Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Control-M - Application Workflow Orchestration

BMC Software | 9.0.19.200

Linux/Unix, Red Hat Enterprise Linux Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7.2 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

2 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 2

External reviews

14 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    pavan k.

My work experience with control-m

  • December 06, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Control-m was introduced across our enterprise to eliminate manual execution of our batch job environment and create a central point of control.Products are internally schedules are now visible.ad-hoc executions mentioned managed and managed effectively, through one central point of control, providing a complete overview of all activities.Control M is being used by our systems and operations departments. We run jobs of all sorts from many install systems and it addresses all kinds of problems for us
What do you dislike?
Upgrade process is very difficult and time-consuming I think it needs improvement.I would like to see some improvements in handling conditions from previous days
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
For running jobs on multiple databases and handling multiple systems
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Nothing


    Anonymous

Jobs scheduling is easier

  • September 18, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It has enabled us in easy scheduling of production UNIX jobs easily as per unique and easy design of Control M. It helps us to get and classify jobs folder wise and output in a separate section. Also you can have data date-wise and also based on active and inactive job-wise. I loved the way of exporting and importing and loading of jobs inside the tool for scheduling purpose. After all Control M solved a lot in a single piece of software which makes very great the environment and work.
What do you dislike?
I don't think if there is anything which I really don't like. The product is very great and there is nothing to say about down points.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Job scheduling is the only purpose for which I use it.


    Education Management

A great job schedular

  • March 31, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Initially, i did not like the idea when we were proposed to buy Control-M to handle job scheduling for the project. Now that we are using Control-M to manage huge chain of jobs scheduled with dependencies on each other, we can't think of working without Control-M. You can order jobs on one or a group of servers. You can make use of multiple calendars to control what specific days job or set of jobs do not run. You can monitor job output and status with Control-M.
What do you dislike?
BMC should come up with mobile app as well, so we can monitor jobs from mobile device. There is not much you can track from auditing perspective from the GUI.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are using Control-M to schedule and run very large job cycles each containing up to 100 jobs per cycle. This is very helpful given that there are multiple level job dependencies between the jobs.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you need to schedule jobs on windows/linux with dependencies between the job, Control-M is a great tool.


    Manasi K.

Control-M

  • February 04, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Visual representation of jobs was good, could see a large number of processes at once displayed neatly
and interdependency between jobs
What do you dislike?
Interface looked outdated, can be cleaned up made more modern looking
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
As an automation tool for scheduling, deleting processes
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Not visually appealing, could use some work to make interface modern


    Retail

There are a lot of parts to this!

  • December 27, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I don't use control-M everyday. We have a team that works with it everyday. I use this if a job fails. It is really easy to re-run a job when it fails. It is user friendly for someone that does not use it everyday. There is a test environment and there is a production environment. That is really helpful as well! We use the test system a lot.
What do you dislike?
I don't like that if you don't log in for 30 days or something like that your password gets locked and you have to call and reset your password. At least with our teams it is a really big pain to get your password reset. We don't have to log in that much so we have to reset our password a lot. That is my biggest complaint about the software.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We can easily and quickly re-run our jobs. That is a huge benefit as far as our settlement files. If our job fails and we get a ticket we can rerun the job in a little less than a minute.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try to get on it at least once a week. That will make sure you don't get locked out.


    Financial Services

Helped us with rdbms data warehouse automation and reporting

  • December 21, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It took some time to learn but once I learned it I found it pretty useful for our team’s reporting needs. You can certainly get more mileage out of it when you’re strong in shell scripting, so we were able to take better advantage because of that.
What do you dislike?
The process for moving workflows to higher level environments felt more difficult than it should have been, and so often email error alerts we set up would get sent out to our boss when we’d make changes subsequently. Also when emailing out the results of hive jobs (using beeline) analysts complained that they wanted Excel format or a way to eliminate the superfluous output from beeline’s csv ouput format which occurs above the header.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We used it for automating our data warehouse, and also for automating internal reporting.


    Insurance

CTM new user - Great Experience

  • December 02, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The ability to run the scripts without any manual intervention. Also, they way how the tool gives a chance to set various dependencies on various jobs.
What do you dislike?
Nothing really to dislike. I love the way the entire tool is design (both creating job, ordering them and running them)
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are using Control-M to run various script in lower environments to see if the scripts execute correctly and if they are executing in the correct order (based on dependency). Based on the result and the data the scripts populate, we promote those scripts into higher environment and finally into production.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
None. I did not have any issues with the tool


    Jaikrit N.

User friendly and powerful scheduling tool

  • November 19, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The best thing about Control M is that it supports multiple environments.
What do you dislike?
Its cost model per job is very expensive for industry
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Scheduling of jobs in multiple environments.
Grouping of similar set of jobs.
Scheduling of jobs on multiple parameters.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are considering using Control M, make sure that the components you use are all served by Control M. Its a very useful scheduling tool for multi-environment projects.


    Insurance

One stop software for process creation

  • November 01, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Control-m has the ability to schedule and maintain thousands of jobs and with any failure we get quick alerting
What do you dislike?
Restarting jobs or processes from the software itself can be confusing
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Easily clone jobs for any new environments or server creation this saves a lot of time rather than manually configuring any new acquisitions


    Computer Software

Manage automated tasks

  • September 25, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The GUI is relatively intuitive. A lot can be accomplished by simply poking around, without needing to consult documentation.
What do you dislike?
The workspace checkout feature is a bit clunky. Sometimes, you'll encounter issues with locked folders that make it difficult to get work done.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Easy, centralized detection of job failures.