Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Matomo - Self Hosted Real-Time Web Analytics by TurnKey GNU/Linux

TurnKey GNU/Linux | 16.1.1

Linux/Unix, Debian 10/Buster - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

65 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Airlines/Aviation

Having used matomo extensively over 5 years of my experience building single page web Analytic page

  • January 28, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like detailed dashboard and ease of tracker functions to watch user activity closely.
What do you dislike?
Little complex to follow documents in order to implement into react es6. Had to refer php based sdk to discover and implement new features.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We had a use case to observe at what point a user leaves the application or where the user traffic is most.


    Higher Education

It was a very nice experience ,would like to keep using this software.

  • January 18, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Really like how Matomo protects my privacy with advanced Privacy features , also there is no data limit with Matomo. Loved the In-depth Analytics.Log files are already available so it makes sense to make the most of this information.Also provides me important reports about the users and in and their interaction.
What do you dislike?
One thing i disliked using Matomo is that while i was reporting something the service was chargeable and not free of cost , also Matomo collects too much information.
Charts and graphs are not very intutive.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
While using Matomo one of the benefits i realized was that i was able to track users visits on websites.I find the real -time map feature very useful when we load the system n times more to stretch its limit.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Matomo helps people see and understand data. Delivers fast analytics,visualisation and business intelligence.


    Christoph W.

Privacy and visitor insight are not mutually exclusive

  • September 17, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Matomo allows us to keep user tracking data to ourselves, and it gives us the controls to be privacy-first from the get go. There is absolutely no reason to use a third party to collect user or visitor data for you and deal with the headaches of privacy law compliance that entails.
What do you dislike?
For maximum privacy it is best to self host Matomo, but that's not a very tall order. Matomo uses PHP and MySQL, which basically any hosting provider offers and which is easy to install on your own (virtual) servers.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Matomo allows us to record how and from where visitors arrive at our websites, what they do next, and when and how they leave. It is an essential tool to learn what works and what does not work on our websites.


    Manish R.

Track online visitors

  • September 10, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like about the tracking report by the person visits online
What do you dislike?
The custom language are not sufficient to understand.please add more regional language.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
There are many benifits of using this software.
To analyse the report of traffics.
And custom to store data by year wise this helps a lot.


    Roel R.

Great Open Source Software

  • August 18, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
You have full control over collected data, no more data collection by third-party proprietary software like Google Analytics. Easy to use and setup and a great interface.
What do you dislike?
The mobile application is less powerfull than the online dashboard and apps from other software suppliers. However, it does do it's job.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We have solved some massive privacy-concers by using Matomo instead of third party statistics/tracking software.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You can install Matomo in a docker container. However, I recommend installing it on a default Apache/NGINX/etc. installation (like WordPress). It is much easier to install (and maintain?).


    Alexander G.

Analytics tool for the homepage

  • June 04, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Good dashboard with the main overview of clicks and visitor stats. The graphics are clear and helpful, no useless functions and a smart live view tool to control the traffic.
What do you dislike?
The installation on the website, by editing the main head-content works easily, but the website speed is less now so would be important to load the script faster to don't block and slow down the loading speed.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
User click control and general controlling of the incoming traffic, plus the control of exit pages and geolocation tracking works perfectly. Seo ranking can be controlled and if necessary we can edit our content to be in line with the requested standards.


    Sam T.

Comprehensive features, worth the time investment

  • May 31, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Powerful features for a range of uses, from basic web analytics, to ecommerce and product intelligence. Excellent privacy features and control. Highly configurable goal and event tracking.
What do you dislike?
Finding out where certain features are and how to use them can take time. Configuring geolocation could be easier. And some concepts are non-obvious, eg. funnels vs user paths vs transitions.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Web analytics and product intelligence.


    Simon M.

A conversation between two should not have a third person listening; keep them out with Matomo

  • May 20, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The very fact that analytics can be ethical was the very thing that attracted me towards Matomo. Users coming to your site and trusting you to keep the transaction between yourselves shouldn't be worried about a third party collecting more data on you. The fact that Matomo respects peoples' privacy and wilfully doesn't track someone if they don't want to be tracked, that..., that it what makes them the best.
Any data that is collected about a person's behaviour on our website never leaves our server, is not sold to a 3rd party and becomes no one else's business. This is why I personally love Matomo - to be able to host it on your own server, keep all that data from BIG BROTHER and make sure the customer is treated as a customer and not a product!
What do you dislike?
There are no dislikes and I'm not even sucking up. In the past, I've had to deal with a lot of products not working the way they were intended to work, breaking down in the middle of something, not providing accurate information. After using Matomo for over 3 years, there simply is nothing to dislike about it. Any dislike that arises would be purely because of bad hosting or bad configuration.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
- Keeping data private.
- Not letting other analytics' companies follow the consumer around.
- Letting people know that their data will never be sold to a 3rd party and that their data is theirs


    Robin s.

BEst company

  • April 07, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Its services are out of the world and splennded
What do you dislike?
This is great platform to showcase what you have
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
its benfits are enormous as it provide realtime analytics regarding the use of great user platform
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Just be as all are working


    David A. B.

Fully managed alternative to Google Analytics

  • January 21, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Independence and control over features and implementation for private server implementations.
What do you dislike?
So far (5 years+ and 30 servers installed...), nothing
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Implement analytics for private servers - intranets that won't allow or prefer not to have Google Analytics.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Implement it on AWS or Digital Ocean