Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Esri ArcGIS Enterprise 10.5.1 Japanese with SQL Server Express(May 2018)

Esri | 10.5.1 Patched

Windows, Windows Server 2012 R2 w/SQL Express 2014 2012R2 x64 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

414 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Kristin E.

Long-term user with nothing but praise (except for cost)

  • November 13, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
One of my favourite features of ArcGIS is the mapping capabilities that the program has as mapping is a very intuitive way to communicate information. Although a true cartographer would disagree, I really like the defaults. Maps are very easy to produce and look visually appealing. Additionally, newer version of ArcGIS have improved labelling capabilities called "The Maplex Label Engine". Provides more options for labelling which is important when you have labelling multiple overlapping data layers.
What do you dislike?
One of the major downfalls of ESRI's ArcGIS is the cost. There is also a steep learning curve for this program. However, once that is passes, the motility between QGIS, ArcGIS, and other geographical softwares is quite simple.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
If the company has the resources to purchase all licenses, the capabilities of this program are almost endless. This program can be used for simple geovisualization to more complex geospatial analyses, such as deciding where to place a new factory (location-allocation), make predictive models such as linear regression and geographic spatial regressions, and determine a route/ path of least resistance (lowest cost) to name a few.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's a great set of programs with a fantastic online community. I have no reservations using or recommending this program.


    Information Technology and Services

A comprehensive GIS for the intermediate map maker

  • November 09, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I predominately use ArcMap and for my needs it serves as a great GIS for styling, querying and outputting of data.
The interface is clean and the range of tools is expansive and varied.
You are able to export to a variety of formats the most notable for me being an illustrator file (ai). It also keeps your layers which is a big plus for me.
ArcMap also works with MaPublisher which is a great tool for if you want to work with georeferenced data within Adobe Illustrator.
What do you dislike?
What annoys me the most about ArcGIS is its inability to handle large data sets. This is certainly an area I would like to see improved.
ArcMap is also unable to load, directly, all GIS data formats which means translation of your data is needed before you can use your data within ArcMap something which can cost money.
Of course the most notable dislike of ArcGIS is the cost ££££!!!!!
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We most recently used ArcMap to create layer files (style files) for our customers to use with our data.
This means they could load our data into ArcMap and by simply attaching the layer file work with pre styled geographical data.
This saves our customers time and money
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Be wary of what data formats you are using and what formats ArcMap can handle.

If you are complety new to ArcMap it can be quite painful digging through the many menus to locate the feature or function you are looking for.


    Management Consulting

Great tool for economic analysis

  • November 06, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I think the program is a wonderful tool for economic analysis since offers the link between graphical representation and concrete numbers to explain any topic in a easy way to digest the message.
What do you dislike?
It is challenging for non ArcGIS experts to use the tool. However, as an economist I advise working together with a ArcGIS expert to make sure the program can be used to its fullness.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Analysis the agriculture potential in Central America calculating best crops in terms of economic return (taking into consideration terrain, rain, available land) to assist governments in investment choices.


    Government Administration

ArcGIS for Emergency Operations

  • November 06, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like how ArcGIS is used for such a board range of topics. It can be applied to all sorts of topics because the world is becoming how Jack says GeoEnlightened. Giving the user such free rein, there are such open possibilities to apply how ArcGIS is used to create a map or a story of that matter. ArcGIS continuously expands on all the possibilities of the direction of the users and it's very obvious with all the fast paced projects that constantly being produced. It's hard to keep up because the ArcGIS Platform continues to widen with each product having endless solutions. Examples I can think of are ArcGIS Pro, ArcGIS Portal, and Dashboard for Operations.
What do you dislike?
It's hard to dislike such an expanding product when there are so many solutions. That might be the hard part about it. It is moving at such a rapid pace that it's really hard to know 100% that the new product is the right choice to adapt into a workflow or a business process. We have our ways. It's worked for us. Why should we adapt when there's such a steep learning curve for every product. It's hard to continue the day to day along side researching new prospects of solutions and then inform everyone in the department that things are going to change.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are going from creating very fast paced maps that are used in the Operations Center where we are relied on to empowering our users with ArcGIS Portal. Here we create the Web Service and teach users how to add the layers to their Web Map. This has allowed users to depend on us less and allow us to expand more and do more research on new products to see if it can be incorporated into their business workflow.


    Christina D.

I use GIS almost daily for environmental remediation work.

  • November 05, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Excellent program for viewing and analyzing data spatially. Takes our reporting to clients to a whole other level. `
What do you dislike?
The program can sometimes be buggy, though ESRI tech support is very helpful.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am using GIS to view and query data for environmental samples. I have been able to create web-based maps using ArcGIS that I can edit and use in the field, but opening them on an iPad. Gives me real-time access to field data.


    Defense & Space

ArcGIS is the recommended software to use for mapping.

  • November 04, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to use for the beginner to the advanced person for mapping products. I like using this for software for the everyday mapping experience. The buttons are easy to understand and you can get many extensions to use for what is specific to your product that you want.
What do you dislike?
With big amounts of data, the software can experience errors or it crashes. Luckily, the software can auto-save as you go, so loss of data is minimal. Sometimes it takes a while to load an mxd, but the connections can slow this down and where you have it on a server.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
No business problems that I am solving at this moment. ArcGIS is best for mapping. I have used other software and this is the best to use.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
For mapping software, I would recommend using this software. Is a gem to use.


    Bonnie E.

Student and professional ArcGIS User.

  • November 04, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
ArcGIS is relatively easy to use and has many analysis tools.
Converting to KML and exporting to PDF are good features.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes the software is slow and crashes.
Geo-referencing and projecting data is difficult.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use GIS to make maps of PSTA bus routes serving Pinellas county and demographics of the area, I also use GIS analysis tools to look at ridership.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
ArcGIS requires training but has a wide variety of analysis tools.
More advanced training is required for modeling and more in depth analysis.


    Civil Engineering

Industry standard for most GIS purposes. Has it's faults but overall a very good resource.

  • November 04, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The ability to develop add-ons and python scripts to integrate with the software. The large user base that has created a wealth of online resources and tutorials.
What do you dislike?
Frequent crashes and many areas that could use improvement. ESRI has fallen behind in some areas of GIS that should have been implemented years ago. See ArcGIS ideas for an exhaustive list of suggestions for improvement that users have submitted to ESRI.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Primarily mapping for use in government reports. Analysis of spatial datasets to compete metrics related to linear features
Recommendations to others considering the product:
ArcGIS is the industry standard for a GIS environment. Many USA and Canadian government agencies have required data submissions that must be in the ESRI proprietary shapefile format.


    Civil Engineering

Very Useful Tool for Water Resources

  • November 04, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like the overall platform and varying applicability of the tools depending on what you are analyzing, modeling, or trying to portray in a data set.
What do you dislike?
The program is something very slow depending on the amount of data you are working with. There are a lot of quirks when using specific tools and sometimes the file geodatabases seem to sporadically become corrupt. I also wish the tools were more clear as to what inputs need to be done (which is already pretty good), but sometimes it's hard to figure out what is being done incorrectly inorder to get the tool to work as you'd like.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I work in Water Resources for Watershed Management. We specifically use a lot of ArcHydro Tools.


    Non-Profit Organization Management

Great product.

  • November 04, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Each update seems to make the product easier to use. It's getting more user friendly, even for an average user.
What do you dislike?
I still can't use any other applications while using desktop, without the risk of ArcGIS crashing.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use it for mapping