Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Cloud Hosted Router

MikroTik | 6.44.3

Linux/Unix, Other 6.44.3 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

5 AWS reviews

External reviews

23 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Anonymous

Likely Used For Monitoring And Troubleshooting

  • July 29, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
First Of All, the Addresses!! Easiest way to input address of every particular zone our ISP has given, we basically look after every user for a particular instance whoever is facing issues in connectivity, its easy to check the speed how much user is getting on uploads and downloads. it shows every user who is connected and who is facing issues in speed. Graphs that show on PPP section allows to monitor the speed of every user. You can ping a server which shows every data about how much packets are being transferred and how much there is packet loss.
What do you dislike?
No Cons Till now, Just a suggestion That sometimes when you try to disconnect a user for troubleshooting problems at that time it takes too much time to get disconnected.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
On Mikrotik we basically monitor user's data, according to the particular IP which is allocated for a particular zone, we monitor user's speed , user's activeness up time, a zone which is facing problem we troubleshoot it on this application itself.


    VPN Guy

Works great as a VPN server

  • July 16, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I've been using 2 of these VMs (each in a different AWS region), as redundant VPN routers (configured exactly the same, except for IP addresses) for SSTP and OVPN clients for the past 2 years or so. Never any one of them has failed, though I use AWS Route53 to monitor (HealthCheck) and failover the DNS record if the active router goes down - a cheap and reliable way to fail over. RouterOS upgrades could be done as on a physical router. I do it one at a time with Route53 DNS failover during upgrades.

Advantage of running these VMs on AWS is that you do not have to depend on the Mikrotik firewall. I use AWS security groups for that purpose.

I've setup daily AWS auto snapshotting of the root volume of the VMs as a reliable backup.

Mikrotik support is not that great, but recently their response times have improved.


    Gedion K.

Mikrotik - The Best router

  • June 25, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like that it makes it easy to solve problems that are related to layer 2 and 3 protocols as well as making it easy to deploy to the cloud. The graphical user interface is interactive both in the web and using the Mikrotik client, winbox.
What do you dislike?
The is a bit of learning curve involved and the router sometimes is prone to frequent crashes that require restarts which is quite annoying.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use mikrotik to manage load balance our clients connections using simple ques and this has seen our internet bill become manageable.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I highly recommend it as I have seen the benefits associated with it such as managing LAN and WAN at a scale, powerful builtin security and it can be used with equipment from other vendors


    ranjit m.

IT Network Monitoring tool

  • June 24, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
As a IT service Engineers we are Checking our L3 devices by accessing NAS IP in Mikrotik with secured Port number. adding and deleting of entry with advanced Mode is easy.no need to remember specific Ip as we can make note corresponding to that Ip so finding of servers with name is helpful with this option.
What do you dislike?
Most of the Features are helpful on which we are working, But its quiet difficult to analyse logs.we can't predict the issue of specific user with those logs. required different application which supports & sync with Mikrotik
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Checking UP time, packetloss reliability of NAS servers, monitroing the ppp and queues section where it shows no of user are connected with that. checking firewall settings. configuring & updating NAT translating as per requirement. monitoring Bandwidth Of users is most interesting as can analyse the exact usage of users. maintaining the reliability as per cpu usage.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Really useful if you are a service provider and want to monitor the user access logs.


    Kamilla E.

Mikrotik for dynamic routing

  • May 02, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the simple way to implement, through the graphical interface of mikrotik, I managed to upload OSPF and segment in several areas in no time. That way I was able to implement more clients and grow my network.
What do you dislike?
I did not like some inconsistencies that occurred in my network, in which the protocol took an unnecessary action. But after updating the firmware, I did not have that kind of problem anymore.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
With the implementation of mikrotik in my network, I managed to make my affiliates communicate more easily. Sometimes the problem appears, because it has a good graphical interface, we can solve it quickly.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Check the best firmware before putting the equipment into production, in order to avoid problems in the network. Another important detail is to design the network according to the future, to avoid having to buy equipment from time to time.


    Diego R.

Mikrotik for fast and easy deployment of services

  • April 27, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the ease of deploying and solving problems related to layer 2 and layer 3 protocols. It also has the best and most interactive graphical interface on the market
What do you dislike?
I do not like the need to update firmware with a certain frequency
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I was able to attend projects very quickly and efficiently. Deploying L3VPN clients very easily.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Investigate the correct firmware before deploying the equipment


    Anonymous

Mikrotik Universe

  • April 25, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Mikrotik undoubtedly has a prominent place in the market for computer networks, with its innovative products, from network hardware and also with RouterOS with several packages of services and solutions for the most diversified types and businesses, from a super and powerful Firewall, Hotspot Server, MPLS-VPN Concentrator, L2VPN, L2VPN, can be used with a Router and Edge, CPE, all on the same hardware with a specific RouterOS and licenses etc.
What do you dislike?
So far I have implemented several types of services and solutions for the different types of clients and their needs and we have nothing to complain about, on the contrary, I just have to thank for having such a good solution and a very acceptable cost.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Implantation as edge router, access equipment CPEs, implementation of an MPLS network, with its derived services, L2VPN, L3VPN, Lan to Lan, dynamic routing protocols (OSPF, BGP, MPBGP), etc ...
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Have a great solution and with great cost and benefit, interoperability with other manufacturers, you can have a powerful Firewall, a high-capacity edge router, an MPLS hub for your network, all of that and much more on the same device.


    Zac G.

Great hardware, low cost, bit of a learning curve

  • April 25, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Low cost and very dependable hardware. Lots of versions to choose from and they are constantly innovating.
What do you dislike?
There is a bit of a learning curve. Where Cisco does a lot of the work behind a single command, Mikrotik shows you how the sausage is made.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Fiber Ring, Wireless neighborhoods.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You need to attend their training and give yourself time to learn it before implementing


    Julio C.

The best router for the best cost x benefit.

  • April 25, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Mikrotik has a powerful operating system, capable of hitting the mark with renowned brands, MikroTik appliances are robust and have a low cost, related to other brands more popular.
What do you dislike?
It has been verified that some processes crash and sometimes it is necessary to restart the system to return.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
With MikroTik RouterOS you can limit bandwidth usage, band reservation and QoS for specific applications.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I advise you to use Mikrotik because RouterOS allows you to implement security, management and reliability in the LAN and WAN of your company.


    Diego R.

MP-BGP with Mikrotik

  • April 23, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The facility to implement and find problems. With just a few clicks we can find the problems and we can also implement services
What do you dislike?
It should have routers with greater capacity of ports and with more availability of interface with optical fiber
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I had some problems related to MPLS transport, but after updating the software, the problem was solved
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Always search for all the troubleshooting tools that Mikrotik provides, such as traffic analysis, band testing, and more. It will be essential to solve problems on the network.