Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Control-M - Application Workflow Orchestration

BMC Software | 9.0.20.200

Linux/Unix, Red Hat Enterprise Linux Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7.2 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

2 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 2

External reviews

35 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Information Technology and Services

Used Control-M for Several Years

  • May 19, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the functionality to schedule jobs in complex ways. I like the new vers 9 and the added functionality it brought.
What do you dislike?
The reporting program is the worst. It’s pretty much 80% unusable.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are solving issues with job scheduling across many platforms. We’ve seen many benefits with using aft.


    Information Technology and Services

Very User-friendly, Easy-to-use Control-M

  • April 05, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Control-M Gui is very user friendly and what you see is what you get. There are also multiple tutorials found in Youtube for the differemt functions of the tool
What do you dislike?
What I don't like with scheduling in Control-M is that when you schedule a job that has the same in-condition instead of confirming with you if you want to change the other one, it will add a random number to denote the difference between them.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Control-M provides job scheduling solutions to Multinational companies that needs Automation. You can automate your processes on demand and on what specific time you need it to be.


    Kubendra Reddy M.

One of the top Job Scheduling Tool in the market

  • January 25, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Best thing I liked its user friendly and easily understandble interface. The way it provides and shows for monitoring,holding and ordering the jobs is too good.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes while navigating to the required job in jobset is getting freez and getting us confused.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I used it to schedule and execute my ETL jobs in QA and PROD. All jobs from my organisation are scheduled and triggered through Control M only.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Little costly but definitely recommended.


    Insurance

Nice tool for job automation!

  • December 31, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
In our case, we have quite many legacy systems and batch jobs need to run during non-office hours with complicated sequence and conditions. Contorl-M is able to run different types of jobs, e.g. window batch, APIs...etc. This bascially solve all our issues to turn manual workflow into automated flow.
What do you dislike?
I would say the support document is a bit hard to be located. While I try to find some references for API job setup, I could hardly find related samples.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It solved the heavy manual workflows in our operation team and automated most of the manual tasks.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
So far I think this an excellent option to go for as it supports many platforms and job types. However, pricing could be a concern if you have thousands of job.


    Sagar M.

Workload Automation - ControlM

  • December 22, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
- Good GUIs
- Agent less Scheduling
- Access Management
What do you dislike?
- Lag in Enterprise Manager sometimes confusing
- Agent installation requires more management team.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
- Basic Workload Automation
- Batch Processing


    MD E.

Control-M: One of the best scheduling and monitoring tool

  • December 21, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Contol-M is one of the best scheduling tools and user frienldy.
We have everything on the screen like Planning, Monitoring, History, Forecast, Tools, etc.
In Planning, we schedule and create a new job(AFT and Command-line), which is quite simple.
In Monitoring, we can monitor the planned jobs.
We have an alert window when we receive the alerts for all the failed jobs, late started jobs, running late jobs, etc. We can easily navigate the job with the help of an alert window and take action as per required.
Taking action on the jobs(like a rerun, force complete, delete, kill, hold, free, etc) are on just one click.
We can also monitor the control-m resource, quantitative resource, conditions of the jobs very easily.
What do you dislike?
Applying filters is a little tricky.
Sometimes treeing the jobs not navigating.
Sometimes its environments change automatically.
AJF takes at least 30 minutes to upload all the jobs(approx 30k jobs)
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We schedule AFT jobs and command-line jobs with the help of this tool. We have been using Control-M for more than five years. I am working as a technical associate, and my role is to schedule the jobs. Contol-M is the most accessible tool to schedule the jobs. Very simple to use and schedule the jobs. Monitoring the scheduled jobs is more simple. We have a monitoring window to get all the alerts like failed jobs, running late jobs, more than the estimated time, etc. We simply click on alerts to navigate jobs


    Information Technology and Services

Control m

  • November 30, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The batches customisation filters where we can apply sub application and can check the batches related to it with graphical representation as grey for waiting, yellow for executing, green for completed
What do you dislike?
It's hard to automate the batches. We can configure with outlook as it sends mail when batches ended not ok but it's difficult to do. Also it takes time to open.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are checking all critical jobs related to multiple applications and checking the start and end time. If ended ok then we resolve the ticket if not then we investigate


    Mohammad A.

Control-M is amazing for our batch job processing and monitoring

  • November 28, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Control-M is a fantastic platform for monitoring and processing a large number of jobs. The ability to run different kinds of jobs such as SQL, SAS, etc. The platform enables alerts in case of job failure or if the job runs for a long duration of time.
What do you dislike?
Contol-M provides rich features and an easy user interface, and there are not many dislike features we have encountered yet. I would suggest the idle timeout for the website should be increased.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are processing many SQL jobs and monitoring them through Control-M regarding the failure or long-running duration. We can order a new job and stop the job whenever we want.


    Mohammad E.

Best scheduling and Monitoring tool

  • October 27, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I have been using this tool for the last five years. This tool is so simple to use and user-friendly. We use this tool for scheduling and monitoring purposes. Its color feature for all the jobs like if the job got failed it will be in red if the job got completed it would be in green color. Running jobs are in yellow and waiting jobs are in gray etc. We schedule command line jobs and AFT jobs.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes when we find a job in the current active job plan(AJF), there is an issue with treeing the job. This is the only problem I have seen in the past five years.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We have scheduled almost 35,000+ jobs in every current day plan. We monitor the jobs with the help of this tool, and when every required any emergency change, we perform the change with this tool as well.


    sampath s.

Best Tool for automated batch run

  • October 16, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
User friendly tools and utility. Optimized time and save effort 👌.
What do you dislike?
After refresh of session. Losing the job history.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
EASY ways to run the jobs in a batch and get the outcome faster.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Yes it's best tool for batch process