Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Cloud Hosted Router

MikroTik | 6.44.3

Linux/Unix, Other 6.44.3 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

5 AWS reviews

External reviews

25 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Julio C.

The best router for the best cost x benefit.

  • April 25, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Mikrotik has a powerful operating system, capable of hitting the mark with renowned brands, MikroTik appliances are robust and have a low cost, related to other brands more popular.
What do you dislike?
It has been verified that some processes crash and sometimes it is necessary to restart the system to return.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
With MikroTik RouterOS you can limit bandwidth usage, band reservation and QoS for specific applications.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I advise you to use Mikrotik because RouterOS allows you to implement security, management and reliability in the LAN and WAN of your company.


    Diego R.

MP-BGP with Mikrotik

  • April 23, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The facility to implement and find problems. With just a few clicks we can find the problems and we can also implement services
What do you dislike?
It should have routers with greater capacity of ports and with more availability of interface with optical fiber
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I had some problems related to MPLS transport, but after updating the software, the problem was solved
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Always search for all the troubleshooting tools that Mikrotik provides, such as traffic analysis, band testing, and more. It will be essential to solve problems on the network.


    Renato B.

Functionality and usability

  • April 23, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The ease of usability throughout the proposed environment, where we can carry out all the delivery of routed services, Dedicated IP and MPLS, and we can still apply QoS filters and limitations, using them both in client access and in the border of Internet service providers
What do you dislike?
To correct failures are released many versions of updates, ends up being a problem because of these version instabilities, which we can often solve after the reboot.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Easy use and configuration for delivery of routed services, currently used for Dedicated IP and MPLS service delivery services.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Good products for delivery of routed services, whether Dedicated IP or MPLS, to configure in customer accesses, as well as configure as edge router.


    Marcos P.

Complete and functional equipment

  • April 23, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Mikrotik is an equipment with several routing functions, with a very broad technical content available. Its implementation is simple and its graphic interface via Winbox is very intuitive. It allows to implement the most diverse types of service and some MPLS functions. It is a very didactic equipment, ideal for beginners in the world of computer networks.
What do you dislike?
The equipment for the most part is limited in relation to the throughput. The number of physical interfaces could be larger. In older versions, locking routes was also a problem. Its hardware is sensitive to failures, where a simple electrical failure can lead to system startup.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The Mikrotik is an excellent access equipment. Today we deliver services to our customers through it. Its versatility allows several types of configuration, for the most diverse cases, which allows us for example, use it both in our backbone and to provide access to customers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Mikrotik is an easy-to-implement component, with various materials available on the Internet that help with your settings. It has several functions of routing, L2, some functions of MPLS, hotspot, etc. The cost is low, compared to other vendors and for those who are starting in computer networks it is quite didactic and simple. The cost-benefit is valid.


    Alfred P.

Fully versatile device, complies with virtually any function.

  • April 04, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Mikrotik is a system that I have used lately, has some excellent features, works very well as router, switch, AP and firewall, all this has it included and can perform these functions without any kind of problem, I like its versatility, I learned A lot of this software and I liked to use it, has an excellent security, features functions such as web filtering, I really like its graphical interface with Winbox, it is quite intuitive and you can learn through it many things. It is a fairly fluid and fast system.
What do you dislike?
Until now the only displeasure that I could find is that your information is not complete and specific on the network, I also need to perform more tests with VLANS to be able to judge well although with what I have seen it is not very easy to configure this feature, Like the fate of Portsecurity at the Switch level, this is a great disadvantage compared to other systems that are very remarkable, but can be plugged off by the interfaces that are not being used.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have used Mikrotik lately for many tests, I have acquired 2 products with this system to perform tests and thus be able to offer it to my distinctive clients as a less expensive option and with good characteristics that can cover the needs that it has in its networks.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I fully recommend mikrotik for any type of network that needs either a firewall, router, siwtch or AP, mikrotik has a wide range of these devices which I recommend, it is also quite important to recommend studying it to understand it. Basic to configure the most optimal way possible and take advantage of all its virtues.


    Rafi R.

Flexible hardware that can do anything you can think of

  • March 11, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I can make MikroTik devices do absolutely anything I can think of, and every piece of hardware has the same software and can route, filter and mangle.
What do you dislike?
It is hard to learn how to use a MikroTik router/access point at first, but you can quickly learn and pick up tips.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use MikroTiks to share our cable modem internet connection, and it was the only piece of hardware we could find that could effectively integrate a LTE/4G backup that automatically failed over. It was complicated to set up, but it has saved us countless hours of downtime when our main internet provider goes down, which it does on a regular basis.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
There are a number of MikroTik books that are very useful.


    Lillie-Rose T.

Helps me work at home with always-on VPN

  • March 11, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I can access anything that is in the office (file server, printers, VOIP) using a VPN, and it also has better wireless signal range.
What do you dislike?
I don't have any problems with my Mikrotik router box.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I had a Mikrotik installed at home by our network lady. It replaced the router that my ISP gave me, and has an always-on connection to the office called a VPN. I am able to access everything that is in the office (file server, printer, VOIP) just like I am there, so I am able to work at home. It really helps when you have kids.


    Ellen B.

We have a Mikrotik router in the office and it has always worked

  • March 11, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like that the router in our office is reliable and has always worked perfectly. That is important.
What do you dislike?
The configuration page for MikroTik is very complicated if you are not familiar with networking. I would like to see an alternative page that is friendly for consumer users, then perhaps MikroTik would get more customers.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have a Mikrotik router in our office that routes our internet connection from our cable modem, to our office computers. It also provides wireless access, and we have a wireless printer connected to it. We benefit by being able to share our internet connection, and it goes as fast as our internet provider gives us (200/10). We're very happy with it.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You will need to be at least familiar with networking to get a MikroTik working. Or just have someone set it up for you.


    Zim

doesnt work l2tp

  • December 13, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

NAT does not skip l2tp packets. And nowhere is there any instruction how to fix it.
Support mikroik doesnt help me.


    Shlomi Gutman

Amazing !!! the cloud network dream .

  • March 10, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Cloud Hosted Router (CHR) is a RouterOS version intended for running as a virtual machine. It supports the x86 64-bit architecture and can be used on most of the popular hypervisors such as VMWare, Hyper-V, VirtualBox, KVM and others. CHR has full RouterOS features enabled by default but has a different licensing model than other RouterOS versions.