Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Apache Cordova on Windows Powered by GlobalSolutions

The Globalsolutions | Apache Cordova v6.0

Windows, Windows Server 2012 R2 R2 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

36 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Domenico A.

Quando non sei un developer mobile o un developer ma hai necessità di sviluppare un app Android-iOS

  • November 09, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Cordova è la soluzione che più gradisco, adottata dalla nostra azienda, per tutti i profili di dipendenti che non sono developer o mobile developer ma hanno la necessità attraverso un framework totalmente modellabile, facile e performante di creare velocemente applicazioni android o iOS in pieno stile material-design per uso interno o comunque limitate ad essere condivise tramite file di installazione e non dai rispettivi store di Apple e Android.
Javascript è il linguaggio perfetto per programmare su Android e la grossa mole di librerie gratuite e snippets disponibili consente di creare la propria app in poche righe e pochi minuti rispetto all'infinità di Java o C++
What do you dislike?
La documentazione iniziale per chi si approccia ad imparare questo linguaggio è un po' scarna e non aggiornata, sarebbe utile rilasciare agli utenti un piccolo handbook per imparare almeno le operazioni basilari da poter svolgere sulle nuove versioni di Android e iOS
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Creare un applicativo di gestione dei nostri UPS in grado di leggere alcuni importanti valori SNMP come il voltaggio, la carica, l'amperaggio ed eventuali sbalzi di tensione in modo da allertare immediatamente i responsabili dei sistemi ed in modo da poter controllare lo stato di UPS in spazi ristretti e senza alimentazione dove un laptop o un PC desktop non potrebbero essere portati mentre uno smartphone è più facile da maneggiare in ambienti ristretti


    Giuseppe C.

Framework magnifico per programmare applicazioni Android di gestione IT in poche ore o minuti

  • November 08, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Javascript è un linguaggio potentissimo e ritengo che il framework Apache Cordova sia tra i migliori mai sviluppati per la creazione di App Android native o semi-native, in quanto, attraverso centinaia o forse migliaia di librerie ufficiali ed estensioni consente di eseguire proprio tramite JS qualunque tipo di operazione che un'applicazione Android possa eseguire, dalla creazione di connessioni TCP alla gestione di fotocamera, sensori e processi automatici
What do you dislike?
Un handbook ufficiale o una guida iniziale che superi il banale esempio dell'hello world sarebbe molto gradita da chiunque se fosse presente sul sito dopo il download del framework, 100 pagine basterebbero a spiegare tutto ma evidentemente nessuno ci ha mai pensato
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Creare applicazioni di monitoraggio e gestione degli hosts in data center, del loro stato servizi e del loro stato in inventario e in garanzia attraverso l'integrazione con la fotocamera di Android per la lettura di qrCODE e la generazione a schermo di etichette in augmented reality, quante righe di codice? strepitosamente soltanto 60! in Java ce ne sarebbero volute 800 in più come minimo


    Rut B.

Most popular framework for developing hybrid mobile applications

  • January 24, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Obviously, what I like best is the fact we can build for different mobile OS (currently, we develop for Android and iOS) by means of web application programming (html and javascript).
Cordova has an excellent set of basic api, and it's also good that there is a huge number of plugins available for many features not included in the main Api
What do you dislike?
First, setup, configuring and tuning the application can be very difficult, if you're not used to the complex Cordova script system.
Moreover, it's not true you can build an application without knowing anything of native language programming. You have to study and learn at least the basics of an Android and iOS project, and if your application is a bit rich, you certainly will need to extend basic api with some plugin.
There is plenty of plugins available, but what I dislike is the fact that they're often unmanteined, or full of bugs, or not compatible with latest releases of Cordova
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have developed and we're mantaining two complex applications, mainly written with html and Ionic javascript framework, for Android and iOS platforms. Thanks to Cordova, we have achieved this goal by emplying a limited number of developers


    Luis T.

Wonderfull tool for building hibrid apps

  • October 05, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
apache cordova is a easy and fast tool for building hibrid apps, less code, more productuvity
What do you dislike?
the configuration is complex, the performance is poor not recomended for enterprice apps.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
the building mvp of apps for commercial use, fast and easy.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
cordova is a open source software, easy and fast for build powerups hibrid apps.


    Computer Software

Apache Cordova when and when not

  • January 20, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
centralization of the code: all my business-logic code is written once and runs on all platforms. when I add new feature it is added to all platforms. when I fix a bug, it is fixed in all platforms.
What do you dislike?
bad application performance and lake of Native-Like user experience. Also, the integration between js and Native code ( through plugins) has more limitations: ex I can't easily create a background service that runs after the app is closed.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I'm not tied to one business solutions. The most benefit is (mostly) when a bug is fixed in one platform, it is fixed in all others.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
when you look for Apache Cordova ask yourself these questions, if yes is the answer for all of them so Apache Cordova maybe the best choice you have:
1. my application doesn't rely deeply on devices hardware ?
2. my application doesn't need heavy processing (like heavy processing of sensors data and/or heavy processing of drawing complicated charts) ?
3. my application doesn't require to have the look and feel of native application ?
4. my application don't need parallel processing at any form ?


    Computer Software

Apache Cordova is a powerfull tools to create mobile applications

  • January 18, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Because , i use apache cordova for building mobile aplications
What do you dislike?
I have not dislike it. because i want use it until i have energy
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Mobile application that ordered by customers


    Antonello P.

Best tool to develop hybrid apps

  • October 24, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I really love using my web app skills to develop apps for mobile markets like Apple "App Store" or Google "Google Play Store".

I use AngularJS and Ionic Platform to develop and build my apps, I can debug the most in my browser and leave small fixes on real devices. It's amazing and time saving!
What do you dislike?
I would prefer a strong vision by Adobe (phonegap trademark owner) or the Apache Foundation (cordove trademark owner), something like Xamarin for Visual Studio
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I develop small to large applications, and I think it's a great tool for this kind of work. I can have iOS+Android+Web version with minor code changes.

Obviously for CPU consuming apps like games is not the best choice but platform like CocoonJS are coming out as a real solution
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are a web expert, have a look at this product, BUT please read a lot about mobile apps, there are many topics different from "web app" to "real apps"


    Medet T.

Cordova was a good starting point* in cross-platform mobile development

  • May 20, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
At the beginning it was fun to try cordova, the ability to reuse same code across multiple platforms was something new, and quite interesting. And it had many plugins right there, free to use. Just install, read docs, you're done. I personally wrote about 2 small apps, on pure cordova. Quite interesting tool
What do you dislike?
Although it was quite good experience using cordova, it had several issues with plugins, they were not standardized, you have to check docs to use something simple, sometimes simple things just don't work, very hard to debug, indeed this is the most problem in cordova, windows-phone platform was supported really bad, all you can do is just some simple apps with few buttons. And it's really understandable, as cordova is just a wrapper around web-view, as i noted before, it was really exciting to get hands on such new platform, mobile development became much interesting, but the cordova itself was not ment to used in heavy apps.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Our company develops apps for government, we basically use cordova's camera api, file api, geolocation api, battery api and some small stuff, all our apps where successfully released in appstore/playmarket, but since we could't find anything better than cordova, we sticked with it for some couple of years.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
First of all read docs, examples, reviews, as when you get hands on it, and got legacy code, you cannot just switch no anything other like react-native, i wish we had more info before coming to cordova, and hopefully cordova will review it's plans for future


    Alessandro C.

Building and hybrid application for iOS and Android

  • April 14, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The ability to write source code in HTML, CSS and JAVASCRIPT and build one single application, to be converted into a native app with Cordova Framework.
You can build and maintain only one single source code, and then deploy on iOS, Android, Windows Phone, BlackBerry, etc, without learning a different native language or rewriting your app every time.
You can access native functionalities of the device, like accelerometer, camera, wifi, etc, with the built-in API, or use an open source plugin from the official GitHub repo, to create a local database and access the internal storage of the device.
Wonderful if you want to build a native app, by using standard web code.
What do you dislike?
No suer intuitive the first time you use it. The configuration with xCode sometime creates some issue and the lack of a built-in simulator forces the developer to have the same project on multiple IDE, like xCode, Android Studio, etc.
Not a big deal, but if you're not savvy enough with the terminal, the learning curve is pretty stiff.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Building multiple native applications at the same time, without learning different native languages, like Objective-C, Swift, Java, etc. or the necessity of having different developers per each version.
You can have the same source code base on HTML, CSS and JS, use a JS framework to extend its functionality, and build multiple native apps, and a web app, at the same time,w with hybrid code.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Read the documentation, entirely. At the beginning can be tricky and the openness of the app will give you too much room for mistakes. You risk to delivery a pretty heavy and bloated app, that could be rejected from the App Store or Goggle Play store.


    Johnny H.

Awesome tool for building cross-platform applications with JavaScript

  • February 05, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Cordova is one of the most powerful tools for a JavaScript developer. A proficient JavaScript web developer can easily become a general software and application developer by deploying web technologies for various environments aside from browsers.
What do you dislike?
Deploying the same application across various platforms and the web can be a hassle due to differences. This isn't a weakness of Cordova per se, but is a problem that comes along with using Cordova. As for Cordova itself, the use of XML for its configuration was an odd choice. A JavaScript file that exports a configuration object as a module is a more powerful choice. It is great that Cordova offers a series of hooks to add behavior to various parts of the compiling process, but it is also unfortunate that there is no package management for these hooks. People often copy and paste them from project to project. For this reason, I usually write the main logic of my hooks as npm modules and require them into app-specific hooks.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use the same application on the web and on iOS and will eventually release the app for Android as well.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Every JavaScript developer should get familiar with Cordova.