Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Exasol Analytic Database (Single Node / Cluster, Bring-Your-Own-License)

EXASOL AG | Exasol-R7.0.11-BYOL

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7.x - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

15 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Hugo V.

The best Analytic Database performance

  • June 12, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The Performance is the best of market,never I could see an Analytic Database with this Performance
What do you dislike?
I believe that Exasol needs more marketing.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Load data near real time, performance to see strategics dashboards.


    Josip C.

Best analytics DB

  • March 25, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to use and build complex SQL queries. Performance on it is fantastic.

It is also great, that it can handle multiple users to work on the same dataset without any problems with performance.

Great tool
What do you dislike?
Initially had problems loading data via Alteryx but switching to the ExaLoader created lightning fast bulk load solution.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are building reporting on top of it and doing ad-hoc analysis.

Speed is phenomenal even when running complex queries.


    Vitaly M.

Best choice for on-premise, getting better in the cloud

  • March 12, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
+ Amazing performance in general;
+ Cost-to-performance ratio is very competitive, you'll need much less hardware;
+ Efficient indexed JOINs, probably best in class;
+ Flexible UDF scripts, can be implemented in any programming language and run in parallel;
What do you dislike?
- Lack of native support for composite data types;
- Lack of native partial backup (per-table, per-schema), must use EXPORT instead;
- Detection of data lineage is a bit difficult, unless you implement it yourself externally;
- Cloud capabilities are not fully utilised (yet), but it's not a problem for "on-premise";
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Self-service analytics, ad-hoc queries, financial reporting, data-driven internal products (e.g. A/B testing, forecasting), machine learning.


    Ricardo G.

A high-performance database for Analytics. Would definitely recommend it.

  • March 08, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
My first experience with Exasol was revealing: when migrating our data warehouse we saw many reports running in 1/10 of the time.
This extraordinary performance allowed to, over time, squeeze much more value from the database, while keeping low maintenance and development costs.
For my Analytics department, migrating to Exasol was the single most important step that we took to provide a better service to business, assure quick development cycles and incur in minimal admin effort.
What do you dislike?
Scripting capabilities can be enhanced and better documented. It is not always easy to find resources capable to program with Lua scripting.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are building a wide set of Analytics solutions, including customer profiles, data science models, stock optimization solutions and Dashboards. Each provide a relevant business impact within the organization.


    Retail

Exasol-Powerful, Performant and Potential Analytics Database

  • March 05, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
There are so many things to like about Exasol but below are definitely on top

1: Performance
2:Easy To Use
3: Simple Artifacts to use
4:Super Friendly support
5:End User Trainings and Certifications material availability
6:Usage on AWS and Google Clouds
7:Native support to Java, Python and R
What do you dislike?
Exasol does not really have a drawback at all
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Our primary use of Exasol is to provide fast, accurate, and timely data for business users


    Financial Services

Scale out at low price

  • February 26, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Fantastic performance per dollar ratio.
Scale out without problems
What do you dislike?
Granularity of the transaction management system
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Solved the high cost and poor performance of our enterprise data warehouse
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Do a PoC. It can be mind opening.

First time in 20 years in it that I was thrilled


    Jatinder S.

Exasol - Realiable, Performant and easy to use.

  • February 21, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
In Exasol, I found that I can do a lot more with my same skill set without learn much more knew skills and in the same environment I can do a lot more and build things so quickly that I needed more time before. Exasol has great performance, reliability, and ease to use the database is amazing. Never fails once configured correctly :)
What do you dislike?
I haven't seen anything so far, it worked in every case scenario that I needed :).
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I dedicate myself to Business Analytics with a mission to help organizations to analyze and understand their data and take their business to next level. Exasaol helps to make decisions faster with faster iteration loops and scalability without worries. Exasol helps businesses to incorporate self-service analytics enabling Business users to generate results quickly and reducing the burden on the Data Teams. In short faster analytics faster decisions faster response to business problems :)
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Ease to use, low TCO and realiable with great customer support from the Exasol team.


    William G.

Exasol Review from a non-profit analytics manager

  • January 15, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
EXASOL is an incredibly powerful database - its performance mean that I never have to worry about computational efficiency when designing analytics pipelines and can focus on building in complex logic that will allow us to make sure our tool will serve the needs of our field staff.
The EXASOL team has proven to be excellent - both in terms of their willingness to support me queries and their technical knowledge.
What do you dislike?
It is actually to come up with a list of grievances I have with EXASOL - using the database has been an incredible smooth experience from the start.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
EXASOL is the key database technology that sits at the core of our analytics infrastructure. It is the repository for the data collected by our field staff and surgeons, and serves as the data source for all the dashboards built on top of it.
The flexibility and power of the database has allowed us to get more tools out to the field, especially in resource constrained environments where internet signals might be very weak. EXASOL's power has allowed us to reduce one point of failure in the entire system, meaning that we can collect more data about patients, ensure surgeons get paid on time, and that our internal team can always do the crucial data audits and review needed to ensure our programs are delivering a real impact.


    Taoreed O.

A flexible tool for processing data

  • April 27, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Exasol is a very good tool for processing large amount of data, it also allows miutiple users to work on data without compromising the query performance. Exasol also allows integration with other programming languages like python and Java
What do you dislike?
Exasol does not really have a drawback except that it can be a little expensive for companies just starting out.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
With Exasol multiuser interface, me and my colleagues have been able to analyze data simultaneously with ease.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Exasol is a good tool to use irrespective of the company's size.


    Christian U.

Great performance and easy to use

  • April 21, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Great foundation. Basic SQL operations (joining, grouping, sorting) are greatly implemented and scale to many billions of rows. you'll build plenty of great things on top of it.
What do you dislike?
Loaders and connectivity options may well be better. Those tools are very flexible internally, but you have got to understand the way to use them properly. And documentation is simply too generic sometimes, lacking implementation details. we are able to decompile it and peek inside to require advantage of hidden stuff, but most of the individuals can't do this.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
UDF framework allows to run any custom code inside Exasol, so you will potentially connect with anything within the most native way. This in a way has helped improve our business process agility.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you opt for bare-metal hardware, buy a smaller number of most performant servers. it'll be much easier to scale your cluster later. Also, please confirm you have got a minimum of 10Gb private network and the maximum amount RAM as possible. It really helps if you have got 90%+ buffer hit rate, so most of the SELECTED queries never touch HDD / SDD.