Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Secured DNN Platform Windows 2012 R2

Cognosys Inc. | 22.05.1400

Windows, Windows Server 2012 R2 22.05.1400 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

28 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Ali K.

Best CMS Platform

  • May 16, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to develope a complete modular system ( web portals, MIS..., etc) easily, heighly secure, and easy to manage.
What do you dislike?
Few free modules, make other CMS platforms more popular.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I developed web portals I got all that I need (CMS, Authentication system, SEO, Google analytics, File manager,... etc ), also web applications no need to care about theming, logging or security


    Insurance

A CMess

  • April 28, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
DNN has an in-page editor which makes it easy for content editors to see the result immediately.
DNN is based on ASP.NET Framework which is a very powerful web framework.
What do you dislike?
In the free version of DNN, there's no real content authoring experience. If you want to create structured, reusable content, you have to upgrade to the paid platform or use one of the 3rd party options.
We tried going with 3rd party options, but none of them even worked. Unfortunately, the few modules that do exist in DNN's ecosystem often don't work and don't count on getting a response within months or ever.
The same goes for the community. Don't expect a response on forums or StackOverflow. The only active community seems to be on a small Facebook group.
Sometimes DNN Platform contains features that just don't work even though they are visually present. Are they bugs or is it because it only works in the paid product? Not sure.
Coming back to the lack of content editing. Since there's no real content management, you have to put your content directly into HTML modules or develop your own custom modules with your own CRUD applications.
You may as well create a static HTML website in which case the HTML output will at least be cleaner. The CMS outputs a bunch of bloat HTML, CSS, and JavaScript even when you don't need their HTML, CSS, or JS.
The only way to reduce the amount of bloat is through ugly hacks stripping out unwanted HTML.

The CMS is also fundamentally flawed to build SEO-optimized websites. Unfortunately, when a user navigates to a path that doesn't exist, which should return a 404 HTTP status, an HTTP 200 status is returned, and instead of rendering the 404 page, the parent page is returned. There's actually a valid reason for this. The reason for this behavior is that modules on the parent page could render differently depending on the path. For example, put a blog module on the parent page, and for non-existent child pages, the parent page will be returned, but instead of rendering the blog module as an overview page, it will render as an individual blog post.
This is a clever way to handle this specific scenario, but overall a huge design flaw of the CMS.
Unfortunately, this isn't the only time the wrong HTTP status code is returned. In case of an error which should result in an HTTP status code 500, a redirect is returned pointing towards an error page that returns HTTP status 200.
These behaviors are just not how websites are supposed to work and it will hurt your business as a result because search engines will struggle with indexing your websites.
There are options to damage control these issues, but not to fix the core issues in the CMS.

This is just a small subset of issues we experienced trying to build websites with DNN, but I don't want to write an essay.
In addition to the issues with the CMS itself, there's a lack of documentation, tooling, and an unresponsive community.
DNN is not helping you build websites, it's making it harder for you.
Unfortunately, we didn't have a say in what CMS to use, so we had to put an immense amount of work in, just to end up with a CMS website that content editors don't use because it's too unintuitive.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Content-focused marketing websites. No benefits.


    Scott W.

DNN has great features out of the box and is extremely intuitive

  • February 07, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
All of the features you receive from DNN out of the box and being able to add on features with 3rd party modules. Makes DNN extremely powerful.
What do you dislike?
The UI for DNN isn't at it's very best right now but that is soon to change in a huge way
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use DNN to very quickly create websites that end users can edit and manage.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Give DNN a shot. The things that are coming in the next year are game changing and DNN will be as powerful as any of the other website builders out there including Wix, Squarespace, Wordpress. DNN also provides enterprise level features that the more popular web builders, cms's don't offer.


    Roberto C.

The most advanced and flexible CMS/Application Framework

  • November 01, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Flexibility
Enterprise features
Security
What do you dislike?
Some aspects in admin user interface
Low avaiability of beatiful themes (compared to WP)
Higher modules price (compared to WP)
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
PRO : Absolute flexibility, no project is too big or complex for DNN
CONTRO : In few cases there have been some module vendors who have abandoned their project, but in general vendors are much more reliable than those in other platforms, such as WP


    Education Management

DNN platform - A great CMS for building websites and web applications

  • October 27, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
DNN also called as DotNetNuke is a platform from Microsoft and is a very popular web based content management system(CMS). The CMS is based on .Net framework and its a Open Source. It allows you to manage the web content on the fly. One can add, edit, delete the content directly from the front end itself using the admin logins/privileges. It allows integration with third party components also.
What do you dislike?
DNN is a great platform for building web apps and there are no dislikes as such. Installation and deployment w.r.t. DNN is also easy. The platform is also very secure. Document management can also done very easily. DNN skins are available which can be used as templates for building attractive and interactive websites. All together it's a great product. However one needs to understand the details w.r.t. configuration of the DNN and its components.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
DNN is a great platform for building interactive web applications. One can create users and give them privileges for accessing the web applications based on roles. Admin has the rights to configure the database and work with DNN accordingly. It's provides a easy to use GUI to work with. One can embed images, videos and scripts easily using DNN. It has a rich text editor and versioning can be managed easily.


    Михаил .

In many situations, this is a good choice.

  • June 01, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
This versatile platform for most purposes
What do you dislike?
In some situations, the platform functionality is redundant.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I built several corporate websites on this platform in due time—the minimum number of problems. Great community. Open-source. The platform is free.


    Information Technology and Services

DNN in 2015

  • July 14, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best thing I like about DNN is that it is intuitive and easy to use.
What do you dislike?
Some modules at that time, 5 years ago, were not going well with each other. Unpredected bugs were occurring.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Very good platform to organize Help articles. The benefits were that we have had an easy to use Help for numerous customers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Worth to give it a try.


    Mr. J.

Sophisticated, Secure & Flexible Content Management

  • July 08, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
DNN has been around for some 15 years and sets the pace with security, and a very flexible, comprehensive set of options for multi-site portals, individual web sites, pages, modules on a page, user roles and so much more. It's modular architecture allows replacing databases, html editors, or most other components without fuss. There are a wide variety of free and professional modules and themes allowing custom functionality and flexible design. Its made to be customized!
What do you dislike?
The main restriction to DNN is that it currently is built on legacy WebForms technology from Microsoft. This should be updated in a few more versions, but for now limits developers.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We've run our local non-profit disaster preparedness group with DNN for some 15 years and found it reasonably painless to update from the early to more modern versions. Role based security and flexible themes allow strong security and dynamic content to be easily displayed. We have some 300 pages on two sites and have found DNN perfect for an large scale public and internal web site.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Install using nvQuickSite and participate in www.DnnCommunity.org!


    Athar A.

The Best Interface To Set Up and Configure Databases at DNN Platform

  • May 15, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best thing I came cross while using the DNN platform is that it provides a problem free solution from the start till the end through its simple interface.
What do you dislike?
There is nothing much to dislike about the DNN platform but there is one thing that I found a little inconvenient, I wasn't able to find a few trouble shooting options easily.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I used the DNN platform ro create and manage websites.
The benefit i enjoyed the most is that with limited knowledge i was able to use the DNN platform flawlessly.


    Muhammad Shazim C.

Ease of Configuration at DNN Platform

  • May 10, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best thing about the DNN platform is that it has an easy to use interface and is very straightforward from configuring users to troubleshooting. Everything works smooth and fast and most importantly flawless.
What do you dislike?
While setting up the DNN platform on VMware Fusion, I found that the tutorial posted in their website is out dated and does not fully satisfies the user because he has to reach out other tutorials and in my case i had to troubleshoot it on my own but once everything is set up, works just fine.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Installing and configuring network drives and managing users and roles are my responsibilities on the backend, the benefit I get most is the extensive knowledge base.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommend others to please explore and understand the knowledge base because it is almost a 100% complete