Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Ubuntu 16.04 LTS - Xenial (HVM)

Canonical Group Limited | Ubuntu 16.04 20210429

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 16.04 - Xenial - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

4 AWS reviews

External reviews

886 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Aswath R.

Ubuntu Os

  • May 02, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Linux platform is the best for developers and product designers and testers because of it's functionality and the fact that it can run multiple librarires on a bash scrip is really helpful. On top of that ubuntu os has a really nice UI whoch mimicks mac os giving a perception of better user interface.
What do you dislike?
The fact that Ubuntu os cannot be used for installing certain apps that are available in Windows or Macos is the only saddened part. Other than that most of the functionality and control present is more better in Ubuntu than that of other OS
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use Ubuntu for developinh drivers and the security presnt has always been a plus for me
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Ubuntu usage only of you know how to run through command terminal


    Pavan G.

Secure and Free Available Operating System

  • May 01, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like commands of ubuntu OS.
I am using thia from 2 years and it is very easy to learn commands of ubuntu also, it is secure than other operating systems.
What do you dislike?
Ubuntu is easy to learn but for non-technical users is very hard to learn.
Not up to the mark user interface.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have very big issue of security on my server by using ubuntu.
By just running simple command big tasks done in seconds.


    Bogdan S.

A stable and user friendly OS for both server and desktop

  • April 29, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's updated on the weekly basis, easy to use, it's stable
What do you dislike?
There are some things that are not always POSIX compliant. As an example, a bash script that runs perfectly on RedHat/CentOS requires some minor changes in the bash code in order to function the same way on Ubuntu
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I'm using it as a webserver and also as a Desktop OS on my own computer (I've replaced Windows with Ubuntu)
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Don't expect it to be 100% POSIX compliant


    Mohd Juned A.

It's awesome operating system

  • April 25, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Command based.
Best user experience
Command based.
Best user experience
What do you dislike?
Nothing, everything looks good
Nothing, everything looks good
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Setup is very easy
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Good for software development environment


    Shah H.

Using Ubuntu Desktop & Ubuntu Server since 2014, wonderful destros

  • April 25, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The Ubuntu Desktop is very easy to use. Graphics, Networking, and other utilities are awesome.
What do you dislike?
For new persons, little hard to work with
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am working as a professional web programmer by writing code, testing my applications, and more. the efficiency of the OS is very fast and this is the reason I love to use Ubuntu.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Most of the applications required to run with official work, as a programmer or DBA etc are free of cost, this is why I love to use it without paying a pinny...


    Nanotechnology

Fast to load and easy to use

  • April 24, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The community, and Terminal,also perl is pre installed
What do you dislike?
Open office software bundle can be improved,
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use it for my personal, as well as office use, its easy to use, all my coding is done on ubuntu machines
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you have used windows for a long time, initially it would be a bit awkward to use ubuntu, but in just 5-10 days, you will realize that you are using you are using the best OS


    Binit Kumar S.

open source Ubuntu OS

  • April 24, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
its open source Operating system & kernel has been designed to protect from it from any malware
What do you dislike?
few application are not very similar like windows, for e.g ppt which has been prepared in Ubuntu Libre office can't open properly in windows.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Ubuntu is built Antivirus no malware can affect, so file storage, web server hosting, linux kernel development & all programming development
Recommendations to others considering the product:
malware can not affect files in Ubuntu, its very useful for programming development & free of cost available, all kind of computer work can be done through Ubuntu OS.


    Bipulsingh K.

Beginner Friendly who come from windows background, Linux based operating system.

  • April 23, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I Love to type than using a mouse. I get all that I want, It is a powerfull operation system and fully customizable, you can modify it the way you want, from theme customization to grub modification.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes you find it hard to resolve any problem, like a wifi adapter not found or a screen resolution issue due to a video adapter not found. You need deeper knowledge to understand and resolve this type of issue.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am a Python developer, and Python works well with Ubuntu as compared to windows. it utilizes less resource, For IT guy this operating is best because you will get all thing you want. every software, libraries or thing used in programming is well supported.


    Suresh k.

It is very handy and user friendly OS

  • April 22, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is open source and has extensive community.
What do you dislike?
not dislike, but need more user friendly
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I used it for my software development purpose, most of the software available for this.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is very useful platform and it is opensource should try it.


    Shanika P.

Favorite OS so far!

  • April 20, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu Linux has been my favorite OS for almost 5 years now. I have used it for various purposes such as web application development, configuration management, technical services, games, and entertainment. The greatest thing is that it is open-source and available to everyone. Unlike other Linux distributions, Ubuntu is very user-friendly and has a simple interface. I like the way Ubuntu provides updating its packages and security updates without any enforcement.
What do you dislike?
Even though there's so much to like about Ubuntu OS, the only thing that I'm concerned about is that some software is not compatible with the system.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have installed Ubuntu on my personal laptop as well as my work laptop because it's really easy to work with. I like how fast it installs software. I love how fast it boots compared to other OS available in the market right now. It is a great OS for developers. Ubuntu helps me save a lot of my valuable time.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
HIghly highly recommended to anyone who's looking for a fast, reliable, easy to install and work with.