Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Cloud Hosted Router

MikroTik | 6.44.3

Linux/Unix, Other 6.44.3 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

5 AWS reviews

External reviews

26 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


5-star reviews ( Show all reviews )

    Anonymous

Mikrotik is High-Performance/Low-Cost Infrastructure

  • October 28, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I really like the Mikrotik CCR (Cloud Core Router) platform and it's Tilera chips!
What do you dislike?
I dislike the fact that there are no readily available open-source firmware for this hardwrae.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Mikrotik hardware allows me to do bandwidth allocation and to realize a full 10Gbps throughput from port to port on the CCR hardware.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you need a relatively low-cost router with extremely high performance, Mikrotik is the answer. The software has a bit of a learning curve, but it's well worth it. Mikrotik does an excellent job supporting their products, but you probably won't often need it. Their wiki and knowledgebase support is pretty good.


    Dylan S.

Mikrotik - Low Cost but high performance fits our needs perfectly

  • September 02, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Mikrotik, although it can look consumer grade from the outside, is a full-fledge router competing with the greats such as cisco but for only a fraction of the price. We use their routers in all our buildings we service and for any customers. They seem to have a product to fit any need and constantly improve and release new devices to fit new requirements. Our company is continuously growing, and we can upgrade to better hardware on the same software is terrific.
What do you dislike?
Mikrotik has a bad reputation from an exploit they resolved a couple of years ago. We have had many IT companies try to blame the equipment although having an entirely different issue. Also, when new products are released if on a new platform such as ARM64 you will want to wait some time as generally, there are lock up issues you could run into (ex. RB4011 revision 1 had issues fixed in revision 2)
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Our company is an Internet service provider. We are growing day by day, and our network usage is climbing exponentially. It's easy for us to jump from a HEX to a CCR1072 without too many configuration differences making it very easy for us to scale.


    Anonymous

Versatile Network Management.

  • May 20, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
No Matter What Model Hardware I get EVerything is consistent in the way it works. as it has the same software options availble on every router with it's only limitations to that statement is Processing power/ Ram and storage.
What do you dislike?
Currently does not include Unified Threat management. or gateway anti-virus.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I'm able to Remotely Manage any network equipment with a Mikrotik in a Secure Fashion by combining OpenVPN Clients and Versatile Networking Tricks. and the ability to connect to Multiple Wifi hotspots depending on the Technician I send out without re-configuring the router each time I send a Tech out.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Remember to use the Safe Mode Feature when setting features that you are not used to. and all the time if the device is remote.


    Anonymous

A complete router/firewall

  • July 30, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Mikrotiks routers are exceptional well built, always on and always working as expected. Great community behind them, great Wiki and knowledge base. Their routers are ideal for MSPs that are trying to implement good SLA networks.
What do you dislike?
Is hard to find something to dislike about it, it might be useful to have all critical updates installed automatically as we are quite busy and cannot always read the latest security news.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Helped us built a redundant managed network for a business estate at a low cost while not compromising on reliability.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are looking for a good router with all the features a SMB and also not spend a fortune on it then the Mikrotik products are what you are looking for.


    Charles

The best router for an IT admin

  • November 10, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I have been using this mikrotik for all our networks with more than 300 systems. This is one of the best for routing, hotspot, vpn etc. it takes minimum resource and cut down your costs. If you know little programming, you can do wonders with this powerful router.


    Leonardo Rafael O.

Mikrotik all in one

  • October 18, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best about Mikrotik is routeros system, that provide all of you will be need about networking, you have an router, switch, firewall and more in only one device. Also is an complete platform in all related to wireless networks and radio links,in the other hand the GUI provided by Winbox is very simply and easy to learn.
What do you dislike?
sometimes in sectorials wireless(ap) the clients loss the ip address and is needed an reboot to restore the functionality. Is complicated when we have not acces to mac-telnet to the device to offer support.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Right now we are using mikrotik networks for manage all in an small ISP, users queue, firewall and ospf routing and all is working perfectly
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Mikrotik is a powerful brand to start an bussiness for some reasons, relation benefits and cost, easy management, scalability, all in one. When an bussiness is starting no need to spend money in an device for each function in the network. In the other hand mikrotik have an complete academy for learing about all related with the network.


    Mikrotik Groupie

Mikrotik CHR as a secure router to connect remote sites and to get around Mobile B/band Telco CGNAT

  • July 29, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I have been running a Mikrotik CHR for 6 weeks as a theory of concept so that I can locate and access a remote site (farm) for monitoring of security cameras and remote Amateur Radio site. The AWS VPC and the CHR instance works exactly as they intend to.

In Australia the telcos providing mobile phone services primarily use CGNAT (Carrier Grade Network Address Translation). This is good for normal users as it helps to keep them safe from port scanning etc. However the downside is that there is no way of finding the end node as it doesn't have a real external IP Address. Unfortunately DDNS isn't a solution either.

The only way in Australia to obtain a 'real' IP Address is to be a registered company and that also comes at an additional cost to have one applied to your 3g/4g SIM. For me this wasn't an option.

My solution works exceptionally well and that the end nodes will always automatically established a L2TP secure tunnel to the CHR and then routing (in this case RIP) does the rest. So in effect the remote site/s make an automatic connection to the Mikrotik CHR and you establish a connection from your own location. Then you have full remote access functionality.

Can't recommend it enough.


    VPN Guy

Works great as a VPN server

  • July 16, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I've been using 2 of these VMs (each in a different AWS region), as redundant VPN routers (configured exactly the same, except for IP addresses) for SSTP and OVPN clients for the past 2 years or so. Never any one of them has failed, though I use AWS Route53 to monitor (HealthCheck) and failover the DNS record if the active router goes down - a cheap and reliable way to fail over. RouterOS upgrades could be done as on a physical router. I do it one at a time with Route53 DNS failover during upgrades.

Advantage of running these VMs on AWS is that you do not have to depend on the Mikrotik firewall. I use AWS security groups for that purpose.

I've setup daily AWS auto snapshotting of the root volume of the VMs as a reliable backup.

Mikrotik support is not that great, but recently their response times have improved.


    Gedion K.

Mikrotik - The Best router

  • June 25, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like that it makes it easy to solve problems that are related to layer 2 and 3 protocols as well as making it easy to deploy to the cloud. The graphical user interface is interactive both in the web and using the Mikrotik client, winbox.
What do you dislike?
The is a bit of learning curve involved and the router sometimes is prone to frequent crashes that require restarts which is quite annoying.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use mikrotik to manage load balance our clients connections using simple ques and this has seen our internet bill become manageable.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I highly recommend it as I have seen the benefits associated with it such as managing LAN and WAN at a scale, powerful builtin security and it can be used with equipment from other vendors


    ranjit m.

IT Network Monitoring tool

  • June 24, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
As a IT service Engineers we are Checking our L3 devices by accessing NAS IP in Mikrotik with secured Port number. adding and deleting of entry with advanced Mode is easy.no need to remember specific Ip as we can make note corresponding to that Ip so finding of servers with name is helpful with this option.
What do you dislike?
Most of the Features are helpful on which we are working, But its quiet difficult to analyse logs.we can't predict the issue of specific user with those logs. required different application which supports & sync with Mikrotik
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Checking UP time, packetloss reliability of NAS servers, monitroing the ppp and queues section where it shows no of user are connected with that. checking firewall settings. configuring & updating NAT translating as per requirement. monitoring Bandwidth Of users is most interesting as can analyse the exact usage of users. maintaining the reliability as per cpu usage.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Really useful if you are a service provider and want to monitor the user access logs.