Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Ubuntu 16.04 LTS - Xenial (HVM)

Canonical Group Limited | Ubuntu 16.04 20210928

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 16.04 - Xenial - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

4 AWS reviews

External reviews

1,011 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Sattam S.

Very good for development

  • November 26, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's swift and easy for development purposes since we need a lot of file processing, so it minimizes the time consumed for logistics things
What do you dislike?
it's not user friendly, so normal users may have problems using it
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Implementing software products in a good time and fewer resources


    Mustafa K.

Fastest OS I've ever used

  • November 25, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Anything we want to do we need to go through terminal. It feels awesome
What do you dislike?
Many softwares are not compatible with Ubuntu
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Speed is very fast. It saves time as compared to windows


    Peter T.

Budget friendly OS that packs a punch

  • November 23, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu is flexible, customizable, fast and light weight as compared to some other systems. Ubuntu is easy to install, easy to maintain. It can easily integrate with other softwares and if it can't the. there is always a version of it or software be ran thru wine.
What do you dislike?
Users need to be very familiar with Unix or else it will be hard to get around the system. The OS GUI is still a bit clunky. Typically I always customize the graphical interface to meet my needs.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Ubuntu solves my budget and tuning cost. I can run web servers, report servers and database systems without much complications. Of course everything still ties to the underlying hardware but if I need to deploy on production mode then I can always move the OS image to a VM that has powerful specs. Another great benefit to running Ubuntu is that it is already Unix based so running or converting tools from other Unix based OS is not that hard.


    Sandesh M.

A popular linux distro

  • November 23, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is easy to use for users making a switch to Linux from windows.
What do you dislike?
Like any other Linux system, it does have some issues with various device drivers.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is my daily driver as a replacement for the windows system. It has brought my old laptop back to life.


    Elie S.

UBUNTU is the most stable OS I have ever used.

  • November 19, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
1- Free
2- 2 versions per year, April and October
3- Daily and weekly updates
4- Adapts itself to your existing hardware so it adapts to your computer, without forcing you to minimal hardware requirements
5- Comes packed with a lot of software, like Open Office, a set of apps for young ones, etc.
6- Has a huge community to back you up, and all for free
7- Very stable and secure.
What do you dislike?
Most of the people I know use Windows, and even at my office, we all have to use windows. Compatibility is not a strong suit yet, but hopefully, one day, I shall be able to use UBUNTU SOLELY, and not have to jump from one computer to another.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Some computers are a bit outdated and cannot be upgraded and we face some issues trying to install Windows 10 on them so, in order to keep using them longer, we install UBUNTU and it runs like magic on them: UBUNTU adapts itself to your existing hardware and does not force you to have a minimal setting. This is a major plus in UBUNTU's favor, and I think this is what gives it an edge over others and why, in my opinion, UBUNTU will become soon enough the standard in OS.
A lot of my USB keys develop problems and windows refuses to recognize them. I use UBUNTU to troubleshoot and revive them. Also, since UGUNTU does not contract viruses accidentally, I use it as my internet server gateway for more added protection. The stability it offers is exemplary. I just wish other OS would follow in its footsteps.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
UBUNTU can be a bit intimidating at first but, once you get used to it, trust me: it will be the only OS you want to ever use. Almost all applications have a LINUX version that you can use or you can just install "WINE" and run original apps under UBUNTU.
Even if you have an old machine, do not worry: UBUNTU will re-compile itself to better run on it. It adapts itself to your hardware and will work like magic on almost anything you install it on.


    Şükrü O.

My Ubuntu Experiences

  • November 18, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu is really useful, especially since I am someone interested in software. Because it allows you to manage the resources and libraries you will use in the software you will make. At the same time, you work both from the console and includes side applications such as browsers. It is also useful for regular users of Ubuntu. Because usually viruses are not available in this operating system. For this reason, you do not need to use a virus program. Turning your computer on and off is also faster than other operating systems. Because the originally loaded runners and the memory used are very efficient.
What do you dislike?
The bad feature is that you need to know all the steps related to software or program installations and the helpful items that will go down. If it is missing, your transaction may be incomplete.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Ubuntu allows me to make software more dominantly. It also allows me to make more efficient software because I can manage resources. An operating system that I usually use to produce software.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are a user without much knowledge or knowledge of the software, you should be careful when using the command screen when using Ubuntu. Because there is no mechanism that prevents you from accessing the physical side of the computer, it may encounter big errors. You may cause the operating system of the computer to crash.


    Prashant W.

An application developer's operating system

  • November 16, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
- Fully Open Source, So easy on your pocket.
- Easy to Install if you understand the basics of Linux
- Good support from the community. If you are stuck you are bound to find the solution.
What do you dislike?
- Driver support can be irritating sometimes. Graphic drivers are still not up to the mark.
- For some applications, you are still depending on the mercy of the contributors.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
- From the development of desktop & web applications to machine learning Ubuntu suffices for all. It doesn't hogg system resources as much as Windows hence can be installed on older hardware as well.


    Dipesh P.

A good open source operating system.

  • November 13, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
- Completely free and open source.
- Can run smoothly even on older hardware.
- Installation has become friendlier over the years.
- Allows greater control over the system than windows.
What do you dislike?
- Still catching up with other operating systems like Windows & Apple.
- Poor driver support especially for Graphics Drivers.
- Isn't really that popular outside the programming circle.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
- Wide support of development tools from.
- Being a lightweight operating system, it allows performing tasks that need a relatively more share of operating systems.


    Higher Education

Linux, open source and easy to install!

  • November 12, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu is an excellent way to use Linux for beginners. It is better than Windows in speed for programming. It has been around for a long time, which speaks to its quality and usability.
What do you dislike?
I have been using this software since high school computer science class intermittently, and I find it easy to use now, but originally I found it quite difficult to install or understand. With a few years of experience, I find it easier to use.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Ubuntu solves some of the issues with speed that I have with windows. While setting it up makes the process slower, I find that when I need large computing power, I turn to ubuntu.


    Computer Software

One of the most favourite OS!

  • November 12, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu is one of the most favorite OS (Operating Systems) based from Linux. It's an opensourse OS (Operating System). I like the Desktop Environment of Ubuntu. Ubuntu supports every smart app (Software or Applications). I can easily operate ubuntu because its UI (User Interface) is so perfect for individual users. I can easily use every programming apps very perfectly, Also. can use many browsers (Google Chrome, Firefox, Chromium, Brave etc.). If I need to use Windows (It's an operating system powered by Microsoft Corporation) based Applications, I can use them on Ubuntu! Because Ubuntu supports cross-platform software using some 3rd party app (Wine). Also, the pre-installed Applications help me a lot. I can create, edit and customize documents, spreadsheets, presentations, and paint using their pre-installed 3rd party Office software. Also, it supports all of the files for computing also supports media files. So it helps me to sort out my every individual work and official business work. Ubuntu is totally free of cost. Also, you can connect their millions of communities and can access the global resources built by ubuntu. It makes your life so easy and comfortable. Also, it secures all of your data because no one has malware or viruses attack Ubuntu (a Linux-based operating system).
What do you dislike?
Actually, I dislike the Extention ecosystem of Ubuntu. Ubuntu is unable to use all of the software. Sometimes need third-party apps to access some software that is based on windows or make OS! Also need to fix some appearance issues for Dark or Light mode. Also need to fix the cross-platform ecosystem. Some apps not working perfectly or not responding.,
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Actually, it helps me to sort out daily basic work. I can easily use open-source software. Without paying any organization or company I can use the software I mean the Ubuntu OS! It's very helpful for me to sort out my daily work, docs, presentation, spreadsheet. Overall it's such a great OS!
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I wanna share my experience. Ubuntu is such a great OS (Operating Systems). You can easily use Ubuntu and if you wanna shift from another OS, defiantly you most like the Ubuntu OS features and it can help you to give a smooth performance. Also, it helps you to secure everything I mean every file, important media, and your data is protected on Ubuntu.