Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Kemp Load Balancer ADC - VLM-FREE

Kemp Technologies | 7.2.58.0

Linux/Unix, Other 4.14 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

102 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Computer Networking

Great Product , does what it is designed for.

  • October 30, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The load-balancing is the biggest feature, of course. It just works. If one CAS goes down, Kemp will still deliver to the other server. It is the same with multiple mailbox servers. If one goes down then mail can still be delivered, due to the fact that Kemp is handling the communications.

Updates are easy to apply and don't cause downtime as long as you have two load-balancers.

The product also allows us to limit certain services on the Exchange server. Allows more control and Access Control Lists (ACLs) for internal and or external access. Instead of making changes in IIS on a server, you can have Kemp control it.
What do you dislike?
Obviously, there are a lot of moving parts and fields\settings on Kemp LoadMaster. Not all the settings are easily understandable. It would be helpful if there were a way to incorporate tooltips on the fields so that we don't have to dig through documentation.

I don't expect the software to assist in migrations, but it would be a plus if they had more documentation on Exchange migrations with Kemp and specific changes that need to be made. However, support is very knowledgeable and assisted us.

I would like to see an increase in the knowledge base on technical issues or common troubles.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
At this time we aren't having any problems with the device. Once we got it configured correctly and its doing what it should be doing, its just maintenance after that point until we do another migration.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Product works great. Once it is setup there isn't much maintenance needed. Even updates are easy. Support is A+


    James W.

Kemp LoadMaster Review

  • October 29, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The interface is very straight forward, it is not complicated to figure out what steps are needed to create a new virtual service or apply a certificate. It has also been very reliable, we have not had any downtime with this product.
What do you dislike?
For some reason I can't get the automatic backups to work. The manual backups work fine and we don't make a ton of changes but I would like to have them be automatic.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The best benefit is security - the ability to take individual servers offline for patching easily is a big bonus for us as well as blocking non-secure protocols


    Financial Services

Kemp - Balancing Exchange, E-Banking And Other Services

  • October 29, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like that there are templates which makes setups a breeze!
What do you dislike?
There is nothing I dislike at this moment.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Using Kemp, I can now balance multiple sites and applications seamlessly.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Kemp is a very good product, especially if you have multiple applications or sites to load balance.


    Leisure, Travel & Tourism

Good No-Frills, Exchange-oriented HA/Clustered Load Balancer

  • October 29, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best thing about Kemps is the pure uptime and resiliency, ease of administration and issue resolution with their support. The UI is unintimidating to novice admins, forgiving with mistakes and relatively intuitive.
What do you dislike?
The certificate monitoring and alerting is lacking, as is the modernization of cert implementation in general. The somewhat dated feel of the UI, although it is effective. The real-time monitoring of VIPs is somewhat dumbed-down only showing up/down with no visual granularity into Real Server statuses, logs are needed for that.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We're solving uptime of our front door email ingress as well as robust routing and performance. We've realized the benefit of 99.999+ uptime in inbound email/end-user service provisioning & simplified routing changes over years-long periods
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Deploy this with confidence. You will likely have no problem setting it up, and even if you do have an issue, their spectacular support will hold your hand the whole way if needed.


    Suresh K.

Great Support Experienced with Kemp Support team.

  • October 29, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Good network management for command based operating system link Linux

Managing and maintaining multiple servers in a single place.

Most of the networking commands are designed with UI for closing port or opening a port which makes simple and clean.
What do you dislike?
Better UI can attract more customers

Multiple SSL upload for single VIP can be added in future.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Kemp load master is the easiest server maintenance application which gives you high performance virtual Load Balancer and Reverse Proxy. It helps to enable the firewall to secure all servers with setting up virtual IPs. Good network management for command based operating system like Linux. Most of the networking commands are designed with UI which is an non technical can handle the application.


    Management Consulting

Good Price, Even Better Product

  • October 28, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Kemp is the most reliable load balancing tool I have ever used. Once up and running, it just runs without downtime or issues.
What do you dislike?
The GUI is very touchy. A lot of area do not have a "save" or "confirm" option. Adding that would be helpful, as right now it is very easy to accidently modify an existing prod VIP.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We now have a reliable load balancing platform that has almost zero downtime. It also lets us patch without downtime and keep systems up longer.


    Alan E.

Love our Kemps

  • October 28, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
They had predefined templates that helped. When we needed assistance with setting up ACLs to certain protocols using AD groups, they were knowledgeable and solved our need. Lot's of features. We migrated systems from two F5s onto the Kemps without any regrets.
What do you dislike?
Wish it had the ability to see realtime connections by client name/IP. Not able to manually fail over to other nodes without rebooting online unit.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Automatic failover to DR site with Exchange and OWA using Geo-load balancing. We also migrated systems off of two F5s we had.


    Insurance

Great Load Balancer

  • October 28, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
User friendly interface and easy to use.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes there is no "apply" button so when you select options from a drop down menu, it is instantly auto apply.
Once you know that, it's OK.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
the infrastructure security improved cause my web servers are behind the Kemp LoadMAster.


    Security and Investigations

Excellent & cost effective Load-Balancer solution

  • October 28, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The Kemp Loadmasters are reliable, we have had no outages in the three years of using the product.

The product is easy to use, it is intuitive and it is backed by the Kemp Vision product which monitors the load balancers and provides alerts when any health check issues are detected (for example, when an application server unexpectedly goes offline, the health check fails and performs an automatic failover but you are also notified of the failure in order to correct it).
As well as external DNS resolution, we have implemented the Kemp LM's into our internal network for additional resiliency e.g. load balancing between Active Directory servers.
What do you dislike?
We have not found any issues during three years of using this product. In particular, the support desk have always been incredibly helpful and quick to respond when we have had any questions on how a feature works or best practice of setting up a new solution.
In terms of additional features, we have not found anything that would enhance the product further than what we are currently able to achieve with it. With the Enterprise Plus support subscription, which is not an expensive solution, we have the best level of support on the odd occasions we have any questions.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Kemp LoadMaster is being used across our whole organisation for a variety of solutions, both internally and externally. It provides a dynamic DNS resolution with health checks to ensure the services we provide are resilient and highly available.

Kemp has worked great for us where we have multiple application servers or services that cannot be load balanced automatically by the application themselves. Using the Kemp health check and DNS resolution, we are able to provide a resilient service and it has removed the need for manual intervention with end users.


    Consumer Services

Kemp - Easy Way To Protect Your Systems On The Web

  • October 27, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Web interface is easy to work with, available features are great and support is fast.
What do you dislike?
Some features may need advanced configuration for which you need to look at the documentation.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Needed a reverse proxy for Exchange
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Kemp is a great reverse proxy as well as a great load balancer for your online services. Easy to use and affordable!