Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Nessus (BYOL)

Tenable, Inc. | 8.14.0

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2018.03 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

2 AWS reviews

External reviews

204 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Sergio M.

The ideal solution to detect and remedy vulnerabilities in your infrastructure

  • May 03, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
What I like most about Nessus is that it allows us to make discoveries about the equipment that is coexisting in our network, this is very beneficial because it allows us to reinforce security within it and it is often seen that computers appear in the network of which we had no idea and we do not know what activity they are having, could be an attacker, then with nessus we can detect to identify these equipment to later exclude them and keep our network safe at all times
What do you dislike?
What I do not like about Nessus is mainly its interface, which is a bit old-fashioned yet, it can not be denied that they have made some improvements, however they are still far behind in terms of interface if we compare it with other detection tools. vulnerabilities such as AlienVault or Qualys, also another thing that I hate is having to update the plugins of the tool manually every time I'm going to launch scans, I believe that these should be updated automatically for greater convenience of users
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Cyber ​​security is a fundamental factor in the present and that is why tools such as nessus are escensial within companies since it is with these tools or applications that you can perform deep analyzes of your networks, in order to detect which are the vulnerabilities that they are affecting them and in this way to be able to structure a work plan to remedy them, besides that Nessus tells you step by step how to remedy each one of the vulnerabilities that it detects
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The recommendation is that if you want to stay protected at the network level and avoid security breaches, analyze your network with nessus


    Udara S.

Vulnerability assessment is really easy with Nessus

  • April 24, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Great tool with an easy User interface. There are plenty of training materials for this tool. Tester can do discovery of networks along with port scans. At the end of the test can export detailed reports along with remediation steps.
What do you dislike?
Nessus credentialed scans take lot of time to setup & the process is hectic.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
New & existing vulnerabilities can be found easily using this tool. We get help from the detailed report which is provided by this tool to address those vulnerabilities. This makes our organizations risk factor to low. Which means it lowers the chance of getting hacked in the wild. This ensure our company is not an easy target for hackers and malicious vectors.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Go for this tool. Really worth it for the money you are spending


    Victor M.

The best tool for vulnerability analysis; Nessus

  • April 23, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
There are many tools currently to analyze network vulnerabilities, stations, servers and network devices, but few are as efficient and accurate as it is Nessus, what I like most about this powerful application in the first place is that its vulnerability database is constantly updated, in Nessus known as Pugins, not only allows you to detect vulnerabilities that affect your equipment, but also allows you to make a discovery of your network, through which you can validate if there are unauthorized devices found connected to it, it is a simply excellent tool
What do you dislike?
What I do not like about Nessus is how basic the reports generated by the tool can be, since there are other tools of this type that although they are not more powerful than Nessus, when it comes to delivering results of what is has detected offer extensive and fully detailed reports, with Nessus you can have fully detailed information, but in my case to reach it, what I do is export the reports to excel, build a matrix and through dynamic tables I generate the information that I was asked, but if they improved the reporter of the tool would be excellent
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
At the corporate level there are many solutions and advantages offered by Nessus, starting with the fact that it allows you to see what are the security breaches that your equipment and your network suffer for its remediation, in fact it tells you step by step how to take out these remediations, in my case I use it to perform scans and remediation in the company network in this way, we can be sure that we are fully protected and can not be attacked by any intruder
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Request the trial version, analyze and discover how unprotected they are, and see how Nessus helps them remedy and close all their security breaches


    Government Administration

IT Professional using Nessus

  • April 16, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Nessus is an easy to use tool that doesnt require years of expertise to be able to run and understand how to conduct vulnerability scans. It is a tool that does great with customization and I love that it can operate on multiple platforms, which is very help in a large enterprise. I like that Nessus comes with Security Center, which handles network monitoring and vulnerability management in a dashboard manner and SCCV, which detects vulnerabilities in real time
What do you dislike?
Nessus could provide more in their reports after a vulnerability scan is complete. Other scanning tools provide more insightful reports on what was identified during the scan. It would be nice if Nessus was an IPS instead of an IDS.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Vulnerability scanning, vulnerability detection, insider threat, network monitoring, and vulnerability and network management
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Easy to use tool for vulnerability scanning and network monitoring. Pricing is great compared to similar products on the market


    Computer Software

Easy to use, reliable, and up to date.

  • April 04, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It works, and it works well. I like that it's updated daily with new signature and vulnerabilities. It's incredibly easy to get a pre-configured scan started, and just as easy to automate it. I like the granularity that you can configure scans with. The reporting features are great, but we export the reports to a vuln manager.
What do you dislike?
It can be kind of confusing unless you can figure out their menus and terminology. It is also sometimes quite slow without easily being able to access a verbose log of what's going on. There are also some features that are shown but not included on the current platform, only if you migrate to Tenable.io.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use Nessus for server security auditing and assessing. We have scheduled scans to alert us of any new vulnerabilities in our systems, as well as for patch auditing.


    Christopher K. A.

Nessus - Protection against all types of vulnerabilities.

  • March 06, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Strong and deep scanning, against all types of threats that may affect the vulnerability of any of the services we are running, this security system, has an advanced detection of hacker attacks of all kinds, the updates are constant and automatic, plus if you wish it can be updated manually, in case of finding any vulnerability that the tool has not detected due to any lack of update, it is an exception, but the possibility of doing so exists, something I like very much are the notifications, that really they have importance, since they warn of some type of vulnerability that may exist in the network, and this system warns you before it can touch you, to update the databases, and have a protection against these attacks, which are just emerging.
What do you dislike?
The creation of reports from the analysis performed, lacks necessary data, to perform a deeper analysis of how to detect and prevent some incidents of this type, would like to obtain much more detailed reports, where each vulnerability is detailed, with statistical data, possible origin of the vulnerability, and recommendations, of blockages for this type of vulnerability.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Thanks to this tool we can execute a complete analysis of our teams, and detect vulnerabilities that day by day come to light, hackers are always developing new ways to attack all types of companies, and try to access their information, to perform all kinds of damages, Nessus is that counterpart, which is always being updated constantly, to go one step ahead of these scammers.


    Lidia M.

Vulnerability and remediation management

  • February 19, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Nessus offers enormous flexibility in how it tracks vulnerabilities across the network. The scan is multiplatform, it can be executed in local, network objectives or as an agent. You can launch the scan from outside the firewall, which offers the real visibility of the company. The implementation and configuration of Nessus is very simple, we like to use the agents to create groups of scans and in this way automate the process. Everything works very well and the creation of reports is perfect to keep track of remediations. I like that we can do the compliance analyzes.
What do you dislike?
We had a problem with a client where the requirements to deploy Nessus could not be applied, the Tenable team has not yet been able to give us a strong response to resolve the situation. The information provided to perform the remediation is not the best possible, I would like to improve on new updates a better tool for this. The automatic updates of the supplements should be more consecutive.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
With Nessus we carry out the vulnerability and compliance scan, to then carry out the remediation cycles in our clients' networks. With Tenable's enormous base of knowledge and threats, we make sure to attend to every detail that could be a cause of attack on the network. Thanks to the agents we can also evaluate the host in particular to have a more granular scheme..
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommend Nessus and Tenable because with them we have been able to establish an important service within our company. It is an excellent tool to scan objectives and present reports.


    Information Technology and Services

Nessus scanning

  • January 30, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Nessus scanning in and of itself is rather simple. It is nice that debugging is built in to the gui and logs can be easily retrieved. Nessus is definitely best when deployed with Security Center.
What do you dislike?
Some of the logic built in to the Cisco handler didnt make sense. When the logic was presented with a #, it wouldn't issue the enable password required for escalation. Getting the logic fixed for this issue took over 9 months to resolve.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
This tool replaced McAfee vulnerability management and was a much more solid tool comparatively speaking.


    David G.

AWS needs to update this AMI

  • January 09, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Works great but AWS needs to update this AMI so that the version of Nessus is at least 7.1.3 and above. I was unable to update Nessus. Per Tenable, it's not possible to update Nessus if launched from this AMI.

https://docs.tenable.com/releasenotes/nessus/servicebulletin.htm




    Matt B.

Excellent Scanning Engine

  • January 08, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The interface is intuitive and easy to navigate.
What do you dislike?
The price tag is not unreasonable, but does still present a hurdle for small companies with limited budget for security software.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The ease of use and simplicity of setup has provided an opportunity to quickly get our internal vulnerability management program up and running with exceptional results.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
In my opinion, Nessus is about as close to industry standard as possible. They really set the bar for others to follow in usability, clean interface, and acceptance by the industry as a whole.