Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

web2py - Python framework powered by TurnKey GNU/Linux (HVM)

TurnKey GNU/Linux | 16.1.1

Linux/Unix, Debian 10/Buster - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 1
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

12 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    seetaram

No admin password

  • April 26, 2022
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

there are instructions that admin password will be available on server initialization but there is no step to setup password.
Instructions are not clear


    Ajay A.

Mostly covers all needs!

  • January 31, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Very simplistic framework with minimal footprint and loads of flexibility. Not constrained in architecture, design and interoperability at all. Had no concerns with the learning curve as well, as had not even heard about it when I got to work on a product already developed in Web2py.
What do you dislike?
Some more support and documentation would have helped but if you can go into the framework code you are all set.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Very minimal footprint as mentioned earlier. Have worked on solutions that support Rest API's for mobile apps as well as web applications involving features that include full text search, complex workflows and data structures.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Simplistic framework with small footprint and can do whatever you may need it for with relevant integrations.


    Mohsin K.

We have developed multiple crm based apps by using web2py and works great for us

  • January 28, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
MVC model helps tu build up applications faster
What do you dislike?
I would want it to be conpatible with python3
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Building crm apps. Head start by already getting initial db setup and basic comtrollers ready


    Athul S.

Better than Django ?

  • August 10, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
This is a wonderful framework, which makes web development really fun for a newbe. I would recommend all newbies to learn this framework as it will be mainstream in the future.
For web2py long term backward compatibility is a primary goal, together with security.
The web2py community is open and friendly and it gives concrete support to newbies and old timers.
What do you dislike?
web2py documentation does not follow the common pattern of using Sphinx, MkDocs or ReadTheDocs which is goos for exeperienced developers
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Easily creating a web-based applications by python, Includes a web-based IDE for creating and managing applications.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Documentation is written in form of a book which is good for beginners


    Dinesh P.

Rapid Web Development

  • August 03, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is super fast web development framework with easy support of database integration . As a python developer i found it really intuitive to development multiple websites so easily using this framework . It if fast and websites rarely have latency issues .
What do you dislike?
API especially the database api used for querying is not optimized since it a query which output large data can create burden on server . APi can be improved easily so this can be resolved soon.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
As an indie developer , i have a lot of work to do all by myself so this framework takes a lot of burden off my shoulders as it provides ready to use components for websites .
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Atleast try it once to understand the power of this framework .


    Financial Services

Very easy and intuitive framework.

  • July 27, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
A pleasure to work with. I have worked with other python frameworks and was not comfortable. Once I started testing web2py, I realize that I can get so much more done in such a short time.Very good concept. Visual admin for apps and online edit of code. Template language very good. Less typing than django.
What do you dislike?
web2py doesn't support unit testing, it supports doc tests which is far from being optimal for a testing freak like me and is too limited in terms for the scope, you cannot really do the same level of tests you used to do in normal server side or desktop programs. Very bad error reporting, although this is quite debatable but I've been quite dissatisfied with that and let me tell you my reasons:
Web2py does not differentiate between development mode and production mode, if an exception is thrown a ticket is generated all the times and you will gave to navigate to the ticket to see the error. In production that would be useful (although I would have loved to see more control on how/where the ticket is stored/generated. In development mode this is a headache, I really need to see the error instantly and not to see a ticket number! The error message for a syntax error or coding errors in web2py is ambiguous (try doing a mistake in the model) that's because web2py takes your code and merges it into larger file to run, thus, it cannot determine the line number of the error or the source of the error correctly.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Benefits = it has a nice database abstraction layer (DAL) that abstracts many types of database engines in a nice way. Business problem solved with web2py = program dynamic web content using Python.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Find a software that is easier to use. Not suited for a beginner user.


    Vivek S.

Python full-stack web development framework

  • June 18, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
This frameworks works as a charm when you want to multiple web applications work on the same database at same time. There is no issue of database latency or any other issues when you do this. Also they provide number of examples in the documentation which if you thoroughly study would make you understand everything about web2py which basically helps one to learn fast.
What do you dislike?
The querying API is not efficient and lacks in optimisation. This sometimes creates load to server if a complex query is fired by some view. Also joins and groupbys are difficult with the present API.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
At DoubleTech we use web2py to develop full-stack web applications for the clients.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I will be honest to you, if you are looking for a framework that can support a complex web application architecture don't go for web2py as it becomes difficult to handle as complexity increases. I suggest you to go for frameworks like django or Flask.


    Shilpa M.

Web Development made easy with Python

  • June 16, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I really like one thing about this library that it can handle multiple databases at a time without any latency. Also another great thing about databases is, they allow same database to be used in different web applications running simultaneously.
What do you dislike?
The documentation is not enough descriptive. I personally faced many issues while implementing as shown in documentation. Another point I would like to mention is this library is not that advanced as you can find other web development frameworks in python like Flask and django.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We at TechDynasty use web2py for full stack web development and create web applications as per the desire of the clients.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
There are many other libraries for web development using python and each serves a different purpose. As Flask is better for making REST APIs whereas django for a complete secure web app and web2py for simple web applications that can eve share same databases. So I advise you to please first clarify tour purpose and jump to development.


    Rishab T.

Web Development with Python

  • June 13, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It provides variety of tools to play around with all the phases of web development from back-end database support to front-end templates. It really makes ones task easy by the powerful API it provides. All one is to do is to refer the documentation and code as the documentation is well described along with tons of examples explained.
What do you dislike?
It sometimes becomes difficult to handle database as the querying API is not that handy, one needs to figure out before performing any query.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Building full-stack websites with the easy to use web2py API.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Here is one very helpful tutorial I found out. Newbies give it a try, here is the link : https://www.tutorialspoint.com/web2py/index.htm


    Riya S.

Full Stack Web Development using web2py

  • June 09, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is a pretty good framework where one can easily build a full stack web application. It also provides database support that really makes the work easy. Also one of the best things about web2py is you can use one database in multiple web applications at a time.
What do you dislike?
The documentation is not that good and seems out dated. And also there are no updates on the library in a while.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Building full stack web applications for the clients.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
They have provided a lot of examples, I suggest you to once go through it as they provides a good understanding of the API.