Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Nessus (BYOL)

Tenable, Inc. | 8.15.2

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2018.03 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

2 AWS reviews

External reviews

211 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Namratha C.

Good vulnerability assessment tool

  • June 25, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Scan results are accurate and we will get fast and reliable results
What do you dislike?
Scan configuration is difficult and needs technical assistance
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Accurate scan results and best tool for security


    Ahetesham A.

Nessus is best scanning tool for VA

  • June 25, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Generates the vulnerability report of server.
Where we know what are the vulnerability in server
What do you dislike?
Slow connection. The minimum requirement of the system to be i3 processor , 8 gb ram. 120 HDD.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
To find out the vulnerabilities in the server.
I am able to generate report efficiency.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Nessus is very good for scanning the server.


    Computer Software

Best CPE integrated Vulnerability assessment tools

  • June 24, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Great tool used for getting vulnerabilities in server router switches. One of the best tool recently added CPE Vulnerability assessment
What do you dislike?
There is an integration of CPE it creats some proxy issue please make the issue resolve as soon as possible
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Best vulnerability comes after the results
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Keep going . There is no other tool in market which can compete nessue


    Tejas G.

Backbone tool for vulnerability assessment and Penetration testing.

  • June 23, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
When it comes to performing vulnerability assessment of the systems, Nessus is the widely used tool because of this tools ability to scan and provide comprehensive results of the scan. Nessus has large number of features for performing vulnerability assessment which very few scanner has. To start with, Nessus has ability to schedule the scan any given time. The main feature of this scanner is that it has set of policy templates to perform different types of scans. It has predefined policies to perform the scans like host discovery scan, malware scan, web application test, mobile devices scan to mention a few but I think the standout policy should be the internal PCI network scan which allows to perform the scan and report the vulnerabilities in accordance with PCI DSS compliance standard. Nessus allows to perform credential based scans which is a big plus.
What do you dislike?
The thing I dislike is that Nessus only allows to export the scan results into readable HTML, CSV and Nessus file format which I think could be improved by adding ability to support file formats like PDF.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Nessus has helped me greatly to effectively perform vulnerability assessment. Also, I have found the scan results, vulnerability information of Nessus scans very helpful while performing penetrating testing of different systems.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would really recommend this application to anyone who wants to perform vulnerability assessment because if this applications abilities to perform scans and effectiveness of the scan results.


    Computer & Network Security

Best Security Scanner.

  • June 22, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Nesus professional is all in one tool it's having multiple options for scanning the security stuff like servers, firewall, network, web applications and hardware devices. It's provide accurate results of the scanning. and screenshot we will not provide its against company policy.
What do you dislike?
It's take more time to update. Compare to other scanning tools.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We can scan multiple system during same tims. So it's very useful for us and it provide the good results with any format of report.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Work on updates.


    Computer & Network Security

Excellent for Vulnerability Scanning.

  • June 22, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Best for Vulnerability Scanning on any server and have best support from tenable.
It's updated with most recent attacks Vulnerability plugins.
What do you dislike?
There is nothing to be a disadvantage, but can be more better in future.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Patching with new patches for any new Vulnerability found on any server.


    Shahbaz Ahmed B.

It infrastructure scanner

  • June 18, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
One of the best tool used to it infrastructure scan tool,Which scans all it infrastructure assets and provide the Vulnerability .
What do you dislike?
It is becoming EOL , it provides many false positive Vulnerabilities. It doesn't have plugins to scan hp-ilo devices . It doesn't scan all the ports. Everytime 443,445 n 22 port should be open to perform scan
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are finding the Vulnerability on servers routers and switch as well as firewall .
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Should provide proper results for Vulnerabilities and false positive Vulnerabilities should be less .


    Shyamal M.

Scan your anything with Nessus

  • May 24, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I have used this to scan our servers, Db and OS. By using Nessus we can scan vulnerabilities. In our assignment, I have used this to scan servers in my university. The interface is attractive and easy to work. It gives us many options to scan such as policies advance scan, wanna cry and etc.
What do you dislike?
when first time installs the plugins it takes a long time other than that this is an amazing tool for security field persons.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It helps me to do our assignments and projects. we can save us time. when there is no Nessus we have to check manually. everything is simple with Nessus only thing we have to do wait and see what the result is.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I have highly recommended this to every security-related persons to scan their servers, OS and Db. It is very easy to use.


    Sergio M.

The ideal solution to detect and remedy vulnerabilities in your infrastructure

  • May 03, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
What I like most about Nessus is that it allows us to make discoveries about the equipment that is coexisting in our network, this is very beneficial because it allows us to reinforce security within it and it is often seen that computers appear in the network of which we had no idea and we do not know what activity they are having, could be an attacker, then with nessus we can detect to identify these equipment to later exclude them and keep our network safe at all times
What do you dislike?
What I do not like about Nessus is mainly its interface, which is a bit old-fashioned yet, it can not be denied that they have made some improvements, however they are still far behind in terms of interface if we compare it with other detection tools. vulnerabilities such as AlienVault or Qualys, also another thing that I hate is having to update the plugins of the tool manually every time I'm going to launch scans, I believe that these should be updated automatically for greater convenience of users
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Cyber ​​security is a fundamental factor in the present and that is why tools such as nessus are escensial within companies since it is with these tools or applications that you can perform deep analyzes of your networks, in order to detect which are the vulnerabilities that they are affecting them and in this way to be able to structure a work plan to remedy them, besides that Nessus tells you step by step how to remedy each one of the vulnerabilities that it detects
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The recommendation is that if you want to stay protected at the network level and avoid security breaches, analyze your network with nessus


    Udara S.

Vulnerability assessment is really easy with Nessus

  • April 24, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Great tool with an easy User interface. There are plenty of training materials for this tool. Tester can do discovery of networks along with port scans. At the end of the test can export detailed reports along with remediation steps.
What do you dislike?
Nessus credentialed scans take lot of time to setup & the process is hectic.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
New & existing vulnerabilities can be found easily using this tool. We get help from the detailed report which is provided by this tool to address those vulnerabilities. This makes our organizations risk factor to low. Which means it lowers the chance of getting hacked in the wild. This ensure our company is not an easy target for hackers and malicious vectors.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Go for this tool. Really worth it for the money you are spending