based management are some of the major advantages. The addition of apps for NAS like Synology and QNAP has made it much easier to backup and protect the servers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Easy, quick and no hassle backup software. Now with the support of Tape and VTL and with SQL plugin, it covers all aspects for a proper backup system.


    Yvonic V.

Very good solution

  • October 15, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to deploy, reactivity. We were looking for a new backup système for our customers. We had now found one with a very good support.
What do you dislike?
Haven't really found yet, my customers are happy this solution. I did not have complain yet
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Everything goes faster, from the quotation to the deployment, time is priceless.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Juste try it


    Michael M.

Nakivo is the bomb

  • September 26, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
easy to install, easy to use, inexpensive.It just does the job
What do you dislike?
the support knowledge base is a bit slim
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It's one of our backup and replications systems for our VMware infrastucture. It provides both local backups/replications but also replication to our out of state warm site
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Sign up for the free trial and see if it works in your environment


    Information Technology and Services

Ease of use and extremely reliable

  • September 11, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The most use full and best thing about Nakivo Backup and Replication is that it really works out of a box and with very little prerequisite involved. The configuration process is really simple. Plus as a system it does not brake up. If there is a error in job you will find it in FAQ most of the time.
What do you dislike?
The only downside i see is some times the component involved in the process confuses you. like transporter service and also adding or increasing storage of the appliance.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Nakivo is very client friendly, so its make it more easy to assign people to maintain the backup and replication jobs. Second big advantage its is value to money if compare to other product available in the market


    Tiago S.

Nakivo + Raspeberry PI + External HDD

  • August 23, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Nakivo Backup and Replication for it self has already very important software features that I give high-value importance such as the storage encryption and the large data accessibility on various type of file systems shares like CIFS,NFS, AFP and last but not least ZFS, but adding this software to the high range potentiality of a raspberry pi creates a easily configured device that can actually be portable to test in many network infrastructures. The external storage scale-ability is one of the strongest points in this method of backup application.
What do you dislike?
The Software for itself has no Cons, the only downside is the raspeberry bandwidth limit on USB speed.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Backup our file server with the extra layer security due to ransomeware protection that Nakivo offers when you install it on raspberry.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Just try it out and see if it fits your needs.


    Erno R.

Reliable and fast backups

  • June 19, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Very fast backups + built in deduplication saves storage space. Very reliable, we've never had any failed backups with Nakivo. Support team is very responsive and competent and they always checks if ticket has been resolved.
What do you dislike?
Bit pricey, but still very well worth it's price tags. Good products do have their price for an reason.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Backup reliability (we switched from competing product which we had too many problems with). Nakivo has been working very reliably and it's restore speed is very impressive, especially with FlashVM boot.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Absolutely worth trying. Easy to install and if you have eg. Qnap NAS, you can install Nakivo directly to NAS and offload some resources from VMWare to NAS.