Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Nessus (BYOL)

Tenable, Inc. | 8.14.0

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2018.03 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

2 AWS reviews

External reviews

176 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Computer & Network Security

Nessus Vulnerability Scanner

  • July 31, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The Nessus vulnerability scanner from Tenable offers excellent vulnerability and compliance scanning coverage. The API offers good flexibility for developing custom solutions. Coupled with other Tenable products, such as Tenable.io, SecurityCenter, or NessusManager provides centralized management and reporting.
What do you dislike?
There are some issues when trying to create minimalist scan policies for host discovery purposes. For example, there is an SNMP plugin that always runs.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Nessus is one of the tools that we use within our vulnerability management program. It has helped us ensure patches are being deployed in a timely fashion, find systems vulnerable to specific issues, and ensure system builds are compliant with our security baselines.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The Nessus scanner by itself is a great tool and has a large number of plugins and vulnerability coverage. The basic reporting is acceptable but is much more robust and customizable when coupled with other products.


    Computer Software

Vuln mgmt in a nutshell

  • June 26, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
High level vuln mgmt for audits uses simple metric to check for vulns on servers
What do you dislike?
Nothing really. Great tool to check servers for vulnerabilities
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Checking major vulnerabilities, lately spectre and intel vulns on servers


    Information Technology and Services

Nessus is a reliable and helpful product

  • April 24, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the reporting and vulnerability filtering specialitiy according to the worldwide products. For example You can filter the vulnerabilities by type and by exploitability ease.
What do you dislike?
I did not dislike any properties of this product. But if i have to need to say something i dislike. I could say price increasing of this product is very high.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I can easily detect any vulnerabilities with huge database support for this vulnerabilities. Penetration testing related work. Network penetration testing with nessus. Compliance check.


    Airlines/Aviation

Easy Vulnerability Scanning

  • March 20, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of use, simple reports, quick to setup, quick scanning, no training required for use.
What do you dislike?
There isn't much i dislike, the ability to customise scans is somewhat limited but this helps keep the application simple.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Quick and easy to scan devices for vulnerabilities. We use this in preparation for audits to ensure we are compliant, especially useful if going for Cyber Essentials Plus, or PCI compliance.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You can get a proof of concept from Nessus before you buy.


    Financial Services

Nessus

  • March 01, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It handles all of our artifacts with ease, it's integrations with other products is great as well.
What do you dislike?
I don't anything concrete that I dislike
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use it to scan our network activity and find vulnerabilities, attempts of attack, etc.


    Gregory M.

outstanding capabilities

  • January 18, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Leading the industry, Tenable Networks and their Nessus vulnerability scanning tool uncover countless issues missed by other products. Steup up to the enterprise product and you'll get assistance with patch management, integration with management and reporting tools and the ability to generate workloads, tickets and other notifications thru APIs. The Tenable eco-system WILL make it possible to truly protect your network.
What do you dislike?
anything but the basic professional scanner is costly but can be worth it if you value your enterprise
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Nessus Professional provides immediate identification of vulnerabilities, missing patches, weak programs that have outdated capabilities to defend against exploits.


    Hemant G.

Free scanner tool

  • January 10, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It scan all the HTTP request and prevent from the remote hackers.
It is easy to use and efficienty. It is user friendly.
What do you dislike?
sometime my system use to hang, not sure is it because of Nessus. Nothing there to dislike.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Secure the system from Online hackers. Always scan port to secure authentic use of it. Believe on Nessus to seccure your system.


    Jessica L.

Incredibly reliable

  • January 09, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
How it identified the vulnerabilities in my system allowing me to create more secure protocols
What do you dislike?
I found that it can be rather complex for my end users
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I was resolving a breach in my security
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I suggest that you should get in touch with a sales member on their team to help you go in the right direction with their products


    Computer & Network Security

Excellent software

  • January 06, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Been a fan of tenable for a long time the only thing I would actually say is I wish they stayed open source
What do you dislike?
No longer open source, commercial business
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Assists in vulnerability management


    Broadcast Media

Nessus VA Scanner

  • January 06, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Has been extremely useful in boosting security of all our portals over the last 12 months
What do you dislike?
a bit slow when running very large web applications and word press blogs
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We Security is the key