Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Cloud Hosted Router

MikroTik | 6.44.3

Linux/Unix, Other 6.44.3 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

5 AWS reviews

External reviews

20 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Charles

The best router for an IT admin

  • November 10, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I have been using this mikrotik for all our networks with more than 300 systems. This is one of the best for routing, hotspot, vpn etc. it takes minimum resource and cut down your costs. If you know little programming, you can do wonders with this powerful router.


    Leonardo Rafael O.

Mikrotik all in one

  • October 18, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best about Mikrotik is routeros system, that provide all of you will be need about networking, you have an router, switch, firewall and more in only one device. Also is an complete platform in all related to wireless networks and radio links,in the other hand the GUI provided by Winbox is very simply and easy to learn.
What do you dislike?
sometimes in sectorials wireless(ap) the clients loss the ip address and is needed an reboot to restore the functionality. Is complicated when we have not acces to mac-telnet to the device to offer support.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Right now we are using mikrotik networks for manage all in an small ISP, users queue, firewall and ospf routing and all is working perfectly
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Mikrotik is a powerful brand to start an bussiness for some reasons, relation benefits and cost, easy management, scalability, all in one. When an bussiness is starting no need to spend money in an device for each function in the network. In the other hand mikrotik have an complete academy for learing about all related with the network.


mikro tik is network monitoring device

  • August 31, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?

mikro tik is best monitoring device,it is layer 3 device and mostly user monitoring regarding,suppose any user facing connectivity issue this time mikro tik through showing actually issue,many time user connected showing our side but user told i am not getting proper connectivity,this time issue has been find out ,this time user facing browsing issue,after follow the troubleshoot process,above all things micro tik is the best monitoring device
What do you dislike?
mikro tik only suggestion for troubleshooting regarding,sometimes mikro tik through not has been refresh the proper account ,many times account is stuck.the configuration page for mikro tik is very complicated.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
multiple issue solving mikro tik device through,suppose any one user facing speed issue ,so mikro tik through open specific user account details and check details in speed regarding after take a decision for troubleshoot regarding.main benefit of mikro tik is easy to find out specific user account details,this is best benefit of mikro tik .
Recommendations to others considering the product:
this device fills with current need and has very good wifi and will support an optical connection in the future


    sakib a.

MIkrotik L3 system helps to grow Network

  • July 30, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
layer 3 device which works as a router help to connect the client and grow up the Network. With the help Of Winbox graphical interface we can configured and make changes in the configuration. easy to implement and understandings of routing and terminology of network protocols gives better way to reliable network. lots of options are available. troubleshooting traffic analysis bandwidth monitoring is more effortless.
What do you dislike?
Need to update firmware. some bugs are not fixed yet. takes time to disconnect the user or sometimes shows connected where user is not even accessible to services. understanding of terminal logs are difficult need different interactive layer application.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Basic thing which we are checking at first is whether user is connected or not. Monitoring users logs. torching IP request assigning a IP's to users with Natting function. configuring firewall settings with Winbox interface. taking live updates of bandwidth utilization.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
need to learn lots of things before implementing it. Be aware of All protocol functioning then its easy to troubleshoot issues.


    aditya w.

Network Layer Device.

  • July 30, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Mikrotik is a system which work very well as a router which can be handle through a graphical interface. This graphic interface is build by Winbox. can configured everything which makes secured and provide services so we can grow up with more clients and network. Implementation of every protocols is easy. filtering of packets with help of firewall NAT functioning makes network more efficient.
What do you dislike?
Using Winbox as GUI most of the options are little bit difficult to understand as if u don't know about the basic understanding of network protocols. Sometimes users are disconnected, but on Mikrotik it shows connected, need administrator access for that.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
As a ISP we are connected to our clients through Mikrotik where we can grow our network. easily add-up new line. monitoring of clients bandwidth and speed consistency. checking utilization of memory and cpu.
handling every function related to network with the help of Winbox.


    Mikrotik Groupie

Mikrotik CHR as a secure router to connect remote sites and to get around Mobile B/band Telco CGNAT

  • July 29, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I have been running a Mikrotik CHR for 6 weeks as a theory of concept so that I can locate and access a remote site (farm) for monitoring of security cameras and remote Amateur Radio site. The AWS VPC and the CHR instance works exactly as they intend to.

In Australia the telcos providing mobile phone services primarily use CGNAT (Carrier Grade Network Address Translation). This is good for normal users as it helps to keep them safe from port scanning etc. However the downside is that there is no way of finding the end node as it doesn't have a real external IP Address. Unfortunately DDNS isn't a solution either.

The only way in Australia to obtain a 'real' IP Address is to be a registered company and that also comes at an additional cost to have one applied to your 3g/4g SIM. For me this wasn't an option.

My solution works exceptionally well and that the end nodes will always automatically established a L2TP secure tunnel to the CHR and then routing (in this case RIP) does the rest. So in effect the remote site/s make an automatic connection to the Mikrotik CHR and you establish a connection from your own location. Then you have full remote access functionality.

Can't recommend it enough.


Likely Used For Monitoring And Troubleshooting

  • July 29, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
First Of All, the Addresses!! Easiest way to input address of every particular zone our ISP has given, we basically look after every user for a particular instance whoever is facing issues in connectivity, its easy to check the speed how much user is getting on uploads and downloads. it shows every user who is connected and who is facing issues in speed. Graphs that show on PPP section allows to monitor the speed of every user. You can ping a server which shows every data about how much packets are being transferred and how much there is packet loss.
What do you dislike?
No Cons Till now, Just a suggestion That sometimes when you try to disconnect a user for troubleshooting problems at that time it takes too much time to get disconnected.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
On Mikrotik we basically monitor user's data, according to the particular IP which is allocated for a particular zone, we monitor user's speed , user's activeness up time, a zone which is facing problem we troubleshoot it on this application itself.


    VPN Guy

Works great as a VPN server

  • July 16, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I've been using 2 of these VMs (each in a different AWS region), as redundant VPN routers (configured exactly the same, except for IP addresses) for SSTP and OVPN clients for the past 2 years or so. Never any one of them has failed, though I use AWS Route53 to monitor (HealthCheck) and failover the DNS record if the active router goes down - a cheap and reliable way to fail over. RouterOS upgrades could be done as on a physical router. I do it one at a time with Route53 DNS failover during upgrades.

Advantage of running these VMs on AWS is that you do not have to depend on the Mikrotik firewall. I use AWS security groups for that purpose.

I've setup daily AWS auto snapshotting of the root volume of the VMs as a reliable backup.

Mikrotik support is not that great, but recently their response times have improved.


    Gedion K.

Mikrotik - The Best router

  • June 25, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like that it makes it easy to solve problems that are related to layer 2 and 3 protocols as well as making it easy to deploy to the cloud. The graphical user interface is interactive both in the web and using the Mikrotik client, winbox.
What do you dislike?
The is a bit of learning curve involved and the router sometimes is prone to frequent crashes that require restarts which is quite annoying.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use mikrotik to manage load balance our clients connections using simple ques and this has seen our internet bill become manageable.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I highly recommend it as I have seen the benefits associated with it such as managing LAN and WAN at a scale, powerful builtin security and it can be used with equipment from other vendors


    ranjit m.

IT Network Monitoring tool

  • June 24, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
As a IT service Engineers we are Checking our L3 devices by accessing NAS IP in Mikrotik with secured Port number. adding and deleting of entry with advanced Mode is easy.no need to remember specific Ip as we can make note corresponding to that Ip so finding of servers with name is helpful with this option.
What do you dislike?
Most of the Features are helpful on which we are working, But its quiet difficult to analyse logs.we can't predict the issue of specific user with those logs. required different application which supports & sync with Mikrotik
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Checking UP time, packetloss reliability of NAS servers, monitroing the ppp and queues section where it shows no of user are connected with that. checking firewall settings. configuring & updating NAT translating as per requirement. monitoring Bandwidth Of users is most interesting as can analyse the exact usage of users. maintaining the reliability as per cpu usage.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Really useful if you are a service provider and want to monitor the user access logs.