Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

phpBB - Community Forum Solution powered by TurnKey GNU/Linux (HVM)

TurnKey GNU/Linux | 16.1.1

Linux/Unix, Debian 10/Buster - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

11 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Daniel R.

phpBB better tjam ex[ected

  • October 16, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is simple to install and maintain. Perfect for running small-medium communities.
What do you dislike?
Admin UI design is quite dated - I've used it a few years ago and it looks almost as I remember it.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Communicatio
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's pretty easy to set up initially but quite painful to manage in the long term. Permissions could be better. It's pretty easy to create your plugins and modifications if you know PHP.


    Computer Software

Web Development

  • June 15, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
You can make change to the code without having having permission from phpBB.
What do you dislike?
Lack of support for HTML codes.It has lot of security issues.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I can stop all the spams using paid version


    Sanjeet K.

Free open source platform

  • March 02, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is free open source forum platform, it is very easy to use , powerful and best part is customizable.
What do you dislike?
It's only provide option to create a forum.also it's very difficult to get top ranking on search.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Forum development. It's heloing me to improve my forum functionality.

It's possible to create hierarchical subforums..


    Shabira B.

Benefits of phpBB

  • February 27, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Php Bulletin Board is free and open source internet forum platform comes under the php package.
It provides many features like support major databases like MySql and Sql server, template distinguished between the languages code of html and php, support more than 40 languages in the system.
What do you dislike?
Security issues arrived in the version 2.0 which was outdated but soon new version was launched.2
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Have used it in our project development of the php
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Yed


    Alex E.

I used to install it to some my projects

  • February 21, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
phpBB is tremendously simple for installing, works very quick, not hard to set up. And its free and open source!
What do you dislike?
There are very few number of good themes for phpBB.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I did a lot of forums with phpBB. It helps me to solve users problem and support them almost in no time.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You may use it without any fears!


    Nathan R.

Great tool to create and managa online communities (forums)

  • February 20, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is easy to setup and install, easy to manage, easy to get going and people are already familiar with it and its interfase.
What do you dislike?
You need to do some research to make sure your configuration is optimal, otherwise you can get overrun with spam very easily.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
This is a great tool to be able to talk about different aspects of the business, everything can be categorized and subcategorized making it a great tool to find the right information when needed, and if the information is not already available you can create a post requesting an anser or help from the members.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
This is one of the most popular forum programs. It is highly used and it is a very good solution.


    Babatope B.

Excellent free software

  • February 05, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
To start with, PHPbb is free of charge - NO charges at all; not even credit card info for registration. Simply download from their website and use as you like. Customization is easy with lots of themes to choose from, and also codes can be easily modified to achieve desired customization. PHPbb comes with a strong CAPTCHA to deal with spams and it has built-in facility to warn, ban and suspend unruly members. Furthermore, with PHPbb, one can send private messages and even files, and view messages in conversational format.
What do you dislike?
Very few dislikes - No search engine optimization(SEO) support, no social media integration and updates are few and way apart.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It is another avenue to engage customers and disseminate information with opportunity to immediately capture customers responses.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Considering that the software is free, the benefits offered far outweigh the downsides. For the tech savvy folks, all the downsides can easily be turned to advantages. Really, out of the box, PHPbb meets about 80% of any forum requirements.


    Entertainment

Awesome Open-Source Forum-making Software

  • January 31, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
phpBB is a great tool for people who looking to create forum-style discussion boards. You can use the software to do a lot of things, like assign roles (mods or admins), create roleplaying lists, enable special permissions, send newsletters to your community, and create your custom content. You do need to know some basic HTML for this, because if you're doing things like creating custom widgets (sidebars or toolbars for your homepage), you have to master the use of the [][/] characters, because they are what is going to tell the coding what to do (for example, [bold][/bold] to bold words, or [hr] for a line break). It's customizable beyond what you need, and has plenty of additional options to elevate the experience you are looking to create in your community!
What do you dislike?
Using phpBB allows ads to be sneakily placed on portions of your website, and not all themes you input to your community hub will disallow ads; very few have the ability to pay for an ad-free experience, although you can definitely do it (if you use something like Forum Motion, for example. You can use credits).
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I'm a community manager, and having Open Source technology allows me to experiment with coding. A lot of times, other businesses or clients will use another forum-hosting service, and having some phpBB experience tells you a lot about the back-end of how forums are made by companies, and then later customized.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
When applying themes to your website, start with basic ones, before you go about using customization options. Also, make sure to backup your saved theme before importing a new phpBB theme; without a backup, you risk loosing any unsaved components of your forum.


    Computer Games

PhpBB kept up with the times?

  • January 28, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
PhpBB is free to use and simple to install which is great
What do you dislike?
PhpBB doesn't really match up to suites like IPS or VB in today's world.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It's a great and easy to setup tool for a discussion board


    Online Media

This is wear I learned my programming skills

  • January 28, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I love phpBB with a passion. Who wouldn't - I learned my entire set of programming language(s) on this platform. I started with phpBB when I was 10 years old. That was back on phpBB2. Now they are on the 3rd version and the features are jam packed. Anything you want can be found, and because it uses an extremely common language, if you need something customized, it can easily be done with some simple research.
What do you dislike?
If you're a completely new to PHP person, this board may be a steep learning curve. However, if you harness the power of PHP - your options are limitless.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
This software is what I use for any website I administer that needs a community backing. It allows for users and the company to connect more personally.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Know PHP. That is a very important part of using the phpBB software. If you know PHP you will be able to create anything with this forum software.