Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Nessus (BYOL)

Tenable, Inc. | 10.0.1

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2018.03 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

2 AWS reviews

External reviews

214 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Felix K.

Nessus - a Reliable Security and Vulnerability Checker

  • August 29, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
1. The Nessus agent can effectively scan and report threats.
2. It offers predefined scanning templates that are highly customizable.
3. One of its most significant advantages has to be credential scanning, which enables deeper security and vulnerability scans.
4. The reports are well-organized and comprehensive.
5. The user interface is actually very simple and smooth for ease of navigation.
6. It also runs in the background and is memory-friendly, so the end user's CPU performance is unaffected.
What do you dislike?
Other than the fact that it is limited to single scans, there aren't many things to dislike about Nessus. Large scans can also be time-consuming. Support for other app integration could also be advantageous.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
1. Security Scans
2. Vulnerability Checks
3. File scans
4. Risk Analysis and evaluation


    Gihan J.

Nessus is the ultimate time saver for vulnerability scanning

  • August 15, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
As a penetration tester there were times that I had to perform operating system compliance reviews manually. To do that you have to go through all the documented details in benchmarks to get a crystal clear idea before even executing the given command. Reading issue details on over 500+ pages (most of the time) repetitively is a waste of time . Because of the tool 'Nessus' we can just pass the parameters and actually can let our focus on other operations. Nessus will do the job without any trouble. Incontrovertibly, nessus is the number one performer in discovering assets,sensitive data /malware detection,OS/database/mobile apps/web apps/network devices/tablets/hypervisors vulnerability scanning.It's worth to mention the amazing report creation feature of nessus which helped me to identify the critical levels of the vulnerabilities easily.
What do you dislike?
Price of nessus is too much considering the tools in the same domain. Nessus is susceptible to produce false positives and because of that the testers need to put more effort and time.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Nessus training and certification is a useful way to get familiar with nessus interface and functionalities for a beginner.


    Romesh P.

Nessus - The VA Scanner

  • August 14, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Nessus is a very user-friendly application, and it even has pre-defined templates to select which profile to be used for vulnerability scanning.
What do you dislike?
When it scans very large data sets and applications, it takes a considerable time and becomes a bit laggy.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
A very common burden that System Admins have is patch management. Nessus helps to address this issue very smoothly with automated scans and reports
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are trying to keep your organization consistently compliant, this is a must-have tool.


    Information Technology and Services

Nessus is the best VA tool.

  • June 24, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
- Compatible with all kinds of applications and OS.
- Easy to configure with an existing environment.
- Easy to manage.
What do you dislike?
The scanning duration takes time. Can be improved.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
All kinds of Vulnerabilities and loop holes.


    Mr. A.

Best application web application pentester and researcher.

  • June 18, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Beside every tool, i love to use nessus more often because of it's accuracy it's been really easy and handy to use it. I personally love to use it more.
What do you dislike?
Well, there is nothing much I have about tool. And i seriously don't remember last time when this tool disappointed me.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I'm into web application penetration testing, and this tool helped me in getting the accurate result unlike other tools as well as it's kinda fast and reliable.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I personally believe that, people don't just seeing reviews or ads but they believe after using it. So I recommend using it.


    Ashen S.

One of the best vulnerability scanner I've ever used

  • June 15, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
What I most like about nessus is customization when using scans. We can add credentials, set IP ranges and ports and etc. We can use different scan methods for different purposes. Also it gives best scanning results and those scanning results can be exported as HTML, PDF or CSV reports. Also the report can be customize when exporting. When nessus gives me a report it also providing the introduction of vulnerabilites, impact of the vulnerability to the host and mitigation methods and reference to find more about the vulnerabilites.
What do you dislike?
What I dont like this Nessus proffesional version is some time it gives false positives. As an example when nessus gives me a scan results of an web application vulnerability scan usually I seach for those vulnearabilities for testing purposes. That required time. If those results are false possitive, all the search time and testing times are wasted.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
When I pentesting first tool I use is Nessus. I use different scanning methods for different purposes. As an example I mostly use network scans, web application scans, policy compliance audting scans, and advanced dynamic scans. Nessus also can be used as malware scan Nessus helped me to find lot of vulnerabilities using different scans.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are in Cyber security side. This is a best vulnerabilty scanner that worth your every penny. I've used it. It gives the best scanning resutls so we can follow those results to test vulnerabilities.


    Swapnesh C.

Best Automation Tool for Vulnerability Assessment

  • June 07, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Nessus helps in running credential-based scanning of different servers. It also has templates for multiple network devices like firewalls, switches, etc.
The reporting feature of this tool is also the best with editable elements like logo and severity levels.
What do you dislike?
Till now, I didn't find any negative points regarding Nessus.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Nessus helps in running credential-based scanning of different servers. It also has templates for multiple network devices like firewalls, switches, etc.
Nessus also provides templates for scanning web applications and MDM applications.
Nessus also provides reports in different formats, which we can use in various tasks.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
For all the people who are doing penetration testing, Nessus is the best tool to get started with.


    Charis S.

An efficient and user-friendly vulnerability scanner

  • June 05, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
friendly user interface, quick and effective vulnerability scanning, trustworthy findings. Moreover Nessus provides a builtin reporting mechanism in order to quickly and effectively produce finding report
What do you dislike?
Somehow complicated setup in a Linux environment. Moreover some of Nessus findings are often false-positive
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Automation of vulnerability scanning in Web application pen testing assignments. Moreover, it effectively speeds up the initial steps of the web application security testing procedure as it does a good job of mapping the web application and uncovering vulnerabilities or bugs of the web application
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would recommend nessus scanner to anyone seeking to use an effective automated vulnerability scanner. It provides a beautiful user interface while its reporting format is quite satisfactory


    Computer & Network Security

The best tool for your recon

  • June 05, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It scans not only remote flaws of the host but their missing patches and other versions also
What do you dislike?
Its little bit heavy for sma end devices so developer should focus on wide variety and flexibility
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
As i am seeking Pentester i used Nessus for finding vulnerabilities in host which is quick fast and reliable


    Mahendra D.

Nessus review

  • June 05, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The simple and easily understandable user interface makes the task faster.
Email feature for all the alerts like task completion etc.
What do you dislike?
Nessus should give details results for the issue when the scan failed on a VPN connection while scanning the internal network.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am using this to perform vulnerability assessment and configuration assessment.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I have recommended this to my colleague.