Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

osCommerce - Online shop powered by TurnKey GNU/Linux (HVM)

TurnKey GNU/Linux | 16.1.1

Linux/Unix, Debian 10/Buster - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

29 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Vadym G.

Modern Ecommerce platform with a set of exciting features, extendible with Apps

  • June 07, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
osCommerce (or rather its newest version, 4) has a lot of features that will be suitable for small, medium, large / enterprise, and even global businesses.

It is free for its core version that on its own brings a lot: a fast shopping cart with a good checkout experience, sales and marketing tools, customer manager and order manager (including edit orders), support for multiple sale channels, advanced back end, many shipping and payment solutions, and more. Then come the apps, all 250+ of them. Free and paid, depending on what the business requires, they are easy to install via the back end.

osCommerce is mobile and SEO friendly too and can be scaled up to support databases with 1,000,000+ products and customers, and many thousands of orders a day.
What do you dislike?
Nothing in particular. So far it was good.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
For those Ecommerce companies that are just starting up, it brings the technology that is being used by world's-leading brands.

For those enterprise-level corporations, it brings peace of mind that the technology they use will be supported and maintained.

osCommerce makes it cheaper to start an Ecommerce website and to run it too. It makes it faster to process orders, hence it improves customer satisfaction. Experimenting is easier and cheaper with it, and the production cycle from idea to the market is faster too, giving businesses a competitive advantage.


    Dimitrios T.

An easy choice to make your e-shop

  • March 05, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
You can easily modify the PHP code and you can customize your eshop
What do you dislike?
It isn't easy to find templates if you want to make your site more beautifull
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
To make transactions easily with PayPal and with my bank
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Templates, payment modules


    David Z.

A bit rugged with some potential

  • February 04, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The cost is a big reason we use osCommerce. The platform is open source and doesn't cost anything to implement, aside from our work time and external hosting costs. osCommerce has familiar shopping cart designs that are relevant in today's e-commerce world. Though there aren't a whole lot of high-quality templates compared to other services that require payment, there is much more room for customizing the templates.
What do you dislike?
There is more room for errors and design problems when working with an open platform like osCommerce. We have to be extra careful not to alter any core functions when adding our own code and files into the mix.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We can implement new and cheap web shops that take little time to launch. Though customization times can vary depending on the changes we want, making basic web stores can often take less than a day to finalize and launch. We can connect major payment methods like PayPal or Stripe to help unsure buyers can checkout and actually convert a sale.


    Retail

OsCommerce is Older and not easily extensible

  • January 11, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It was free and fairly easy to set up for a basic small business ecommerce site.
What do you dislike?
Not an easily extendible framework. Maintenance and upgrading was time consuming and fraught with difficulties when you had custom or third party features integrated.

Little to no third party support anymore.

Also had massive security holes.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I stopped using osCommerce in favor of better platforms like Magento.

It was a good platform 10-15 years ago for small businesses.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use a more modern platform.


    Michael L.

Works well for most of our products

  • December 02, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like that it's open-source and free to use. It's also being developed to keep up with the modern needs of users. There are store templates and various existing e-commerce setups that I can draw upon to start projects fast. There are many instructional resources through websites, forums and videos that I use to manage issues and new store implementations.
What do you dislike?
It's not ideal to use when we want to work on a simpler and more secure online selling experience. It takes far more programming and technical expertise to make detailed changes to stores and processing tasks.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
osCommerce has definitely saved us development costs. We can keep a greater portion of proceeds from product and services sales. I think in some ways, osCommerce helps us to adapt new products and store pages to fit better with the design of other pages and content. Even though it can require more development knowledge and work time, it can result in a more unified online buying experience for our users.


    Shimmy B.

Outdated

  • October 15, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Oscommerce only has one thing I like about it: I can sell online using it.
What do you dislike?
In comparison to current technologies, its UI is very outdated, and its capabilities are very limited
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Online shopping broadens our customer base because people can shop from wherever they live.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Rather use one of the newer and more advanced eCommerce platforms.


    Sakthi V.

Perfect for small ecommerce store

  • January 25, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Coding, Design, easy customization, good admin panel
What do you dislike?
more privacy and, features, plugin, secure
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Payment gateway integration


    Accounting

osCommerce is widely used in Ecommerce webshop for all kind store.

  • January 10, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy and smooth checkout with easy maintenance.
What do you dislike?
Old technology not updated with the latest technology. Monolithic coding approach.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Need to redesign the database structure along with code design structure


    Hector L.

osCommerce

  • June 15, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is very easy to setup and install. Once you set it up works perfectly.
What do you dislike?
The design is kind of old. You need to work a lot in customize the design.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Right now none. But in the past it help me with customers
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are looking to setup an online store it is very easy


    Program Development

Not too bad

  • June 04, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It has support on multiple features. Easy to integrate with.
Easy integration steps with paypal
What do you dislike?
Back in time it was not written on a php obj oriented framework
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Easy to set up. Nice starting point of an e shop