Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Microsoft SQL Server 2016 Web on Windows Server 2012 R2 RTM

Amazon Web Services | 2021.11.10

Windows, Windows Server 2012 R2 R2 6.3.9600 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

2,037 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Jillian T.

Great for beginners and professionals

  • November 23, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I enjoy how easy and universal Microsoft sql is. It's used widely and a great tool and generator for reports which I use it for. It's quite the lifesaver when gathering data from several different places.
What do you dislike?
It seems out dated but I don't think it'll ever change and I'm okay with that.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Creating reports using data from different files to on a daily basis.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
SQL is very simple. It's like talking but very detailed. I highly recommend learning and using Microsoft specifically as it is extremely user friendly for beginners and professionals.


    Financial Services

Best Relational Database Period

  • November 23, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like the way microsoft sql never had the issue of corrupt databases.
What do you dislike?
I do not like that MS SQL is not open source.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Reliability. In production environment never had been a day where our DB has gone corrupt.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Go for it. Better than postgres and mysql


    William P.

MS SQL Server is Top DDMS

  • November 21, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The user friendly DMS with top-tier tools and features avaliable
What do you dislike?
Microsoft SQL Server is an excellent and dependable DMS
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Dependability and support


    Bhavsheel K.

Go to relational database management system (RDBMS) for your business needs

  • October 25, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Microsoft SQL Server enabled my team to use it as a relational database management system (RDBMS) for data processing, storing, and data intelligence. It helps my team create queries and extract data from our data storage servers. The solution is easy to use and provides ample learning resources. Microsoft SQL Server is among the leading relational database management system (RDBMS) and helps our team to manage data lakes and create data backups for disaster recovery. The data in the Microsoft SQL Server is protected by the highest security standards set by Microsoft to avoid any data leakages and unauthorized access.
What do you dislike?
The system crashes sometimes when we give large data extraction commands. However, the solution works seamlessly in most cases. Will prefer low-code solution for our citizen data science teams.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Microsoft SQL Server power our business intelligence and data management teams. Currently, the solution is also used by data scientists and machine learning engineers to create algorithms. With Microsoft SQL Server we're able to reduce time to extract data and analyze it for a better understanding of business. The time to extract data has reduced steeply and Microsoft support is always reachable. My team has frequently addressed some of the issues through an active community. We're able to create data lakes and build data backups for disaster recovery.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Highly recommended relational database management system (RDBMS) for data management and data science teams looking for dependable and robust.


    Vis S.

A fully fledge persistency solution

  • October 21, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The Microsoft SQL Server got a lot of benefits compared to the other databases. My favorite about MSSQL Server is the ability to have big data clusters at high consistency performance which makes it soo much reliable for large-scale data pipelines. Also, there is another best part about Microsoft SQL Server is the comprehensive BI capabilities and ease to work with reporting functions.
What do you dislike?
Even though the Microsoft SQL Server got awesome capabilities. it's adding too much complexity for small/medium software solutions. It doesn't work as convincing enough for small solutions as it's only shining in the large enterprise markets. It would be great if there is a lightweight and efficient version available.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
At our organization, I & my team use the Microsoft SQL Server to do data analytics, BI reporting, data visualizations, and data cleansing. Also, we use it for enterprise application developments.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If your organization is into large scale big data analytics or data intensive enterprise application development. SQL server is worth considering.


    Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Feature rich Relational DB system

  • October 19, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Wide online support community
Easy to use
Flexible and compatible
What do you dislike?
Expensive due to per user licensing model for basic DB
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Very reliable DB system was needed with clustering


    Antonio R.

Expensive but everything you need for a database

  • October 19, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Rock stability, tools (through the Studio, which is free), there is a free version too (often bundled with software that requires it.)
What do you dislike?
The learning curve, but primarily I'd love for SQL to come out of the box with a backup plan already in place. I find deployments without any backup plans all the time. I also find it a bit annoying that the syntax is finicky when compared to MySQL/MariaDB, like putting double quotes instead of single quotes for a simple comparison breaks the query.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Using SQL for a 3rd party ERP system, operations software, billing and time tracking.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you're starting from scratch using a database Microsoft SQL may not be the best solution as it has a steep learning curve. You need to learn the entire Microsoft platform to create usable databases and applications. However, if you're paying somebody to develop a database for you and you will just manage it, then MSSQL is the ideal solution. You do need to take into consideration licensing costs and whether the limitations of the free version will stunt your application's growth.


    Retail

Keeps data organized very well

  • October 17, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Assuming you know the basics of SQL, pulling data is a fairly simple process.
What do you dislike?
When a query does not work, it would be helpful if there was some guidance.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
When there is a lot of data, SQL Server keeps it organized and running quickly. It is much more efficient than having a lot of Excel spreadsheets.


    Information Services

Benchmark RDBM software. Easy to learn and powerful but critical to understand licensing choices.

  • October 15, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Excellent management GUI, plethora of add-ins and add-ons, easy to find expertise, documentation, tutorials. Versions ranging from Express to Enterprise readily available.
What do you dislike?
Steep price for smaller orgs that need external connectivity. Backup limitations for lower/free license tiers.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Central repository for structured business data. The back-end for various transactional data across the org, with reporting available on-demand in multiple ways to multiple groups.
Relatively easy for non-technical users to extract and manipulate data.


    Computer Software

Best Microsoft product for store the data and query processing.

  • October 12, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
-Secure and reliable and easily connect with other tools like vs studio.
- Easily sorting the data and store it as table.
- compatible with Microsoft visual studio.
- one of the best tools for storing the data.
- all datatypes are supporetd.
- excellent interface.
What do you dislike?
- From programmer's view , They need to improve error message in query result becuse manytimes i noticed that SQL write the standard error message in query result.
- we need to improve login feature specially for window authnticatio because sometime could not login with it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
- we resolved big issue is that we can store confidential company data in it without any hesitate.
- using this product , We are easily storing confidential data without any fear.