Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Cloud Hosted Router

MikroTik | 6.44.3

Linux/Unix, Other 6.44.3 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

5 AWS reviews

External reviews

26 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    sakib a.

MIkrotik L3 system helps to grow Network

  • July 30, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
layer 3 device which works as a router help to connect the client and grow up the Network. With the help Of Winbox graphical interface we can configured and make changes in the configuration. easy to implement and understandings of routing and terminology of network protocols gives better way to reliable network. lots of options are available. troubleshooting traffic analysis bandwidth monitoring is more effortless.
What do you dislike?
Need to update firmware. some bugs are not fixed yet. takes time to disconnect the user or sometimes shows connected where user is not even accessible to services. understanding of terminal logs are difficult need different interactive layer application.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Basic thing which we are checking at first is whether user is connected or not. Monitoring users logs. torching IP request assigning a IP's to users with Natting function. configuring firewall settings with Winbox interface. taking live updates of bandwidth utilization.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
need to learn lots of things before implementing it. Be aware of All protocol functioning then its easy to troubleshoot issues.


    aditya w.

Network Layer Device.

  • July 30, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Mikrotik is a system which work very well as a router which can be handle through a graphical interface. This graphic interface is build by Winbox. can configured everything which makes secured and provide services so we can grow up with more clients and network. Implementation of every protocols is easy. filtering of packets with help of firewall NAT functioning makes network more efficient.
What do you dislike?
Using Winbox as GUI most of the options are little bit difficult to understand as if u don't know about the basic understanding of network protocols. Sometimes users are disconnected, but on Mikrotik it shows connected, need administrator access for that.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
As a ISP we are connected to our clients through Mikrotik where we can grow our network. easily add-up new line. monitoring of clients bandwidth and speed consistency. checking utilization of memory and cpu.
handling every function related to network with the help of Winbox.


    Mikrotik Groupie

Mikrotik CHR as a secure router to connect remote sites and to get around Mobile B/band Telco CGNAT

  • July 29, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I have been running a Mikrotik CHR for 6 weeks as a theory of concept so that I can locate and access a remote site (farm) for monitoring of security cameras and remote Amateur Radio site. The AWS VPC and the CHR instance works exactly as they intend to.

In Australia the telcos providing mobile phone services primarily use CGNAT (Carrier Grade Network Address Translation). This is good for normal users as it helps to keep them safe from port scanning etc. However the downside is that there is no way of finding the end node as it doesn't have a real external IP Address. Unfortunately DDNS isn't a solution either.

The only way in Australia to obtain a 'real' IP Address is to be a registered company and that also comes at an additional cost to have one applied to your 3g/4g SIM. For me this wasn't an option.

My solution works exceptionally well and that the end nodes will always automatically established a L2TP secure tunnel to the CHR and then routing (in this case RIP) does the rest. So in effect the remote site/s make an automatic connection to the Mikrotik CHR and you establish a connection from your own location. Then you have full remote access functionality.

Can't recommend it enough.


    Anonymous

Likely Used For Monitoring And Troubleshooting

  • July 29, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
First Of All, the Addresses!! Easiest way to input address of every particular zone our ISP has given, we basically look after every user for a particular instance whoever is facing issues in connectivity, its easy to check the speed how much user is getting on uploads and downloads. it shows every user who is connected and who is facing issues in speed. Graphs that show on PPP section allows to monitor the speed of every user. You can ping a server which shows every data about how much packets are being transferred and how much there is packet loss.
What do you dislike?
No Cons Till now, Just a suggestion That sometimes when you try to disconnect a user for troubleshooting problems at that time it takes too much time to get disconnected.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
On Mikrotik we basically monitor user's data, according to the particular IP which is allocated for a particular zone, we monitor user's speed , user's activeness up time, a zone which is facing problem we troubleshoot it on this application itself.


    VPN Guy

Works great as a VPN server

  • July 16, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I've been using 2 of these VMs (each in a different AWS region), as redundant VPN routers (configured exactly the same, except for IP addresses) for SSTP and OVPN clients for the past 2 years or so. Never any one of them has failed, though I use AWS Route53 to monitor (HealthCheck) and failover the DNS record if the active router goes down - a cheap and reliable way to fail over. RouterOS upgrades could be done as on a physical router. I do it one at a time with Route53 DNS failover during upgrades.

Advantage of running these VMs on AWS is that you do not have to depend on the Mikrotik firewall. I use AWS security groups for that purpose.

I've setup daily AWS auto snapshotting of the root volume of the VMs as a reliable backup.

Mikrotik support is not that great, but recently their response times have improved.


    Gedion K.

Mikrotik - The Best router

  • June 25, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like that it makes it easy to solve problems that are related to layer 2 and 3 protocols as well as making it easy to deploy to the cloud. The graphical user interface is interactive both in the web and using the Mikrotik client, winbox.
What do you dislike?
The is a bit of learning curve involved and the router sometimes is prone to frequent crashes that require restarts which is quite annoying.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use mikrotik to manage load balance our clients connections using simple ques and this has seen our internet bill become manageable.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I highly recommend it as I have seen the benefits associated with it such as managing LAN and WAN at a scale, powerful builtin security and it can be used with equipment from other vendors


    ranjit m.

IT Network Monitoring tool

  • June 24, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
As a IT service Engineers we are Checking our L3 devices by accessing NAS IP in Mikrotik with secured Port number. adding and deleting of entry with advanced Mode is easy.no need to remember specific Ip as we can make note corresponding to that Ip so finding of servers with name is helpful with this option.
What do you dislike?
Most of the Features are helpful on which we are working, But its quiet difficult to analyse logs.we can't predict the issue of specific user with those logs. required different application which supports & sync with Mikrotik
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Checking UP time, packetloss reliability of NAS servers, monitroing the ppp and queues section where it shows no of user are connected with that. checking firewall settings. configuring & updating NAT translating as per requirement. monitoring Bandwidth Of users is most interesting as can analyse the exact usage of users. maintaining the reliability as per cpu usage.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Really useful if you are a service provider and want to monitor the user access logs.


    Kamilla E.

Mikrotik for dynamic routing

  • May 02, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the simple way to implement, through the graphical interface of mikrotik, I managed to upload OSPF and segment in several areas in no time. That way I was able to implement more clients and grow my network.
What do you dislike?
I did not like some inconsistencies that occurred in my network, in which the protocol took an unnecessary action. But after updating the firmware, I did not have that kind of problem anymore.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
With the implementation of mikrotik in my network, I managed to make my affiliates communicate more easily. Sometimes the problem appears, because it has a good graphical interface, we can solve it quickly.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Check the best firmware before putting the equipment into production, in order to avoid problems in the network. Another important detail is to design the network according to the future, to avoid having to buy equipment from time to time.


    Diego R.

Mikrotik for fast and easy deployment of services

  • April 27, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the ease of deploying and solving problems related to layer 2 and layer 3 protocols. It also has the best and most interactive graphical interface on the market
What do you dislike?
I do not like the need to update firmware with a certain frequency
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I was able to attend projects very quickly and efficiently. Deploying L3VPN clients very easily.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Investigate the correct firmware before deploying the equipment


    Anonymous

Mikrotik Universe

  • April 25, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Mikrotik undoubtedly has a prominent place in the market for computer networks, with its innovative products, from network hardware and also with RouterOS with several packages of services and solutions for the most diversified types and businesses, from a super and powerful Firewall, Hotspot Server, MPLS-VPN Concentrator, L2VPN, L2VPN, can be used with a Router and Edge, CPE, all on the same hardware with a specific RouterOS and licenses etc.
What do you dislike?
So far I have implemented several types of services and solutions for the different types of clients and their needs and we have nothing to complain about, on the contrary, I just have to thank for having such a good solution and a very acceptable cost.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Implantation as edge router, access equipment CPEs, implementation of an MPLS network, with its derived services, L2VPN, L3VPN, Lan to Lan, dynamic routing protocols (OSPF, BGP, MPBGP), etc ...
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Have a great solution and with great cost and benefit, interoperability with other manufacturers, you can have a powerful Firewall, a high-capacity edge router, an MPLS hub for your network, all of that and much more on the same device.