Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Nessus (BYOL)

Tenable, Inc. | 8.14.0

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2018.03 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

2 AWS reviews

External reviews

202 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Financial Services

Nessus

  • March 01, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It handles all of our artifacts with ease, it's integrations with other products is great as well.
What do you dislike?
I don't anything concrete that I dislike
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use it to scan our network activity and find vulnerabilities, attempts of attack, etc.


    Gregory M.

outstanding capabilities

  • January 18, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Leading the industry, Tenable Networks and their Nessus vulnerability scanning tool uncover countless issues missed by other products. Steup up to the enterprise product and you'll get assistance with patch management, integration with management and reporting tools and the ability to generate workloads, tickets and other notifications thru APIs. The Tenable eco-system WILL make it possible to truly protect your network.
What do you dislike?
anything but the basic professional scanner is costly but can be worth it if you value your enterprise
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Nessus Professional provides immediate identification of vulnerabilities, missing patches, weak programs that have outdated capabilities to defend against exploits.


    Hemant G.

Free scanner tool

  • January 10, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It scan all the HTTP request and prevent from the remote hackers.
It is easy to use and efficienty. It is user friendly.
What do you dislike?
sometime my system use to hang, not sure is it because of Nessus. Nothing there to dislike.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Secure the system from Online hackers. Always scan port to secure authentic use of it. Believe on Nessus to seccure your system.


    Jessica L.

Incredibly reliable

  • January 09, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
How it identified the vulnerabilities in my system allowing me to create more secure protocols
What do you dislike?
I found that it can be rather complex for my end users
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I was resolving a breach in my security
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I suggest that you should get in touch with a sales member on their team to help you go in the right direction with their products


    Computer & Network Security

Excellent software

  • January 06, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Been a fan of tenable for a long time the only thing I would actually say is I wish they stayed open source
What do you dislike?
No longer open source, commercial business
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Assists in vulnerability management


    Broadcast Media

Nessus VA Scanner

  • January 06, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Has been extremely useful in boosting security of all our portals over the last 12 months
What do you dislike?
a bit slow when running very large web applications and word press blogs
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We Security is the key


    Mark V.

NESSUS Security alerts

  • December 28, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The connecting the software to exchange for alert notification.
What do you dislike?
The launch screen could be quick navigation one. Usage statistics divided from external and internal users. Increase usage reports from low use to high use of site from external hits, and actions taken, plus if actions were suspicious.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
On prem security for web sites that face the public. Alerts for users trying to breach firewalls, or code injection. External usage of our web sites.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The product is maturing and newer versions seem to satisfy customer requests for improvement and usability.


    Ivan M.

The absolute standard for vulnerability scanning

  • December 19, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The scanner is very easy to use, easy to deploy, easy to set up and easy to license. When using the scanner properly (placed in the subnet you need to scan and scanning with credentials), it does its job just fine. Verification with compliance standards is also very easy too, and comes preloaded with the most used standards and even those which are less used widely (such as federal government ones).
What do you dislike?
Sometimes the remediation information aren't accurate enough for a customer to execute. I understand this is just a scanner and not a remediation tool, but the remediation information over the vulnerabilities found definitely could be better.

Some vulnerabilities need to actually be tested for being true and since this is just a vulnerability scanning tool and not an exploitation tool, you might have some false positives around. I know Tenable does a great effort to make sure the tool is fully accurate, but sometimes it can't be done their way.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Standard compliance is easily manageable through this scanner. So, when it's an industry requirement to be compliant, this scanner helps greatly. Depending on your network setup and industry, you can be fully compliant in weeks, not months as with other tools.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Read the documentation when using the tool. Most of the support questions we get as reseller are mostly topics that are well documented, both in Tenable Support Portal and Tenable University. Every customer has access to Tenable University (from Tenable Support Portal) and I recommend to your employees to go through all of it before attempting to use the tool or ask for support. I also recommend that you understand this is not an exploitation and/or remediation tool, seen from that standpoint, the tool is very useful!


    Outsourcing/Offshoring

Good Features and easy to use

  • December 05, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
User Interface (GUI)
- Easy to navigate the fields for scanning and creating templates for scan
What do you dislike?
Adding subnets and VLANs
- It will be better if we can change how we add VLANs or IP Ranges. If you have a lot IP ranges, you have to check it one by one if we need to exclude IP or hostname
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Vulnerabilities (mostly from our internal servers and networks)


    Michael Angelo I.

Scan like you always care

  • December 04, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Nessus always on top of my list for enterprise vulnerability scanner. The way it discover assets and identify correct OS information, vulnerabilities assessment, with a lot of features blades like compliance auditing, mobile, malware/botnet detection. I also love the tennable.io product
What do you dislike?
Not at much to disliked all features are great and they are in track providing ways to improve their product sets. I would say pricing but at the end of the day price is right on what you can get from the product.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Like any other enterprise determining the hole on the network thru vulnerability assessment and passing compliance requirements.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Nessus is expensive true but your money is worth it. You can try to play on their trial products like tenable professional, IO, and tenable manager.