Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Esri ArcGIS Enterprise 10.5.1 Japanese with SQL Server Express(May 2018)

Esri | 10.5.1 Patched

Windows, Windows Server 2012 R2 w/SQL Express 2014 2012R2 x64 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

408 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Keith W.

GIS Manager

  • November 04, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Enterprise solutions that are second to none with live support when you need it. ArcGIS provides powerful tools to get the job done and provide mapping to support your business.
What do you dislike?
Can be complicated at times and often comes out with bugs.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Mapping Utility infrastructure. Benefits through analysis, modeling and time savings.


    John B.

I have used ArcGIS and its predecessor Arc/Info for 18 years.

  • November 04, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The software in its basic version has lots of features and analysis capabilities. If you are willing to pay more money, you get tons of analytical tools to do just about anything with vector data, raster data, image data, and transportation/networks. The software is fairly intuitive to use and the interface is nice to look at, and it has the ability to make very nice looking map products. Plus, there is a huge online community that can help you figure out how to do just about anything, or solve any problem, with the software.
What do you dislike?
The price of the product can be a barrier for smaller businesses, and if you require more sophisticated analysis tools the price gets even steeper. ArcGIS can be slow to startup so you have to be patient, and navigating through folders to find data can also be very slow, especially if that data resides on a network.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have solved numerous problems with the software, such as managing geographic data for large timberland owners, completing transportation and logistics optimization analysis, locating optimal sites for wetlands mitigation and renewal, managing endangered species habitat, and completing higher and better use land analysis for real estate sales and development. The software has paid enormous dividends in helping determine what projects to invest in, and what projects will not pay off. It is also very useful in communicating analysis results with high quality map products.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
There are commercial and open source alternatives to ArcGIS, however, none have the combination of functionality and ease of use that ArcGIS has. ESRI usually gives potential customers ample time to evaluate the software, and they have staff with a wide range of experience in various industries that can help you. It is important to understand how you will use the software and what features you absolutely need, otherwise you may pay for more than you need.


    Construction

20+ year ESRI veteran

  • November 04, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I've been using ESRI products since ArcINFO workstation which was run on UNIX using a command line interface. Accessibility to the technology was very limited at that point due to the high cost of the software and the hardware needed to run it. When ESRI ventured into the desktop world with ArcView in the '90s it opened up the world of GIS to a larger audience. I became an authorized instructor at that time and students in my classes included petroleum engineers, surveyors, teachers, environmental scientists and the former Lieutenant Governor of the state of Texas. Functionality, at this point, was pretty much limited to basic spatial analysis and making maps. It was the 1999 release of ArcGIS 8.X that really started the GIS revolution with expanded toolsets, a more intuitive GUI and the first version of ArcCatalog to help users manage their spatial data.
Today, the look and feel of ArcGIS changes so rapidly it's difficult to keep up. The flexibility of the software is one of its strong suits. No matter what industry you work in, you can find a way to incorporate some aspect of ArcGIS. In my case, I work for an engineering company in their pipeline group. I use the software to find routes for new pipelines, locate facilities, analyze crossings and manage ROW acquisitions. GIS has also moved to the web. ESRI has developed functionality that allows me to create a map in ArcMap, upload it to ArcGIS Online and then create a web map application. This workflow saves me a tremendous amount of time and permits me to share my data, maps and analysis with a larger audience.
What do you dislike?
The only thing I really dislike about the software is that it's very difficult to keep up with all of the changes. When I first started using ArcINFO it didn't change very often so it was easy to keep up on the commands and the functionality. Now, it's much harder to stay on top of the extensions, programming, web apps, etc. I spend a lot of time at home on the weekends trying to stay up-to-date on upgrades and additions to the software suite.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I've been involved in many industries during my career but some of the most interesting work I've used ArcGIS for is the clean-up of nuclear contamination at sites in Washington and Ohio. It was very gratifying to be involved in the remediation of those sites. I tracked the different contaminant plumes and how they changed over time, helped with the location of on-site storage facility for low-level waste and created a 300-building model of the site to help with tracking the past, present and future removal of buildings and their components.
There are a number of benefits to using ArcGIS in my work but I think the best one is the opportunity to design my own workflows based on my current assignment. You never stop learning with this software and each time I'm presented with a new assignment I have a chance to dig deeper into what ArcGIS can do and develop solutions to problems I might not have encountered before.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use ESRI's Virtual Campus as much as possible to learn the functionality of the software. Also, don't be afraid to ask your co-workers questions when you're stuck or call ESRI Tech Support. It doesn't do you any good to sit there for hours trying to figure out how to do something that's probably already been done before. It's a complicated software so don't give up. I've been doing this over 20 years and I'm still learning. There are a ton of websites that offer free tutorials on a bunch of different subjects. Use them to broaden your skillset.


    Nicholas M.

The Best Paid GIS Program

  • November 04, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
They have the best assortment of tools, and they usually listen to customer requests. Their help systems are quite good, and their free access to the user conference with a software license is a nice bonus. They are also very active with local groups around the country.
What do you dislike?
Some bug fixes and popular feature requests can take a long time to address. More resources devoted to development and satisfying customer demands rather than doing what they think we want would be nice.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Utility-scale GIS of water and electric assets. This gave us the ability to combine all our data and maps into one location and serve it out over a network and with mobile devices. Previously, we just had dumb CAD drawings and scattered Access databases.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
none


    Oil & Energy

My rating for ArcGIS

  • November 04, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of use. The software seems more streamlined than it use to be with 9.x. Like the built in Python in 10.x.
What do you dislike?
Layout has never been updated. All the places that I've worked at we've had to rely heavily on the layout tool to create maps and the general consensus is that it doesn't offer much with customizing. 10.x's lack of stability. 9.x was way more stable then the current Arc software. Price to have a license. It'd be nice to be able to work on the side but the cost of the license has been a deterrent.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Mapping land data. We're able to capture and store all of our land data into a mapping system. This gives people in the company the ability to view the land for whatever purpose they my need it. ArcGIS gives us the ability to not only store data but use data to create analytical maps for the company.


    Toure Lawrence M.

The Best Tool for GIS Projects

  • November 04, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
ArcGIS is a innovative tool for GIS analysis and mapping. The new online cloud platform works seamlessly with ArcGIS desktop and the user community forum is the best on the web.
What do you dislike?
The cost is expensive and pricey for some non-profit organizations that I have worked with in the past.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am currently working with ArcGIS as a tool to map Social Security benefit data. The software handles the load of data that I have and works well in visualization of the data.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Consider getting the ArcGIS Cloud online platform as well.


    Donaimian H.

Daily ArcGIS User

  • November 04, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
ArcGIS is widely used by everyone, It's the industry standard. Once you learn how to utilize the basic function of the program, you skills quickly accelerate. If you ever run into any problems, need help with a custom tool, or don't know how to do something, it's easy to find out how with a simple internet search. Also, I've been to a few ESRI conferences and they are extremely involved in the different ways the software is used.
What do you dislike?
While I've been using ArcGIS for about 7 years now, both on the academic and professional level. The one thing that's remained consistent through multiple versions, is the fact that the program is very resource intensive. This could become a very annoying problem for the user if their organization isn't able to provide them with a higher performance machine. Additionally, the program has never been the best as far as map creation and rendering. What you see on screen, tends to be rough and visually unappealing. It is vastly different from what you see on paper. The program also lacks built in map creation tools. To create magazine quality maps, you would have to go to Photoshop.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I've used ArcGIS in multiple ways over the past 7 years. On the academic level, I've used it to georeference several sets of aerial images ranging from the 1920's to the mid 90's. This was eventually used as a web map on my Universities Library web page. The scope of the project was the show how the geography of the campus had changed over the years. On the professional level, I've used ArcGIS to manage the bayou system in Harris County (Houston, TX). From maintenance projects, expansion projects, and to identify the location of equipment.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you're on the fence about ArcGIS, visit some of the ESRI conference. There you'll be able to speak to not only ESRI employees, but also interact with it's users and other companies who support the software with third party tools.


    Oil & Energy

ArcGIS and Pipeline

  • November 04, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Because ESRI's ArcGIS software is widely used in the GIS industry, you can google any question you have and find the answers on third party web sites such as stack exchange.
What do you dislike?
Despite the longevity and popularity of the software, there are still bugs and needed improvements. Luckily ESRI has frequent releases to take care of these bugs.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use this software for every part of my job, particularly linear referencing and pipeline data models. I also process lidar images and create hillshades and slopes for geologists to analyze the land forms in right-of-way areas. I take survey coordinates, display them as points and create linearly referenced features on a pipeline. I frequently use model builder and python scripts to automate processes and make them faster.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
This software is the industry standard, and required if you are using an ESRI based database such as PODS Spatial or UPDM.


    Information Technology and Services

The standard for GIS

  • November 04, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
ArcGIS is a suite of software that covers all the necessary GIS requirements a company could have, while remaining up to date with industry requirements. The feature set is plentiful and stability has been improved upon over the years, and is likely to carry on improving. File support is also good, although not as whole as software offered by FME.
What do you dislike?
The interface is highly unintuitive and overdue a rehaul, although the newer software e.g. ArcGIS Online, do provide better layouts than found in the desktop software.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
All geospatial queries can be ran through ESRI's ArcGIS portfolio, from analysing data, to testing if new services work - the "go-to" industry GIS software.


    Higher Education

I have been using this Software from last 10 years

  • November 04, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the new feature that you can digitize your line or polygon features. It is very useful if you have to digitize large files.
What do you dislike?
It is frustrating and disturbing when ArcGIS asks you to connect through the network every time when you logged on.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have been using this software for geological mapping.