Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Control-M - Application Workflow Orchestration

BMC Software | 9.0.19.200

Linux/Unix, Red Hat Enterprise Linux Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7.2 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

2 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 2

External reviews

19 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Suraj P.

Control-M - Simplified automated workflows

  • July 23, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It helps to deliver better apps faster by embedding itself in the CI/CD workflow. It comes with out of the box support of cloud technologies
What do you dislike?
Multiple Environment support is not at it's best.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It helps to finds the bugs at an earlier stage of software development lifecycle which helps to promote quality code and better application. Lots of human hours are saved with high precision workflows.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you have daily workflows which are carried out manually then use Control-M as it takes all your manual work and designs an automated workflow thus increasing productivity.


    Soumyadip R.

Add Sophistication for scheduling jobs

  • June 27, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The tool is very helpful for scheduling and running jobs, the interface is very user friendly and lightweight tool
What do you dislike?
Sometimes dual instances may create, so difficult to understand the original one. In that scenario, the trial & error method may work, but the solution to this problem would be helpful
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Scheduling jobs are very easy with this automated tool and moreover, you can coy schedule design also from one project to another
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is one of best tools I have seen for job scheduling, you can do an easy setup and it is very user friendly.


    Shikhar K.

Control M Review

  • June 23, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the swiftness in transferring the files to customer being automated which can be customized into success, failure etc.
What do you dislike?
I did not like the licensing structure of this product. Generally when I buy a premium suite, I get full offerings, but it is not the case with Control M
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Transferring files to customers and clients in a jiffy.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Best priced product available in the market!


    Prachi K.

Good monitoring tool which helps us to identify failed jobs, priority failed jobs

  • June 13, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
On the alert screen itself we can see which ever alerts have been failed, also the priority failed jobs which need immediate action. It also provides the status of the jobs if they have completed fine or failed.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes it runs slow and also freezes therefore we have to log out everytime and log back in. There have been instances where in it doesnt link to the ticketing tool. The alerts are generated but no tickets generated for them. So this then becomes a tedious task later
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Handling various activities for the jobs. Activities like force completing them, reruning, holding, deleting etc. we can even we the log as to what activities have been performed on a particular job.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Good tool for monitoring pupose


    Insurance

Clean and Neat scheduling tool

  • April 21, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
We can create the ladders in lower environment and can be upload to higher environment
What do you dislike?
So many improvements in the latest version. No dislikes as of now
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
1 place of solution scheduling for all platforms. And the scheduling criteria also easy
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Explore all the functionalities in the tool and also the commands CTM commands to do more operations outside of the tool.


    pavan k.

My work experience with control-m

  • December 06, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Control-m was introduced across our enterprise to eliminate manual execution of our batch job environment and create a central point of control.Products are internally schedules are now visible.ad-hoc executions mentioned managed and managed effectively, through one central point of control, providing a complete overview of all activities.Control M is being used by our systems and operations departments. We run jobs of all sorts from many install systems and it addresses all kinds of problems for us
What do you dislike?
Upgrade process is very difficult and time-consuming I think it needs improvement.I would like to see some improvements in handling conditions from previous days
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
For running jobs on multiple databases and handling multiple systems
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Nothing


    Anonymous

Jobs scheduling is easier

  • September 18, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It has enabled us in easy scheduling of production UNIX jobs easily as per unique and easy design of Control M. It helps us to get and classify jobs folder wise and output in a separate section. Also you can have data date-wise and also based on active and inactive job-wise. I loved the way of exporting and importing and loading of jobs inside the tool for scheduling purpose. After all Control M solved a lot in a single piece of software which makes very great the environment and work.
What do you dislike?
I don't think if there is anything which I really don't like. The product is very great and there is nothing to say about down points.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Job scheduling is the only purpose for which I use it.


    Education Management

A great job schedular

  • March 31, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Initially, i did not like the idea when we were proposed to buy Control-M to handle job scheduling for the project. Now that we are using Control-M to manage huge chain of jobs scheduled with dependencies on each other, we can't think of working without Control-M. You can order jobs on one or a group of servers. You can make use of multiple calendars to control what specific days job or set of jobs do not run. You can monitor job output and status with Control-M.
What do you dislike?
BMC should come up with mobile app as well, so we can monitor jobs from mobile device. There is not much you can track from auditing perspective from the GUI.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are using Control-M to schedule and run very large job cycles each containing up to 100 jobs per cycle. This is very helpful given that there are multiple level job dependencies between the jobs.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you need to schedule jobs on windows/linux with dependencies between the job, Control-M is a great tool.


    Manasi K.

Control-M

  • February 04, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Visual representation of jobs was good, could see a large number of processes at once displayed neatly
and interdependency between jobs
What do you dislike?
Interface looked outdated, can be cleaned up made more modern looking
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
As an automation tool for scheduling, deleting processes
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Not visually appealing, could use some work to make interface modern


    Retail

There are a lot of parts to this!

  • December 27, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I don't use control-M everyday. We have a team that works with it everyday. I use this if a job fails. It is really easy to re-run a job when it fails. It is user friendly for someone that does not use it everyday. There is a test environment and there is a production environment. That is really helpful as well! We use the test system a lot.
What do you dislike?
I don't like that if you don't log in for 30 days or something like that your password gets locked and you have to call and reset your password. At least with our teams it is a really big pain to get your password reset. We don't have to log in that much so we have to reset our password a lot. That is my biggest complaint about the software.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We can easily and quickly re-run our jobs. That is a huge benefit as far as our settlement files. If our job fails and we get a ticket we can rerun the job in a little less than a minute.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try to get on it at least once a week. That will make sure you don't get locked out.