Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Kemp Load Balancer ADC - VLM-FREE

Kemp Technologies | 7.2.57.0

Linux/Unix, Other 4.14 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

89 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Construction

Great features and performance for the right price

  • November 05, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of use in deployment, configuration and management. The templates provided by Kemp for well known applications like Exchange, SharePoint, etc. makes these applications very easy to deploy without needing extra technical help. The technical support that Kemp provides is also excellent as they respond almost immediately and are able to answer any questions or resolve issues at first contact. When evaluating other vendors, some were priced too high - Kemp provides for us that right balance of features, performance, throughput and price that we were looking for, so we are very happy about that.
What do you dislike?
Would like to see more details in real time statistics. It shows the number of active connections and also for the past 5/30/60 mins, but it would be nice to be able to drill down further regarding the IP addresses of the clients. Being able to export the real time statistics and historical graphs from the interface would be a nice plus.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We have many on-premise applications that need to be always-on accessible, and the Kemp LoadMaster provided a highly-available solution that met the needs of all the applications. We looked at other application delivery controllers/load balancers that have similar features, but did not want to pay a higher price point. Kemp provides a very cost effective solution.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Kemp provides a very easy initial setup, configuration and management experience. Many of the techs on my staff are easily able to login and use/configure the LoadMaster easily without requiring any training at all. Definitely look at the management interface and you will see that it is very easy to use - you don't need to load multiple config pages just to configure a single virtual service, which some vendors require. Also check out the templates that Kemp provides for many vendors (Microsoft, Oracle, etc.) which provides a quick config setup for a particular solution so you don't have to fiddle around with tweaking multiple settings - the template does it all for you. We have not had any problems using these templates. Licensing is also quite easy and the product is very scalable and very stable. We also needed a product that was provided virtually instead of traditional hardware, highly available, and would work on our Hyper-V clustered environment, since not many virtual products would work on Microsoft's hypervisor. We were able to deploy the virtual LoadMaster on two different Hyper-V clusters to meet the high availability that we were looking for.


    Business Supplies and Equipment

Great load balancing solution for organizations

  • November 04, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Kemp LoadMaster provides some key features which are simply great to implement, like network load balancing, High availability, protocol based routing and security) . The support team is unbelievably fantastic, always available 24/7.
What do you dislike?
This product already provides some security features like (WAF, ESP, SSL) to avoid network attacks, to further strengthen the security of our infrastructure, especially our internet-facing servers , we’d appreciate to have a solution like Captcha integrated to prevent any advanced network intrusion.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We have a Kemp LoadMaster cluster, which has been implemented in front of our production web servers in order to provide network load balancing between the web servers. It also ensures the high availability of our web servers in case of a server failure. And of course, it provides security to our infrastructure from external attack through its built-in features (Web Application Proxy and SSL).
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would definitely recommend this product as it really meets the businnes needs.


    Government Administration

Great appliance for load balancing and reverse proxy

  • November 04, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The KEMP appliance is very simple to use and setup. The GUI is very straight forward to understand and it helps with troubleshooting if we run into an issue. I was able to quickly apply a content filter to a few URLs on the web server from being accessed from the public side.

Support is superb as I was able to get connected with a live engineer within minutes of calling the support line. I do have a 24x7 support contract with the company but not sure if it makes a difference here.
What do you dislike?
The KEMP appliance can use a quick update to the GUI to bring it up to the 2020 look similar to other competitors. Overall, it works great.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We used the KEMP appliance for reverse proxy and load balancing for our public web servers in the DMZ. This adds another layer of security and minimize the attack interface for our web servers.


    Sascha G.

Great Loadbalancer quick and easy to implement and put into operation

  • November 03, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The most valuable feature is that load-balancing, as Kemp helps to maintain the uptime from the e-mail servers.

If we have or need a maintenance window for one of the other e-mail servers, Kemp will still deliver your e-mail traffic to the other server. It just works.

It is easy to apply windows updates to your Exchange environment, and using the Kemp Load Balancer made it easier to handle.

Another great feature is the ability to use the Kemp Load Balancer virtual appliance in our VMware environment.
What do you dislike?
In the web interface, there are a lot of settings in the different menus and it would be helpful if there were an interactive help system or tooltips to help the administrators find and configure the right settings.

The configuration of "standard" services is quite easy but when you configure more advanced settings, it's no longer easy and can be challenging. The Kemp Load Balancer is a very good product out of the VMware ISO (Box).

Sometimes, you feel years back in the web interface but it's just cosmetic.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Our company e-mail and mobile communication system, which is based on Exchange Servers, needed load-balancing and security. After a few discussions with resellers and external consultants, we decided on the Kemp Load Balancer solution.

Our installation is a virtual Kemp Load Balancer based on VMware. We have configured four Exchange Servers in a DAG configuration and we have been very satisfied since it was installed. In the future, we would like to map further services via the Kemp.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Its a Kemp it works great.


    Financial Services

Kemp Load Balancer = Best around

  • November 02, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
How easy it is to take a machine up and down and Kemp doesn't skip a beat. It allows us to reboot machines and keep the line of business up with no hiccups.
What do you dislike?
I wish their reporting and or graphics of stats was a little better, there are a little outdated with the size and the options you have for reporting. Granted its a load balancer so not a lot is needed, but i wish for little more.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Problems would be our DR plan, we have 2 load balancers one at main site and another at DR. we are allowed now to move server to DR and change IP on server, and Kemp picks it up and DR site and we are up and running .


    Jim R.

Kemp Load balancer - Good Value with Great Features

  • October 30, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I really like to simple to use GUI tool to set up the system. More over the GUI give a nice visual aspect of which equipment was up and how the data was going to flow between the systems while managing OWA traffic too.
What do you dislike?
I wish the GEO feature need for this project was included.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are not keeping our on-premise email system up and running with full redundancy with out manual intervention. The best invention ever
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The Kemp load Balance is a good value and does the job well compared to others on the market


    omar z.

Kemp Load Balancer and ACD

  • October 30, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
every thing about kemp is the best, very easy to use and setup and start.
What do you dislike?
some times logs can be overwhelming search is a bit hard
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
kemp helped us to move away from TMG as reverse proxy, every thing about it is great
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you would like an ACD solution easy in everything look no further kemp is the one.


    Computer Networking

Great Product , does what it is designed for.

  • October 30, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The load-balancing is the biggest feature, of course. It just works. If one CAS goes down, Kemp will still deliver to the other server. It is the same with multiple mailbox servers. If one goes down then mail can still be delivered, due to the fact that Kemp is handling the communications.

Updates are easy to apply and don't cause downtime as long as you have two load-balancers.

The product also allows us to limit certain services on the Exchange server. Allows more control and Access Control Lists (ACLs) for internal and or external access. Instead of making changes in IIS on a server, you can have Kemp control it.
What do you dislike?
Obviously, there are a lot of moving parts and fields\settings on Kemp LoadMaster. Not all the settings are easily understandable. It would be helpful if there were a way to incorporate tooltips on the fields so that we don't have to dig through documentation.

I don't expect the software to assist in migrations, but it would be a plus if they had more documentation on Exchange migrations with Kemp and specific changes that need to be made. However, support is very knowledgeable and assisted us.

I would like to see an increase in the knowledge base on technical issues or common troubles.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
At this time we aren't having any problems with the device. Once we got it configured correctly and its doing what it should be doing, its just maintenance after that point until we do another migration.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Product works great. Once it is setup there isn't much maintenance needed. Even updates are easy. Support is A+


    James W.

Kemp LoadMaster Review

  • October 29, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The interface is very straight forward, it is not complicated to figure out what steps are needed to create a new virtual service or apply a certificate. It has also been very reliable, we have not had any downtime with this product.
What do you dislike?
For some reason I can't get the automatic backups to work. The manual backups work fine and we don't make a ton of changes but I would like to have them be automatic.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The best benefit is security - the ability to take individual servers offline for patching easily is a big bonus for us as well as blocking non-secure protocols


    Financial Services

Kemp - Balancing Exchange, E-Banking And Other Services

  • October 29, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like that there are templates which makes setups a breeze!
What do you dislike?
There is nothing I dislike at this moment.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Using Kemp, I can now balance multiple sites and applications seamlessly.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Kemp is a very good product, especially if you have multiple applications or sites to load balance.