Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Nessus (BYOL)

Tenable, Inc. | 8.14.0

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2018.03 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

2 AWS reviews

External reviews

204 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Information Technology and Services

Nessus is the best VA tool.

  • June 24, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
- Compatible with all kinds of applications and OS.
- Easy to configure with an existing environment.
- Easy to manage.
What do you dislike?
The scanning duration takes time. Can be improved.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
All kinds of Vulnerabilities and loop holes.


    Mr. A.

Best application web application pentester and researcher.

  • June 18, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Beside every tool, i love to use nessus more often because of it's accuracy it's been really easy and handy to use it. I personally love to use it more.
What do you dislike?
Well, there is nothing much I have about tool. And i seriously don't remember last time when this tool disappointed me.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I'm into web application penetration testing, and this tool helped me in getting the accurate result unlike other tools as well as it's kinda fast and reliable.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I personally believe that, people don't just seeing reviews or ads but they believe after using it. So I recommend using it.


    Ashen S.

One of the best vulnerability scanner I've ever used

  • June 15, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
What I most like about nessus is customization when using scans. We can add credentials, set IP ranges and ports and etc. We can use different scan methods for different purposes. Also it gives best scanning results and those scanning results can be exported as HTML, PDF or CSV reports. Also the report can be customize when exporting. When nessus gives me a report it also providing the introduction of vulnerabilites, impact of the vulnerability to the host and mitigation methods and reference to find more about the vulnerabilites.
What do you dislike?
What I dont like this Nessus proffesional version is some time it gives false positives. As an example when nessus gives me a scan results of an web application vulnerability scan usually I seach for those vulnearabilities for testing purposes. That required time. If those results are false possitive, all the search time and testing times are wasted.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
When I pentesting first tool I use is Nessus. I use different scanning methods for different purposes. As an example I mostly use network scans, web application scans, policy compliance audting scans, and advanced dynamic scans. Nessus also can be used as malware scan Nessus helped me to find lot of vulnerabilities using different scans.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are in Cyber security side. This is a best vulnerabilty scanner that worth your every penny. I've used it. It gives the best scanning resutls so we can follow those results to test vulnerabilities.


    Swapnesh C.

Best Automation Tool for Vulnerability Assessment

  • June 07, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Nessus helps in running credential-based scanning of different servers. It also has templates for multiple network devices like firewalls, switches, etc.
The reporting feature of this tool is also the best with editable elements like logo and severity levels.
What do you dislike?
Till now, I didn't find any negative points regarding Nessus.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Nessus helps in running credential-based scanning of different servers. It also has templates for multiple network devices like firewalls, switches, etc.
Nessus also provides templates for scanning web applications and MDM applications.
Nessus also provides reports in different formats, which we can use in various tasks.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
For all the people who are doing penetration testing, Nessus is the best tool to get started with.


    Charis S.

An efficient and user-friendly vulnerability scanner

  • June 05, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
friendly user interface, quick and effective vulnerability scanning, trustworthy findings. Moreover Nessus provides a builtin reporting mechanism in order to quickly and effectively produce finding report
What do you dislike?
Somehow complicated setup in a Linux environment. Moreover some of Nessus findings are often false-positive
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Automation of vulnerability scanning in Web application pen testing assignments. Moreover, it effectively speeds up the initial steps of the web application security testing procedure as it does a good job of mapping the web application and uncovering vulnerabilities or bugs of the web application
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would recommend nessus scanner to anyone seeking to use an effective automated vulnerability scanner. It provides a beautiful user interface while its reporting format is quite satisfactory


    Computer & Network Security

The best tool for your recon

  • June 05, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It scans not only remote flaws of the host but their missing patches and other versions also
What do you dislike?
Its little bit heavy for sma end devices so developer should focus on wide variety and flexibility
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
As i am seeking Pentester i used Nessus for finding vulnerabilities in host which is quick fast and reliable


    Mahendra D.

Nessus review

  • June 05, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The simple and easily understandable user interface makes the task faster.
Email feature for all the alerts like task completion etc.
What do you dislike?
Nessus should give details results for the issue when the scan failed on a VPN connection while scanning the internal network.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am using this to perform vulnerability assessment and configuration assessment.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I have recommended this to my colleague.


    Security and Investigations

very likely recommend

  • June 03, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
the repository for vulnerability is wide and scanning is fast
What do you dislike?
I have not came accros anything as such in nessus scanner
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am using nessus as a vulnerability scanner.


    Information Technology and Services

Easy to use and beginner friendly

  • June 02, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Loved how detailed the findings were represented.
What do you dislike?
The only downside I can think of is that it is quite expensive
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have used it during my bug bounty hunting and pentest engagement, and it proved to be a good addition to my arsenal.


    Health, Wellness and Fitness

Nessus make Easy to Identify Vulnerabilities To secure your network/protocol/OS

  • June 02, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to identify vulnerability and give fix in description.
What do you dislike?
No downside for using nessus.
Help in fixing vulnerabilities
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
using Nessus for network devices & server scanning.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I strongly recommend nessus for vulnerability scanning to identify weakness and fix to secure yourself from threats.