Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Esri ArcGIS Enterprise 10.5.1 Japanese with SQL Server Express(May 2018)

Esri | 10.5.1 Patched

Windows, Windows Server 2012 R2 w/SQL Express 2014 2012R2 x64 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

415 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Patrick R.

The most powerful GIS software package for geospatial analyses and map production

  • November 03, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
ArcGIS is a powerful GIS software package that's capable of processing complex geospatial analyses - making it versatile and useful in many industries. Whether for finding and evaluating areas for natural resources or producing maps for safety and security, the tools within can be used for a wide variety of contexts. The company that produces ArcGIS (Esri Inc.) are dedicated to customer satisfaction and have many skilled developers, sales reps, and education experts that are there to help you find the right solution for you.
What do you dislike?
Licencing for the product can sometimes be daunting to understand or rather expensive. Esri are actively working to simplify this process, but it can be off putting for some.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have worked in a wide variety of industries - Oil and Gas, Defence Contracting, Urban Planning, and Academic Research. I find that many questions across industries are geospatial ones that ArcGIS helps me answer - understanding transportation costs, finding areas of vulnerability, or simply better understanding what is where and showing that to people who are interested. ArcGIS can be used to improve decision making and save money and resources for companies that recognise the importance of geospatial analyses.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Over my years of experience, I've used many GIS packages (e.g. MapInfo, QGIS, ArcGIS, etc.); ArcGIS, by far, has the community that provides the most support and is the most powerful GIS package out there. That said, though, the cost may make this difficult to implement in your organisation. I might recommend starting out with QGIS, which is free, to begin doing basic geospatial analyses. Once you become comfortable with it, if you feel there are higher level analyses that you would like to do that QGIS isn't capable of and you have the finances to be able to afford ArcGIS, then try out ArcGIS and if you like it, purchase a copy.

I'd also recommend checking out ArcGIS Online, the cloud GIS solution that is free to sign up for and you get 2 GB of storage space to begin making basic maps. It's quite robust and makes sharing maps very easy.


    Architecture & Planning

Used in college

  • November 03, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the valuable information that the program produces.
What do you dislike?
I dislike the learning curve that it can have and the time it takes for a beginner to overcome.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I'm a landscape planner and ArcGIS is beneficial in regional planning analysis.


    Higher Education

Great product, if you can afford it

  • November 03, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Lots of tools, and accessibility to python automation. Its fairly easy to use and there is a lot of documentation to help with both simple and complex tasks.
What do you dislike?
Cost. There are free options that do similar things.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Providing quality GIS Data to others, also using it for sustainability management in the state of Washington.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use it if you can afford it. It is a very good GIS software.


    Oil & Energy

ArcGIS: Industry Standard GIS Software Platform

  • November 03, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
ArcGIS is a widely used GIS software program by ESRI which comes in three flavors (Basic, Standard, Advanced). It can be further enabled with extensions such as Spatial Analyst, 3D Analyst, etc. to help with specific GIS data and analysis. ArcGIS can work with CAD data, KML files for Google Earth and other data sources. There are several other GIS programs out there that do some of the same things and cost much less but do consider the immense number of ArcGIS users that have already run into problems and found solutions for them. ESRI also has a good support team that can help as long as you have kept up with your annual maintenance fees. Inevitably you will run into a problem and in a production environment it's crucial to have that additional support when you need it.
What do you dislike?
ArcGIS, like any program has bugs. I know ESRI usually attempts to fix them when they are aware of them but some of them can be annoying. One that any GIS professional will tell you is that ArcGIS holds onto data locks sometimes. Once you understand them you can make it work but it's still a bother. Some of the ArcGIS toolsets are not ideal but do still get you a result. An instance where it could be improved is clipping out a subset of imagery, which can take a considerable amount of time depending on the area and it does not always succeed as desired. So if you want a program that deals with a lot of imagery manipulation this is not it. Viewing imagery data is fine but imagery processing is limited. Another significant point to note is that it does have a steep learning curve. Finally, it is expensive.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
ArcGIS has been a great resource for our organization with regards to pipeline mapping and data analysis.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you need GIS software consider these things:
What do you want to get from it now and in the future?
What are you willing to and able to pay for it?
How crucial is GIS software to providing your products/services?

Do your clients work with it and require ArcGIS data outputs?

ArcGIS is a great tool, just make sure you really need it and that you have someone that can work with it. It is the high-end version of GIS software so just make sure you need it before you pay to get it. There are many free GIS tools out there that can do quite a lot.


    Emmalee D.

Easy to use and easy to automate processes (more R!)

  • November 03, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I've seen vast improvements in functionality. Processing power has also improved. I find the most useful aspect of ArcGIS is its integration with Python. There are a ton of pre-built tool available, but every so often a custom tool is required,
What do you dislike?
The lack in integration with R. The bridge was introduced this past year, but the ease of integration is still very poor. ArcGIS needs more statistical functionality.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The automation capabilities within ArcGIS are hugely beneficial to efficiency and productivity.


    Sarah R.

Useful for visuals, but can be tedious.

  • November 03, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the interface that GIS uses. Specifically the Desktop version (I mainly use ArcMap10.2, and ArcCatalog,). I find Arc products to be very consistent, and as such, I feel comfortable using the various software in different situations. Its is also amazing for visual analysis.
What do you dislike?
Arc, and ESRI products can be very tedious. Many tools and applications will only work if action are performed in specific ways and steps. Arc licensing is also expensive and can be a deterrent.

I am a Mac user. The company I work for is a Mac company. The fact that Arc products do not work on Macs is a major issue for me. I had to get my own computer specifically for the ArcGIS needs.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
My most recent project was to determine where targeted marketing for a company should occur. I used Arc to create a cluster analysis of where the company had the highest program uptake and the highest program results. I then created maps outlining where I suggest targeted marketing occur based on historic trends of program uptake and program benefit.

A major benefit is the fact that Arc software can produce a visuals for projects were necessary. This is key for the research marketing and consulting world.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's very good for consulting and market research. You can easily show the visual side of your projects. If you are looking for these sorts of needs, I would suggest Arc. Also if you ware doing any spatial research or analysis Arc is a good program.


    Christopher H.

ARCGIS, so powerful, useful, innovative and sometimes frustrating

  • November 03, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I love all the various tools that ARCGIS has available for different forms of spatial analysis and data visualization. Although, it takes some getting used to, eventually things become more familiar overtime. ARCGIS provides good tech support and is always making it easier for the user to do complex calculations with the click of a button.
What do you dislike?
Because it's been around for a long time, ARCGIS has it's bugs and can sometimes freeze or shutdown unexpectedly. When learning to work with ARCGIS, it's recommended to save often. At times, tools may work because of something hidden that needs to be clicked or unclicked which can be frustrating.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I'm solving real world problems. I've worked on projects including flood risk analysis involving communities to mapping for social justice issues like food and open space availability.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Offers a lot of great tools but there is also free open source software types that may suit you better. Determine what your needs are and proceed from there.


    Arie H.

ESRI's ArcGIS

  • November 03, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Robust functionality, broad user base, great documentation, and decent technical support
What do you dislike?
Cost, since this product is sold as "software as a service" the price can quickly add up.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We utilize ArcGIS Online to provide public maps, the software allows us to quickly customize and publish Web based maps of our organizations data. This has allowed use to provide the public and internal users with up to date and near real time information. This allows for transparency as well as data driven decision making.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Consider your needs and the cost of ArcGIS. ArcGIS is by far the best and most complete GIS out there, but depending on your organizations needs there are several other low/no cost alternatives.


    Soham S.

My world literally revolves around this indispensible software

  • November 03, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like the variety of GIS tasks that you can do with this software. Very comprehensive. It is the industry leader for GIS tasks.
What do you dislike?
It can have a steep learning curve and it is has so many features that it will take a few years to master all of its capabilities and functionalities.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It can solve any problem that involves using spatial information, mapping trends, patterns, spatial data etc.


    Hospital & Health Care

Excellent experience for mid-level user but some tweaks needed.

  • November 03, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
ArcGIS is a one of a kind software which allows users with varying backgrounds the ability to work with Maps and Spatial Data. The integration with Python and SQL also gives programmers the ability to create custom script and code. Spatial statistics tools are very advanced and rigorous.
What do you dislike?
It is difficult for a low to medium-level user to get the final product he requires. Documentation on using ArcGIS is difficult to navigate to just to get a simple solution (heat map?), with the ArcGIS website being the most difficult. Spatial Statistics tools are not very well documented which leads to false conclusions for those who do not have a statistics background but use this tool for making business decisions.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Providing a visual tool for understanding spatial trends is useful in understanding data on a different scale which is often times forgotten.
Building predictive models using spatial relationships is useful in predicting future trends.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Useful in understanding data on a spatial level as well as building predictive relationships often times not considered in conventional analyses. Have someone on-hand with experience using the software or provide technical training opportunity.